We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time stands still” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thy Thy 1 Vietnamese Restaurant

Thy Thy 1 Vietnamese Restaurant
142 Victoria Street, Richmond, Yarra, Victoria 3121, Australia
(03) 9429 1104
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 226 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: $12 - $12
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
436 reviews 436 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
“Time stands still”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I remember the first time - more than 20 years ago - that I stepped out of my comfort zone and climbed the stairs to Thy Thy 1. I was a bit shell-shocked at my first sight of the very basic facilities and no-nonsence approach of the staff. But once I sunk my teeth into that magnificent Pho, I knew I was hooked.

Since then I've eaten at dozens of Vietnamese restaurants, but I've never found one to beat Thy Thy 1 for taste and value. When I want a seriously good meal at an incredibly cheap price (without the need to impress anybody) I head back there.

I was going to add that nothing had changed in all the time I'd been going there but on my last visit, I noticed another fluro tube had blown.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    12
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“You can't miss it. Must go for it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Australia is a land of mix cuisine, one is Vietnamese food especially the noodle. Even I am thai person who always eats thai noodles. But Vietnamese noodle is something so so nice.

The soup and the taste are unforgettable . It is not expensive, the dish size is big, so to be save order medium not large size. There are various beef and pork.

I must say I still miss it, it was long time ago that I ate it. You don't need to eat only this shop, you can try in any vietnamese shop even in footcray area where is biggest area for vietnamese.

Not only noodle which is nice, also other dish go and try it. But you need to go to restaurant.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pre Game Nosh Up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Love this place for a quick easy and especially delicious meal before heading off to AAMI Park for the rugby.

Upstairs you go - now get me wrong - its not ultra modern or anything like that - really basic tables and chairs etc - but in my opinion that all adds to the ambience - you go there for the food. Very reasonable and super quick. Service is always great and the tastes are fantastic.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome vietnamese food and cheap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Fantastic food great service,byo, food comes out quickly, prawn spring rolls are the best in melbourne

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“decent, cheap and average Vietnamese food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Thy Thy is one of the pioneer Vietnamese retsuarnst in Vietnamese-dominated Victoria St and we must have eaten there nearly a hundred times over the past three decades. its still decent standby with good low prices, a generous BYO policy (like most Vietnamese places) and fast service. But it can't really compete any more with the better new places that have opened up in the Street over the last ten years. But still worth a visit.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thy Thy 1 Vietnamese Restaurant also viewed

 
Richmond, Yarra
Richmond, Yarra
 

Been to Thy Thy 1 Vietnamese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thy Thy 1 Vietnamese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.