We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast buffet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne to your Saves list
Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   649 Bridge Road, Richmond, Yarra, Victoria 3121, Australia (Formerly Rydges Riverwalk)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
$25 off Food
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Richmond
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great breakfast buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Amora when we arrived in Melbourne, we loved the Bridge Road location in Richmond and its proximity to central Melbourne. The hotel was very comfortable and the buffet breakfast was fantastic. Would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim_bilston, General Manager at Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We were very happy to hear your feedback & that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards


Tim Bilston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    100
    32
    12
    5
See reviews for
33
79
14
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gippsland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

For city accommodation, this hotel has virtually a perfect location: backs onto the riverbank, fronts onto a busy urban street with lots of interesting shops and restaurants, and has public transport at the front doorstep. Add to that: clean comfortable rooms, welcoming, unobtrusive service, and tasty buffet breakfast. 10 minute tram ride to the MCG, and 15 mins to CBD. Brilliant alternative to staying in the heart of Melbourne.

Room Tip: Try and tee-up an upgrade to a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel is very good . From check in to check out ,ticks all the boxes. At the bridge end of the street, down from the factory outlets a shoppers paradise. We had an occasion to leave on a tour at 4am and there was a bright bubbly receptionist greeting us.Just lovely.The river walk itself is very pleasant.

Room Tip: The river view rooms to me are better value as there does seem to be some noise that may affect the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim_bilston, General Manager at Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay & we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards


Tim Bilston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I visited Melbourne for the Melbourne Cup with my family, and we stayed in the 2 bedroom townhouse apartment.

The staff were friendly and polite, always greeting us when we returned to the hotel. Check-in and check-out was quick and hassle free. We arrived for check-in early and left our bags at reception to hold, came back and they were just left behind the counter, not in a locked room like I expected. Not thrilled about that, but no biggie.

The townhouse apartment was spacious enough and the 2 levels have a door that can close off for privacy. However, there wasn't a table for dining inside the room, only outside on the balcony, which isn't so great when it rains. And there's only a hotplate for cooking so eating out is still a must.

The location on Bridge Road is very handy as there is shopping just up the road towards the city, and there is a tram stop right outside the hotel.

I will definitely stay here again on my next trip to Melbourne.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strathfieldsaye
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

The riverwalk is a hidden gem. Stayed one night and was upgraded to a spa suite. Room was smaller then expected but beautifully appointed. Bed exceptionally comfortable. Included breakfast was a1. Staff courteous and friendly, they advised us of a wedding and there May be some noise, however we heard nothing. Will come back if the package we got is offered again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed at the Amora when it was at its busiest - during Head of the Yarra weekend. As before I found the room perfectly adequate and the restaurant for dinner and breakfast was quite good. The price they wanted to charge me for internet connection in the room was just ridiculous, however. In this day and age with so much free wi-fi available elsewhere $6 for half an hour of internet connection is outrageous. Also, if the hotel wants to drum up a bit of goodwill with freebies, the little business card vouchers for free dessert in the restaurant and free tapas with a drink in the bar should be mentioned at check in surely. We didn't find ours until it was too late to use them and others who stayed there had the same experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Right from the call I made to make the reservation I knew this was going to be a great weekend, and boy it was!

Best service we have ever received from a hotel even including the more expensive casino related hotels.

Check in was customer focused and informative, room service delicious and quick, dinner at Fresco was superb not to mention absolutely delicious and the service was second to non. Breakfast was clean fresh and continuously topped up with beautiful fresh food. There was a wedding on the night we stayed in the courtyard but this did not in any way effect our weekend away, in fact we didnt hear boo out of them. Close to shops restaurants and the lovely Riverwalk. Picturesque view from our suite. Highly recommend this hotel, their staff and their restaurant!!

Thank you the team at Amora Riverwalk you gave us a lovely weekend getaway from the kids.!! Definately staying again!.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne

Address: 649 Bridge Road, Richmond, Yarra, Victoria 3121, Australia (Formerly Rydges Riverwalk)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Yarra > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A relaxed and spacious, tranquil riverside oasis just a stones throw from Melbourne's cultural and shopping heart. With 111 guestrooms, townhouse apartments and loft apartments, restaurant, bar\cafe, leisure facilities close by and excellent conference and meeting facilities including a spectacular indoor\outdoor marquee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amora Riverwalk Richmond
Amora Riverwalk Hotel Richmond
Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne Richmond, Greater Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.