We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“still going strong” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tho-Tho Bar & Restaurant

Tho-Tho Bar & Restaurant
66 Victoria STreet, Richmond, Yarra, Victoria 3121, Australia
(03) 9428 2036
Improve this listing
Ranked #120 of 215 restaurants in Richmond
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
melbourne
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“still going strong”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

good food good service, have been here a lot of times, first time when it was one shop front, now huge, prices are up, but still excellent food.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    7
    11
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Iconic Vietnamese - Best of breed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I first ate at this restaurant over 20 years ago, then moved away from Melbourne. Now I am back I eat here weekly with my new wife, who although Chinese loves the clean crisp flavours this restaurant offers. With the son who's photo adorns the wall as a small child, now all grown up and working the floor, the next generation is set to continue in the large footsteps created by his parents.

There has never been a time where I have not ordered the crispy quaiI, it is by far my favourite dish in my favourite Melbourne, Vietnamese restaurant.

My favourite waiter, Soot, always treats us like family, look out for him he has a great sence of humour.

You should note this popular large restaurant is usually buzzing with happy diners, so it is by no means a quiet space.

While you a free to linger over your meal, you can also be served fed and out in a very short space of time, and it's not unusual for tables to be turned over 3 times over lunch and 5 times over dinner, but never have I had to wait for a table to become ready, somehow there always seems to be a table available.

Enjoy!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best First Dinner in Melbourne!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

The rice wraps were so FRESH! I could easily have eaten 3 plates of it! Main courses were filling and staff were friendly too! So of course I ended up visiting this restaurant a handful of times within a month! ;)

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“CONSISTENTLY GOOD - NEVER DISAPPOINTS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

I have been coming to Tho Tho since it first opened and think it is the most consistent of all the Vietnamese restaurants in Victoria Street. We have never had a bad meal. Last time started with the pork belly rice paper rolls - delicious, then sate pork ion skewer, prawn pancake and chicken coleslaw - all excellent in fact I think they do the best chicken coleslaw of any vietnamese restaurant I have tried and I have tried a lot. Service is excellent and waiters friendly and always remember our favourite dishes.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimmi78
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Best on victoria st”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2008

For me, the best on victoria st. Food is always fantastic and the vegetarian rice paper rolls are to die for!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tho-Tho Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Richmond, Yarra
 

Been to Tho-Tho Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tho-Tho Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.