We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Melbourne stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Richmond Hill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Richmond Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Richmond Hill Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   353 Church Street, Richmond, Yarra, Victoria 3121, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Richmond
Auckland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Top Melbourne stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Have stayed here about 5 times with family and friends.Perfect for all types of accommodation from backpackers to private rooms.Have stayed in all types of rooms within the hotel and have never had a problem.Quite location and close to the city.Tram outside the door takes you to St Kilda via Chapel Street ..or go down to Bridge street and after doing some shopping and eating just catch any of the trams into the city.Being a muisc nut it is close to the corner hotel great place to see a band and in the summer try the beer garden.

Room Tip: All rooms are good ones upstairs at the front do have a deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    52
    20
    9
    4
See reviews for
19
39
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is a really great value comfortable place with a lovely common room including a fireplace together with the absolutely best continental breakfast you'll ever find.

The staff are friendly and willing to help to make sure everything goes well and always have a welcoming smile and 'hello'.

There's a city tram just down the street so it's very convenient.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in this rather basic hotel. Our standard room was small but they upgraded us at no charge. The staff were helpful and accommodating. The hotel is in an old Victorian building and so looks the part but it is perfectly adequate. Given the price of everything i Australia for European travellers it probably represents reasonable value. The breakfasts like everything else was adequate and it is easy to get into the centre if Melbourne on 48 or 75 tram from bottom of road. Melbourne itself is well worth the visit. There are more coffee shops and eateries there than we have ever seen. The tourist information office on Fed Square gives excellent advice. The self guided walks are really good.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the hotel on a long weekend break. This was on a recommendation from a friend of ours. We booked a Queen room which was a quiet room situated at the back of the hotel and away from the constant traffic out the front of the hotel. The room was presentable with a large king size bed, an ensuite, and coffee and tea making facilities provided, however was basic and dated with tired furnishings. It could have been cleaner. The central heating was excellent, especially as it was cold on our stay in Melbourne. The location is brilliant being close to shops (Bridge Road and Chapel Street), restaurants, bars, cafés and trams. It is a short tram ride to get to the city attractions. The breakfast, which is included in the tariff, is excellent with a plentiful range of breads, cereals, fruit, yoghurt and of course hot coffee. Supplies were constantly being topped up. The breakfast room is warm and inviting, and a great place to start off your day. As for parking, get in early as car parking is limited and rather hotch-potch, with double parking and confusing spaces. The service is excellent and the staff try to please you. The front garden of this lovely old hotel is sadly forlorn and is untidy. For central location and great value I recommend this hotel. Book early for a balcony room as they are limited, these face the noisier front street. Use your Golden Chain member’s card for an extra 10% discount on your room rate.

Room Tip: Book early for balcony room and a back room for a quietier stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed here for a week and family from afar also joined us. The staff were really helpful in changing our elderly relatives room so they didnt have to traverse the stairs. All of our rooms with ensuite were clean and spacious with lovely high ceilings. The only downside to ours was a very creaky floor in the bathroom which made it noisy in the room if anybody visited the bathroom early morning etc. The breakfast is very good and the room and common lounge area cosy with the fireplace and a great place to get together for a drink. The hotel also has a cosy little bar with a selection of wines and other beverages. The hotel has tramstops handy to go to and from chappel street and is walking distance to Bridge Road for food, shopping and trams into the city.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have a few stairs and probably better for those who have trouble staying downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The hotel is a beautiful old building and the outside is full of charm. The reception area is small but adequate. It gives a three star impression. The person behind the desk does much more than reception so sometimes there's no one to be found. But there is a bell, and they come as quickly as they can. I didn't have to wait long. The reception people are friendly and very helpful with storing bags etc.

The corridors to the rooms are a maze of left turns and right turns, through multiple doors and up and down many large and small sets of stairs. It's odd to walk down a hallway through a door and up half a set of stairs only to go through another door and down half a set of stairs. Carrying bags in and out is a pain. But it is the original design so to preserve it is important. They were kind enough to put my bag in my room for me. But when I left, I carried it out myself and it was a challenge up and down the multiple staircases in high heels and opening all the doors along the way. They probably would have sent someone to get it for me had I asked, which I didn't.

My room was tiny and very basic, with sixties or seventies decor (brown laminated woodgrain look with bits of chipboard peeking though from underneath the broken bits of laminate). The bed was obviously very old with a basic mattress and spring base. It had an old white bedspread on the bed. The photos on the website look much better than real life. But everything was clean. The windows are traditional sash windows with all the problems that go with them, including serious drafts that were so bad I had to stuff the towels in the window frames. But the hydronic heating worked well to compensate somewhat. The bathroom was tiny but clean. There was no soap, which I found strange. Lucky I had a bar in my bag. Everything in the room worked, but it was all quite run down. Strangely, the kettle didn't fit under the tap, so I couldn't fill it. Very odd. I could have used a glass and tipped water in glass by glass if I was desperate. I wasn't that desperate.

The buffet breakfast was very nice, and the breakfast room is lovely in a three star kind of way. The open fires were beautiful and really supplied the ambiance in droves. I really liked it. The woman serving breakfast on the day I was there was quite rude, like I was disturbing her, which was disappointing. Everyone else was nice though. She was the very notable exception and she did singlehandedly bring down my overall service score unfortunately.

The location is excellent. In the middle of Richmond, near shops and restaurants and convenient to transport.

Overall, I thought it was perfectly fine for a night or two, particularly for the price. I paid around $140 per night, which is good for this location. I felt safe, the heating was good, my room was clean and most of the staff were very helpful. You wouldn't stay for a two week holiday unless you were strapped for cash. The rooms are too depressing for a long stay. But for a couple of nights, for central, affordable accommodation, it was fine.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room at the back of the hotel. The front may be a bit noisy as it's a busy road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The location of this hotel is excellent; a quiet residential area with restaurants and cafes nearby. The public rooms are lovely and the breakfast was an added bonus. The rooms were clean and quiet. The only downside is that the room included no phone and I was not clear on how to operate the TV and cable (both had separate remotes). I chose the non-ensuite option, but the bathrooms were very clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front of the building and an ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Richmond Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hill Hotel

Address: 353 Church Street, Richmond, Yarra, Victoria 3121, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Yarra > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Richmond Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richmond Hill Hotel is a 45 room B&B style hotel, offering a range of accommodation options. We offer value and friendly and efficient service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Richmond Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hill Hotel Greater Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richmond Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.