We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun & great Pho” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thanh Nga Nine

Thanh Nga Nine
160 Victoria Street, Richmond, Yarra, Victoria 3121, Australia
03 9427 7068
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 226 Restaurants in Richmond
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great fun & great Pho”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Decor is hilarious and a bit ott; food is delicious and excellent. I was looking for somewhere that did vegetarian pho. I had the vege version and my partner the beef; both were the best we've had. Had the recommended entree that the maitre d suggested; it was delicious and unusual, and we finished with iced vietnamese coffee. Really great, quite noisy, service is a bit slow but very fun.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Always fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

The best Vietnamese food in melbourne. Period
Great value, fresh, and fast.
Some of the wait staff have no idea, but, that's the only negative

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metung
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Old favorites and new specialities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The food is everything but the service is very good as well. Asking for the daily specials can bring something new to the table that will usually be a treat, along with the familiar spring rolls to wrap in lettuce with mint and dipping sauce along with rice paper rolls while scanning the menu.
If ordering many dishes to share as we do then make sure to get them spaced out to prevent half going cold, or order a few at a time and more when you want them. Possibly the best in Victoria St. A big wrap, but we keep going back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“So happy my family took me hear”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The 1st time I ate at thanh nga nine was 6months ago. i visit my family and was taken out to eat Vietnamese food, never really had this type of food before but turn out I really love it. Tried other place in Adelaide and not really that good. Been back 3 times now and will always eat here when I'm in the area.
This place has a very traditional menu and so many to choose from, i just let my family do the ordering as they new the menu very well.

Keep up the good work and see you soon. Oh love the mini pancakes.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not nine out of ten, but decent food and value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Victoria Street is really known as a place for good value eating. Don't expect too much in the way of decor or refinement. Hey, when you only have to folk $10 for a dish of presentable and eatable food who can complain. Nine is place our family has visited over the past five years or so. It is consistent and reliable. Nine out of ten for value.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thanh Nga Nine also viewed

 

Been to Thanh Nga Nine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thanh Nga Nine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.