We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairytale Villa & Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fairytale Villa & Guesthouse to your Saves list
Fairytale Villa & Guesthouse
Jambiani, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 22 Jambiani B&B and Inns
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

You immediately feel at home when you arrive at the villa, where the rooms are spacious with big beds and the kitchen inviting. The villa has an porch on the second floor and also a big garden.
The house manager chagua is helpful in any matter and he makes a killer Spanish omelet!
The Jambiani area is not overflowed with tourists and hotels like Paje, which makes fairytale villa quite suitable for a relaxing vacation. In addition, couples don't have to be married in order to share a room.
Overall perfect!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
5
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We landed at Jambiani after spending some time in Dar & South West Tanzania, Ruaha & Mikumi National Parks. So we were more than ready for some much needed beach time. Fairytale Villa was ideal for our group, lots of space, just off the beach, with the village just at the back. Large airy rooms and plenty of relaxing space both in the garden & on the upper terrace. Chagua (the manager) was lovely and helpful and an excellent cook. We quickly decided not to bother eating at the beach restaurants as Chagua's cooking was so much better, we had a seafood frenzy: crab, calamari, jumbo prawns, coconut fish curry. Chagua will also arrange your Jozani Forest trips, snorkelling etc.
The beach itself is tidal with clear shallow waters, there's a little hassle from beach vendors but generally I think Jambiani is a quieter stretch of beach than Pave & the Northern beaches. Great for beach combing for shells & lovely to walk along, probably 3 kms or so maybe more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We had a wonderful week staying in this no frills guest house. Very good value for money and incredibly friendly owner and caretaker. Actually, Chagua is MUCH more than a caretaker - his cooking is superb and he can sort anything. The beach is stunning and unspoilt. Not to be missed!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Colorado
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We went at the end of May, when the town is pretty empty of tourists, and so we had the house all to ourselves (married couple with a friend). The porch is a lovely spot to read, nap, or watch the rain storms in our case. I would live in a house like this! It's not right on the beach, but it's only 30 seconds away by foot. In the peak season I think this would be a good spot, away from the bigger touristy hotels. In the low season, it was almost too isolated- hard to find a spot for dinner. Very nice, big, clean bathrooms and beautiful bed rooms. Chagua, the house keeper/manager, made us a very nice breakfast and helped us with travel plans. This would be great for a family or two sharing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faaborg, Denmark
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011 via mobile

Stayed there for three nights. Very nice place and helpfull people. Perfect for relaxing and getting litle closer to the locals. Remember cash before you go, there is no "moneymaschine".

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwanda
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the guesthouse in December and it was just perfect for us. Amenities were basic but we're Peace Corps volunteers - practical travelers on a budget - and it was more than enough for us. The rooms were clean and spacious and the property is located less than a minute away from the beach. The owner was very friendly and gave us access to most of the house. Chagua, the manager, was incredible. He's also a local fisherman so he has excellent connections for snorkeling and swimming with the dolphins. He made everything so easy and enjoyable for us - we would absolutely stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

In Fairytale Villa life is easy going.
Everyone is very helpfull for any of your need, and if you like to do your one buiseness you are at the right place. If the owner is not there , you will have the whole villa for your one, dependend on the season, perhaps chared maximum with one or two other guests .
you like being on your one, you are at the right place.

Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairytale Villa & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairytale Villa & Guesthouse

Address: Jambiani, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Jambiani
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Fairytale Villa & Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairytale Villa & Guesthouse Zanzibar/Jambiani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairytale Villa & Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.