We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isandlwana Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isandlwana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Isandlwana Lodge
Save
You added Isandlwana Lodge to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Portion 20 of Reserve No: 18 No:15838 | Nqutu, Isandlwana 3005, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
tamworth
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

stayed for two nights. The hotel is stunning to see and the interior is fabulous. We had room 1 which gave us a long balcony to catch the sun and the views of the surrounding area were fantastic. The room was clean, as was the stunning bathroom with a shower cubicle as big as some bathrooms I have seen. There was tea and coffee in the room as well as a cookie jar and a plate of fruit. Found a U.K. socket as well.
Hotel has a swimming pool, library, media room and bar with a log burning fire to cosy up to.
On the first morning Robs talk on the battle was very emotional starting on the balcony then a few minutes drive to the battlefield to continue the story.
In the afternoon we were taken down into the Zulu village by our bar-keeping friend Seyabonga.
Again very informative, lasts about 3 hours. ( walking)
Mike the boss was always helpful and pleasant to chat to.
Food was excellent and plentiful.
If you are visiting the battle sites of Africa then give this hotel a look.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
76
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed at Isandlwana Lodge last weekend and it was everything I dreamed it would be. Another couple that came with us was just as enthralled with the accommodations as well as the superb educational tours of Isandlwana battlefield, Rourke's Drift, and Fugitives Drift. Rob was amazing with his knowledge and passion for these major events of the Zulu wars. The Lodge is described as a five star and when you consider where it is and how it was constructed it is so much more. The food is gourmet, the bar well appointed, the rooms elegant and comfortable with spectacular views of the battlefield at Isandlwana. My stay here was all too brief.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed at Isandlwana Lodge a few weeks ago while experiencing an amazing tour of the battlefields. The lodge was absolutely beautiful, the rooms were extremely clean and authentically African... before bed our beds were pulled down and hot water bottles were placed inside, so once we'd returned from dinner it was all warm ans cozy for us to go back to. The food was delicious and ALL the staff were so welcoming, friendly and helpful. It really felt homely and comfortable with the many log fires and breathtaking views. We have stayed in many lodges across South Africa and this was definitely one of our favorite! I hope one day we will return and enjoy another fabulous stay! In my opinion it was a five star Lodge with five star service!

Thank you Isandlwana Lodge, miss you!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I've never been a history fanatic, however found the battlefield tour and stories of Isandlwana and Roukes Drift both captivating and educational. Our tour guide, Rob, from Isandlwana Lodge, was extremely knowledgable, passionate and enthusiastic - he lives and breathes the history of the area, drawing all his guests into a little piece of history!

Our accommodation at Isandlwana Lodge was divine. Nestled up against the rock face and in the heart of ancient history, we were met by the owner and host, Pat, a wonderfully friendly and welcoming elderly women - also very passionate about her venture in the area. The rooms were very comfortable, with fantastic views over the horizon, the venue very warm and hospitable, catering to all our needs - including the extra, unofficial offering of a baby sitter for our friends. The food was delicious and enough, even for our hungry men... In short, we had a wonderful adventure which far exceeded our expectations, although a bit short. I suggest a two night stay which would allow some chill time by the pool. Isandlwana and all that came with it was an unexpected surprise and thoroughly enjoyable. Something completely different.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We have just returned from a group Holts Tour of the Zulu battlefields, with this hotel as our final 4-night stay. We were overwhelmed by the beauty and character of the hotel, blending perfectly with the landscape and the cliffside location offering unparalleled views of the historically significant and atmospheric Isandlwana mountain.. From our bed in the magnificent and spacious room 1 (the King's room) we were able to take in breathtaking views of the sunset and sunrise over the mountain through the massive picture window. The rooms were all wonderfully appointed with Molton Brown toiletries and a 2-person-sized shower, again sympathetically decorated, incorporating natural stone features. Outside our room, the large balcony seating area was the place to enjoy a private morning moment watching the village below awaken and the new day begin, with a cup of speciality tea and a cookie from the complimentary cookie jar! The group enjoyed first-class a-la-carte evening dining, full breakfasts and buffet lunches, with superbly presented dishes to delight even the most discerning diner. The service in the restaurant, bar and rooms was very professional yet warm and friendly. Holts Tour Group have used this hotel for many years and our tour leaders enjoy the personal attention at all times of the owner, Pat, and her staff, with nothing too much trouble and service always with a smile. Brilliant is too tame a word for our awesome experience!

Room Tip: The Kings Room 1 and Room 12 are large corner rooms, as long as you don't book room 1 next time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham Road, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Spent one night at Isandwana Lodge and did two battle field tours. Of course our stay was way to short, and I would recommend 2 or 3 nights. A visit to the lodge was well overdue and I had good information on the venue previous to arriving. My expectations were exceeded, friendly staff and attentive owner, creative architecture, good food, beautiful views, and of course the phenomenal history, which was so passionately and eloquently imparted on us by battlefields expert Rob Gerrard - leaving us all with a lump in our throats.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greytown, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

A remarkable weekend in a truly spectacular setting where battles between Zulus and the British army were made to come to life. Rooms were clean, staff were friendly and helpful, food was great and the owner and host was from another era of hotel hospitality. Would recommend this place to all I know except my enemies!

Room Tip: we stayed in room 5 and it was great because it was the first room at the bottom of the stairs!! I b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Isandlwana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isandlwana Lodge

Address: Portion 20 of Reserve No: 18 No:15838 | Nqutu, Isandlwana 3005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Isandlwana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Isandlwana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Isandlwana Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Isandlwana Lodge offers twelve luxury rooms all en-suite and tastefully decorated in a mixture of traditional and modern styles. The Lodge is carved into the iNyoni rock formation on top of which the Zulu commander stood during the battle of Isandlwana on 22 January 1879. Enjoy unparalleled views from the crisp early light of a sparkling Zulu dawn to the splendor of the African sunset. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Isandlwana Hotel Isandlwana
Isandlwana Lodge KwaZulu-Natal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isandlwana Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.