We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and affordable but very basic.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Richmond Hill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Richmond Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Richmond Hill Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   353 Church Street, Richmond, Yarra, Victoria 3121, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Richmond
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable and affordable but very basic.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The hotel is a beautiful old building and the outside is full of charm. The reception area is small but adequate. It gives a three star impression. The person behind the desk does much more than reception so sometimes there's no one to be found. But there is a bell, and they come as quickly as they can. I didn't have to wait long. The reception people are friendly and very helpful with storing bags etc.

The corridors to the rooms are a maze of left turns and right turns, through multiple doors and up and down many large and small sets of stairs. It's odd to walk down a hallway through a door and up half a set of stairs only to go through another door and down half a set of stairs. Carrying bags in and out is a pain. But it is the original design so to preserve it is important. They were kind enough to put my bag in my room for me. But when I left, I carried it out myself and it was a challenge up and down the multiple staircases in high heels and opening all the doors along the way. They probably would have sent someone to get it for me had I asked, which I didn't.

My room was tiny and very basic, with sixties or seventies decor (brown laminated woodgrain look with bits of chipboard peeking though from underneath the broken bits of laminate). The bed was obviously very old with a basic mattress and spring base. It had an old white bedspread on the bed. The photos on the website look much better than real life. But everything was clean. The windows are traditional sash windows with all the problems that go with them, including serious drafts that were so bad I had to stuff the towels in the window frames. But the hydronic heating worked well to compensate somewhat. The bathroom was tiny but clean. There was no soap, which I found strange. Lucky I had a bar in my bag. Everything in the room worked, but it was all quite run down. Strangely, the kettle didn't fit under the tap, so I couldn't fill it. Very odd. I could have used a glass and tipped water in glass by glass if I was desperate. I wasn't that desperate.

The buffet breakfast was very nice, and the breakfast room is lovely in a three star kind of way. The open fires were beautiful and really supplied the ambiance in droves. I really liked it. The woman serving breakfast on the day I was there was quite rude, like I was disturbing her, which was disappointing. Everyone else was nice though. She was the very notable exception and she did singlehandedly bring down my overall service score unfortunately.

The location is excellent. In the middle of Richmond, near shops and restaurants and convenient to transport.

Overall, I thought it was perfectly fine for a night or two, particularly for the price. I paid around $140 per night, which is good for this location. I felt safe, the heating was good, my room was clean and most of the staff were very helpful. You wouldn't stay for a two week holiday unless you were strapped for cash. The rooms are too depressing for a long stay. But for a couple of nights, for central, affordable accommodation, it was fine.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room at the back of the hotel. The front may be a bit noisy as it's a busy road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    65
    22
    9
    7
See reviews for
26
46
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The location of this hotel is excellent; a quiet residential area with restaurants and cafes nearby. The public rooms are lovely and the breakfast was an added bonus. The rooms were clean and quiet. The only downside is that the room included no phone and I was not clear on how to operate the TV and cable (both had separate remotes). I chose the non-ensuite option, but the bathrooms were very clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front of the building and an ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

This hotel is in Church Street between Bridge and Swan Streets Richmond. If you want to shop or eat or to sightsee Melbourne you could hardly be better situated. We took a room with an ensuite, which I'd recommend. The room was plain but comfortable and very quiet. The building is historic with some lovely public rooms. There is a generous continental breakfast and the staff couldn't be more pleasant. There are 3 tram lines and 1 railway line within easy walking distance and numerous routes. It's only a couple of kilometres into the centre if you prefer to walk. That will certainly be my base on future visits.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longford, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

My Husband and I were down to Richmond from country vic to see a Gig and wanted somewhere close to the main street and somewhere to 'crash'. The hotel was excellent value for money, clean, tidy, friendly staff, parking and breaky included. It was on the main st, yet very quiet and for $130 bucks it was ideal. Great place to stay overall.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We chose the Richmond Hill Hotel for it's location.

The hotel is an easy walk to Bridge road, bargain shoppers paradise! Also a short stroll to Swan Street for our friend's birthday celebrations at Agapi Greek Restaurant.

Reasonably priced but at AUD$155 a short tram ride to the city, may have paid around the same for a larger room.

Our room was quite away from the front of the hotel so the busy traffic could not be heard. Huge King size bed and very comfy.

The bathroom is compact, step through the door and swivel left to the shower or swivel right to the toilet or just half a step further to the wash basin. Small desk with the tv above it as well as tea and coffee making facilities but a kettle that actually fits beneath the tap would make the process a lot quicker.

The Hotel itself has a lovely lounge area with open fire where we sat and enjoyed a drink after checking in. The bar is quite tiny but the beer was cold and is also opened until around midnight. Guests are also welcome to help themselves to the complimentary tea and coffee in the lounge area.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for the front rooms with balcony, especially in warmer weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

The hotel itself is nice looking from the outside but its average on the inside.
The staff are friendly, helpful and my room was clean and quiet. I would stay there again as its a 2 min walk to Pubs and Restaurants and very close to the AAMI stadium and the MCG.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bairnsdale
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

I stayed with my young daughter and found the accommodation was great. Perfect for our needs. At $139 for a twin ensuite room, including b'fast and free parking, I couldn't fault it. Located between Bridge and Swan Streets, lots of dining options within a short walk. Rooms were all we needed - comfy beds, kettle, small fridge, ceiling fan, quality reading lights - and very clean. Lots of storage in the bathroom area. Yes, an older style property so 'a bit of a rabbit warren', and up and down stairs to our room, but that added to the charm. Thick walls meant road noise for us wasn't a bother. Breakfast was fabulous - yummy porridge, an array of preserved fruits, great selection of breads and jams, quality tea etc. Friendly staff who were most helpful.
Would recommend it to others who are after something 'not too flash' but certainly not dodgy.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Richmond Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hill Hotel

Address: 353 Church Street, Richmond, Yarra, Victoria 3121, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Yarra > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Richmond Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richmond Hill Hotel is a 45 room B&B style hotel, offering a range of accommodation options. We offer value and friendly and efficient service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Richmond Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hill Hotel Greater Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richmond Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.