We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four Star? Not.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne to your Saves list
Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   649 Bridge Road, Richmond, Yarra, Victoria 3121, Australia (Formerly Rydges Riverwalk)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
$25 off Food
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Richmond
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Four Star? Not.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

In its lobby, this hotel showed pictures of Thai Royalty; guests many years ago. That should alert you to the sad fact that this hotel may have been four star many years ago, but today it is struggling to be a two star place. Dirty lifts with smeared mirrors, lift door-frames with hair and dust on the floor, dirty room walls, flaking paint on window sills and skirting boards, cracked bathroom floor tiles, old fashioned ceiling shower rose that made it hard to shower without getting your hair wet, open shower cubicle that allowed shower water to flood into the rest of the bathroom, cups and saucers and teaspoons that were not washed properly by the room staff, grubby room light switches that you didn't want to touch and a double/king size bed with a big ridge in the middle ... and to add insult to injury a droll, rather lazy front desk receptionist and her big, indifferent boss, asked us to pay a four star price.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    99
    32
    12
    5
See reviews for
32
79
14
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

My husband and I returned to this Hotel for the 2nd time and we weren't disappointed. We were upgraded to a bigger room which was very nice as they were painting the rooms that we had booked. The room had nice big king bed, very comfortable the bathroom although somewhat small mainly because of the very large spa bath. Very quiet and restfull. The staff very very pleasant and helpful and the location was great as you walk out of the hotel and there is a tram stop right in front which takes you down Bridge road and on to the city etc. Highly recommend anyone to stay there reasonable rates. Good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
145 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. Make sure you request a room away from Bridge Rd as the trams are very noisy. We could even hear them from the quieter rooms at the back of the hotel. We stayed on a Saturday night and a wedding was being held there. The foyer was very busy and the marquis was set up in the courtyard in the miidle of the hotel. It was very noisy until 11 pm but it didn't worry us as we went out.
The bed is comfy and the rooms are fine. It rained all weekend but it would have been great to use one of the bikes on offer to cycle along the river. Not a bad position - a bit of a trek to the main shops and restaurants along Bridge Rd. Paid $150 a night which was about all it is worth. Ok but not memorable !

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

I will happily recommend this hotel to my friends. The best was the hot buffet breakfast. Lots of variety and food was yummy. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful too.
The only problem with my room was that the bathroom didn't have bath tub. so, i suggest everyone to ask for the room with bathtub if you want to have a relaxing bath :)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

Chose this hotel as we wanted to be close to the city but also explore the Eastern suburbs such as Richmond & Hawthorn. The Hotel was really easy to find and in a great location with the tram right outside. With the price we had paid I expected free parking but instead we were charged $15 per day, I felt with the hotel price that parking should have been included. The room was really nice. Nice balcony and facilities. It was however overlooking the courtyard which seemed to have elevator type music playing for atmosphere all day long and into the night. It wasn't especially loud but a bit annoying after a while. We had a mini bar etc in the room which we never used but we did have coffee & tea making facilities, we were charged $8 for using the coffee!!!
For the price I expected more but overall it was a nice hotel, good service and most importantly a great location for someone wanting to see the suburbs as well as the city. If you want to see Richmond and the eastern suburbs of Melbourne then its a great choice otherwise I think you could get more for your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

This hotel was reasonable and was good for getting to the conference I was attending. The service offered was very good as a general rule. Would stay at this hotel again if I was attending an event nearby, however for a general trip to Melbourne i would rather stay closer to the city.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions and have always found it perfectly adequate for my needs.

The rooms are confortable, but the ones overlooking the bridge can be very noisy due to the trundling trams. Weekend guests need to be prepared for the wedding party revellers.

The staff are courteous and professional; and breakfast is fine. The hotel lacks a gym but the tow path along the river is great for runners. The hotel also has bikes for use by guests.

Parking is free and the CBD is about 20-25 minutes by tram or 10-15 by taxi.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne

Address: 649 Bridge Road, Richmond, Yarra, Victoria 3121, Australia (Formerly Rydges Riverwalk)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Yarra > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A relaxed and spacious, tranquil riverside oasis just a stones throw from Melbourne's cultural and shopping heart. With 111 guestrooms, townhouse apartments and loft apartments, restaurant, bar\cafe, leisure facilities close by and excellent conference and meeting facilities including a spectacular indoor\outdoor marquee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amora Riverwalk Richmond
Amora Riverwalk Hotel Richmond
Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne Richmond, Greater Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.