We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic fish!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Richmond Oyster Bar

Richmond Oyster Bar
437-443 Church Street, Richmond, Yarra, Victoria 3121, Australia
+ 61 (3) 9428 5121
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 215 restaurants in Richmond
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Australian
Restaurant details
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic fish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is the second time I have visited Richmond Oyster Bar on trips to Australia to visit my son who lives close to the restaurant. There is a superb choice of fish available, cooked any way you like and the 4 of us eating this time were not disappointed in any way. Service was very attentive and the atmosphere (early on a Sunday evening) was great. There is a buzz about this restaurant that I really like.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    27
    6
    1
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Cool place. Very chill atmosphere...Not a great vibe or anything...just mellow. Definitely better for lunch. Food was good. A few dishes were amazing. The paella and the mussels were spot on. Everything else was pretty average. Octopus a bit chewy...Fish good...not great. I would go back but i would not be excited about it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Freshest fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

I really liked this place as I found it serves fresh fish and seafood at reasonable prices. You can choose from the menu or the display counter that runs around the three sides of the restaurant (any type of fish, seafood and crostaceous is on display) and then tell the waiter they way you wanted it cooked as indicated in the menu. Everything we tried:oysters, prawns, calamari, red snapper and tuna was very tasty and well cooked. As the place also works as wholesaler and retailer, the turnover of their products is big, hence the fish is always fresh. Satisfactory and reasonably priced wine list. Good service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We went with friends and had a GREAT meal. Just good fish well cooked. Only complaint was the entre was big enough for a main. The Mezze Plate was said to be for 2. We would have needed 6 to make it entre size. Nice people - keen to explain things. No complaints (or rolled eyes) when we split the bill. 10 out of 10 guys!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood and good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place is nice. The wait staff are attentive, the seafood is fresh, and the service is fast. We went there on a Saturday for lunch, and it wasn't too busy, but I would suggest going early for dinner, as it gets quite busy. It is quite noisy and affected by car pollution outside, as it is on a busy stretch of Church Street, but inside it is a lot nicer. The seafood basket was a highlight... the scallops are especially nicely done.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Richmond Oyster Bar also viewed

Richmond, Yarra
 
Richmond, Yarra
 

Been to Richmond Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richmond Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.