We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the wild” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Leopard Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Black Leopard Camp to your Saves list
Black Leopard Camp
R37 | Lydenburg District, Lydenburg 1120, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A gem in the wild”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Wauw, what a treat to stay with Alan and his team! We were picked up by Rudi and driven in 4*4 through the hills to the BLC - what a great ride. We were greeted by T upon arrival and installed in the most luxurios and exciting tent ever (really!). Superb beds, and spectacular views greet you from everywhere - including from the bathroom! We were offered kudu meat pies (jaffal ironed) for lunch - what a treat!! Rudi took us a great game drive in the hills, spotting plenty of wildlife, and paying attention to the smaller animals as well, including dwaff mongoose and spectular kudu specimen. Owls and eagles were spotted as well - awe inspiring. Alan and Rudi joined the table for dinner, and we spent the evening sharing stories of the wild and more - a memorable evening indeed. And the food...mouth watering. The following morning we climbed by 4*4 to the ridge of the hills and enjoyed our first cup of coffee while taking in the landscape in 360 degrees. We need to come back, no doubt in the world about that!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
52
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sissinghurst,
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We arrived as strangers and left as friends. BLC gives guests everything and more. The tents were spacious with fantastic beds, the outdoor bath and shower making it fun to get clean under the stars, and everyone, from the owners Alan and Lynsey Watson to the naturalists , extremely knowledeable and very friendly. Watching England v France in the 6 Natons rugby competition while sipping Amarula has to be one of the highlights!. You may not see the Big Five but there are leopards and, better still, dedicated people who are running a serious research programme in abid to conserve them. Our sightings,both in the flesh and on camera traps, were awesome. Even when the leopards played hide and seek there were stunning birds, giraffes, wart hogs and much more to see. If you want to get away from everything , the stunning scenery, peace and quiet at BLC has to be your destination.

Room Tip: Try Tent 6 - the sound of running water from the high escarpment gently lulls you to sleep in an oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

You would be hard pressed to find a better place than this for great accommodation, friendly staff and fabulous food. The location is remote and restful, and the wildlife is plentiful. You will not see the Big Five here - leopards were certainly playing hard to get on our trip, but the birdlife, variety of antelope, giraffes, zebras etc were great and more than compensated for the absence of the 'big boys', which we found in profusion when we moved to the Thornybush Reserve. The rangers are young and enthusiatic as well as being really knowledgeableand helpful at Black Leopard. We learned so much about tracking, the bush and the environment with this great group. Thoroughly enjoyable and I would very much recommend this venue as one of your key stops on a safari holiday in this area. You will not easily find a better group of people to spend time with.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Having just returned from Black Leopard Camp, I can safely say this was one of the best trips we've ever done. We've travelled all over the world, to see wildlife and scenery, and the Thaba Tholo Reserve is up their with the most stunning places we've visited.

This is not a "Big Five" reserve, it's better than that! Whilst the Big Five reserves rush you from sighting to sighting, the guides at Black Leopard spend time to explain the animals you're seeing; the vegetation in which they reside; and the spoor that leads you to them. Both Rudi and Dylan are seriously enthusiastic about the job they do. They are extremely knowledgeable, with regards to the flora and fauna, and in addition, they're great fun to be with.

At the camp, Al, Lynsey, and the team make you feel like one of the family. In addition, Al has many great contacts, who can add to your time there. Via one of his contacts, he arranged for my partner, Linda, to visit a local Arabian stud farm - which was greatly appreciated. The food in the camp is awesome, and Teneille's desserts are to die for - adding inches to the waste line!!

We have travelled extensively, and have never said we would visit the same place twice (as the world is a big place, with lots to see), but that has definitely just changed. We will be looking to go back to Black Leopard next year, and see our new "African family" again.

If you don't visit Black Leopard Camp, you are seriously missing out on an experience I available elsewhere.

Chris & Linda, UK

Room Tip: Look to stay in Trekker. It's lovely and secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I can only say one thing...fabulous! Well, I can actually say multiple things and all of them meaning the same. We had a wonderful stay over Women's Day weekend. Lynsey and Alan are incredible hosts and we now consider them part of our extended family! The accommodations are very comfortable and cozy, the food excellent, the views are simply breathtaking, and there are so many interesting things to see and do. Thanks to Dylan and Rudi for their knowledge and for taking the time to show our son Aaron so many different things as well as help us make castings of some very interesting animals. We didn't want to leave and can't wait to return....

Room Tip: We had the Trekker tent, which is a family unit. It was the furthest away from the main lodge, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovington, New Mexico
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Mom and I made the right choice to make our first and probably only trip to Africa with On Track Safaris, and to visit Black Leopard our first 3 days and again the last 2 was a wonderful experience. The mountain views are gorgeous, the camp homey, the beds comfy, the food marvelous and the people make you feel like family. Alan is great fun and a wonderful cook; Lynsey and the girls are sweet; Tenille makes fabulous desserts and is the busiest person you'll ever see; Rudy and Dylan are informative and have great stories to tell. Everyone at camp works hard to make you feel welcome, and sad to leave. So many animals to appreciate, and what fun to be able to set up trap cameras in conjunction with The Ingwe Leopard Research Project in hopes of catching the elusive leopard. You can't ask for more than friends, comfort, beauty, great food and stories, education and fun. Other reviews have mentioned the hot water bottle (nice in winter), the beds, the en suite bathroom plus the outside tub and shower, and they are all correct...this is a fabulous place to visit, wish we could've stayed even longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Black leopard camp is an amazing space, set deep within a dramatic gorge; huge cliff faces bound either side of the camp.

This rugged terrain is home to the rare leopard, and there are several game drives (included) per day to maximise opportunities to sight this elusive predator. The guides are very knowledgeable, and can share interesting facts on everything: from bugs and beetles, to trees and terrapins.

A definite hit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Leopard Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Leopard Camp

Address: R37 | Lydenburg District, Lydenburg 1120, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Lydenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Lydenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A full catered "rustic luxury" Tented Lodge, just off the Panorama Route, and en route to the Kruger National Park. On a malaria free mountain wilderness reserve -Black Leopard Camp is more than just a bush getaway. It's an active attempt to conserve and protect the threatened leopards of the area, monitoring the free-roaming leopards that traverse its lands, giving visitors the opportunity to participate in these worthwhile experiences. Our guests are ensured of personal attention at all times and experience what larger more commercial private game lodges offer, without having to put up with the land rover hordes that guests at larger concerns experience, and most importantly at a much more affordable rate. The rate includes all meals, and game activities. The only Tented Lodge that offers Family Units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Black Leopard Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Leopard Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.