We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Conference Food and Conference Room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yarra Valley Estate

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dixons Creek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yarra Valley Estate
Save
You added Yarra Valley Estate to your Saves list
2164 Melba Highway, Dixons Creek, Yarra Glen, Victoria 3775, Australia (Formerly Yarra Valley Conference Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dixons Creek
GreenLeadersGold level
Australia
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
“Fantastic Conference Food and Conference Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I have conducted a number of leadership programs at this venue. The location is lovely with plenty of opportunities for pleasant walks nearby. The main conference room is one of the best that I have encountered- lots of natural light, space and technical gizzmos if needed.

The best thing about the venue though is the food. Simon is an amazing chef and there is plenty of variety and quantity of food. His buffets are fantastic and he caters well for participants who have special diets. It is worth coming here just for this as I have found that some venues seem to be more interested in cost cutting than in providing good tucker.

The bedrooms are not luxurious but they are comfortable and adequate for what is needed.

The owners support a number of charities including medical expeditions to Papua New Guinea.

I often recommend this venue to clients and will keep returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This venue had the best staff and service I have experienced. Wonderful woodland location that's great summer or winter. Chef Simon runs a fantastic kitchen and the ran a great team building event with mystery boxes for each team. The dishes were great and shared by everyone. The centre is also good for individuals or couples wanting a retreat from the busy city. About 45minutes from Melbourne and miles away from the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

I spent 3 days here on a work conference. Great rooms with ensuite and air-conditioning - no tv in rooms but there are in the various communal areas. Very clean and servicing is great. All staff are friendly and hospitable. Food is fantastic - best conference food I've had. Really peaceful surrounds with some lovely walks if you get time. There is an outdoor pool which opens in summer - a bit cold for now. The climbing wall also looks great. Separate wings for various conferences - you have your own space but all congregate in the main dining area for lunch and dinner. A fantastic open fire which we all sat in front after the day and before dinner with some great wine. Free wi-fi in some areas but all rooms have free broadband. All up - great place with lovely hosts.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

My second time at the Yarra Valley Conference Centre (for work) and i continue to be impressed.

The chef produced 3 main meals and two 'teas' every day, all tasty, nutritious and varied in style, he happily accommodated various different dietary requirements in our group with either enough variety of choices at the buffet style meals and/or substitutions for particular restrictions (gluten free/dairy free/no pork etc)

Good clean basic rooms, a bit noisy due to the water pumps at times but generally fine. Good extras for a long residential, our groups enjoyed an afternoon swim and spa as well as using the walking trails and the gym, and we all enjoyed the solid selection of local wines from the bar.

Every staff member I encountered was friendly, efficient and helpful: room attendants, kitchen staff, bar staff and management

Highly recommend YVCC as a conference or training venue.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask about a room away from the water pumps
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

I've stayed twice now at the YVCC and the only regret I've had is that I haven't had my wife or family with me. The accommodation is air conditioned with electric blankets. I haven't needed them yet. Each room has an ensuite. The beds are very comfortable.

Each Cottage has somewhere to make a tea/coffee after hours. The main building houses the bar and common area which has a pool table and a great outdoor deck area. The open fire area is surrounded by leather lounges. The large dining area is also complemented by an outdoor cooking area featuring a wood-fired pizza oven, BBQ and rotisserie.

Simon is the Chef and his meals are to die for considering the quantities he has to produce. A choice of a hot breakfast along with cereal and fruit is followed by freshly baked morning tea, hot lunch choice and salad, another freshly baked afternoon tea and then back again for a two course dinner.

The YVCC is a short trip out of Yarra Glen. The staff are so accommodating and prepared to assist. The owners support a number of worthy charities including an animal refuge onsite elsewhere on the property.

There is no room service that I'm aware of. There is a pool and a gym.

Would recommend it.

Room Tip: Cottage 6 has it's own TV, fire and kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yarra Valley Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yarra Valley Estate

Address: 2164 Melba Highway, Dixons Creek, Yarra Glen, Victoria 3775, Australia (Formerly Yarra Valley Conference Centre)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Yarra Glen > Dixons Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dixons Creek
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a bit unique at the Yarra Valley Estate because as well as hosting conferences, we are popular with family groups coming away for a few days (family reunions, special birthday celebrations, etc), special interest groups (nature lovers, bush walkers, car enthusiasts etc), and host gorgeous weddings (as we are situated on 120 stunning acres of lawns, bush tracks, towering gums and native bush). We're also unique in that we have our own airstrip - so people can fly in to our property in just 10 minutes from Melbourne. Plus we have our own Wildlife Rescue Sanctuary, Babbajin Park, where rescued animals are brought in by the public, to be rehabilitated - and it's only open (by appointment) to guests staying with us. We are family owned and run and husband and wife team John & Louise Ward go out of their way to ensure you have a wonderful stay. They are closely connected with three charitable organisations, which they support financially with profits from Yarra Valley Estate. Please call us with any enquiries - and we look forward to welcoming you soon to stay with us here in the Yarra Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yarra Valley Estate Dixons Creek, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yarra Valley Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.