We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent Trip To Kioloa Beach Holiday Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kioloa Beach Holiday Park

Kioloa Beach Holiday Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kioloa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kioloa Beach Holiday Park
Save
You added Kioloa Beach Holiday Park to your Saves list
635 Murramarang Road, Kioloa, New South Wales 2539, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Recent Trip To Kioloa Beach Holiday Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Just came back today after a few days down at Kioloa Beach Holiday Park. What I love is the family feel about the place you can bring your furry family member (dog) as long he is on a lead and you scoop up the poop!

The fact you can walk to the beach just metres away is a plus without getting into the car. The after noon there is kangaroos and parrots that come to your cabin.

I noticed also noticed that the local shop that is directly across the road from the park will be opening next month and that will be a boom to the park as it will have take-away food and coffee machine..

Room Tip: Not necessary to choose a room but the ones in front of the pool make it easy to walk kids to the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen C, Manager at Kioloa Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you Jenny for your comments re: your recent stay with us at Kioloa Beach.
We love our four legged guests and their owners appreciate that they can bring their
dog on holidays.
We look forward to seeing you back at Kioloa Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    14
    11
    4
    7
See reviews for
22
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I have been going to kioloa since the park was owned by the Fry family. The grounds of the park are very tidy, but that isnt hard when occupancy is only at about 10%. I remember when the park usdd to burst at the seams on the october long weekend, and other times of the year. But not now. The neighbouring parks are full, and you have to ask yourself why?

Talking to other visitors there they always recall the rude staff first. First impressions are important, and it would seem that the first impression left by staff on guests is indeed a lasting one.

My main reason for leaving this review is the declining condition of the amenities block. I recently stayed for one week over the school holiday's. There are five ladies showers, one had an out of order sign, leaving only four showers. By the end of the week, two showers were locked, only leaving three ladies showers available. You would think cleaning only three showers would be easy......wrong. One shower had a message on the wall written in toothpaste which was there from the first day and never cleaned off. There were hairs, dirt, sand and soap residue everywhere, despite the cleaner just re-opening after being closed for cleaning. And on the subject of the cleaner, if you asked him how long he was going to be he would yell at you saying he is there the same time every morning. ....which is not true because they wernt cleaned for two days while I was there. The toilet bowls were filthy with bits of poo still stuck to the sides of the bowl, clearly not being scrubbed daily as they should be. This is not only disgusting, but a health hazzard.

Also, why close the toilets at 8am for cleaning? This is when most people are getting out of bed and need to go to the toilet. Clean much earlier or later, but not at this time.

We pay peak rates in peak periods like school holidays. It is not unreasonable to expect clean functioning toilets and showers.

Not good enough. Pick up your act. You cant rely on the beautiful beach to bring in the guests forever. At some point you will have to provide good customer service and clean working facilities.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen C, Manager at Kioloa Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you Nicole for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Kioloa Beach.
However, if you had mentioned to the staff during your stay that you had an issue with one of our amenity blocks this could have been corrected immediately and thus enable you to enjoy the remainder of your holiday with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the park Saturday 5 & Sunday 6 of October over the long weekend,
The park is massive and right on the beach, Toilets and showers kept clean as much as
possible, I read people complaining about the toilets and showers are not cleaned , well
we were camped next the showers , at 8.30 am the staff cleaned the ladies and gents
showers , I went to have a shower at 9.15 the place was a mess people throwing paper
towels on the floor not placing them in bins provided, so we can`t go on blaming management
all the time we need to take some responsibility for our action, I do believe the caretaker has
left, we had a great time and I highly recommend the park for the family, Thanks Tracy for your assistance in providing us with a site close to the Toilets for our grand dad a job well done
will be back for sure ,

Room Tip: There is no mobile service available at the park , you will have to drive up to near IGA store to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen C, Manager at Kioloa Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you Vince for taking the time to post your positive comments in relation to your recent stay with us at Kioloa Beach. As you correctly commented our amenity blocks are cleaned daily (and during certain times of the year 2-3 times a day) and it is disappointing to see that a minority number of guests do not help to maintain the cleanliness of the amenity blocks.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Our trip was in March already, but I just joined tripAdvisor. We came the third year in a row already and met with a group of friends, but it was the last one. I don't know what sort of problems the staff have, but they ruined our stay. The check-in was very friendly so we thought everything is fine. We also didn't complain about 2 cockroaches we found in our cabin. And we were used to the brown water from the last years already and brought some fresh drinking water. Usually we would expect a higher level of comfort for that money but we just wanted to have a relaxed long weekend.
The next morning one of the keepers came very early and let everybody know that he wasn't happy with his job, and tried to make as much noise as possible when he emptied the trash bins. Since we were just coming back from the beach with our dogs we didn't mind, but others did... And he was quite rude and just ignored us. Later he came back and asked were the dogs slept over night ( without saying 'good morning' or anything friendly for starters). He couldn't see them when he was here at 6am.
In the afternoon he chased our friends with his motor bike to ask them if their speedo was broken (again without any greeting). Then he told them that he had to drive 17kph just to follow their car (knowing that there is a 10kph limit) just to tell them that there was a speed limit.
This guy should not work with people!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen C, Manager at Kioloa Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback in relation to your recent stay at Kioloa Beach.
We are disappointed to read that you will not be returning for a future stay.
I was surprised re: comment on brown water as our filtering system was recently overhauled and
our water is a major improvement on how it was prior to Christmas.
Your comments in relation to our staff member also seem a bit "off base" as no staff member commences work prior to 7.00am each morning. On the majority of days (in the busier period) our rubbish is not collected from the cabin area before 9.00am-9.30am. In quieter periods most rubbish collection is at a later time-certainly not earlier.
Kioloa Beach does have an 8kph speed limit througout - due to Kioloa Beach being a family location and children are not always well versed in road safety.
However, although your comments seem out of character with the normal day to day running of Kioloa Beach, we thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narooma, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My husband and I recently spent our 6th yearly visit to Kioloa caravan park. Although we love the location, it will be a long time before we return. We found the so called manager Colin Whitby rude and arrogant. He was very rude to us, to neighbours in the camp, and to other staff. We did and always have found the other staff nothing but helpful and considerate. He soured our holiday and we couldn't wait to leave. We have always re-booked on leaving. This time we have booked into another park.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen C, Manager at Kioloa Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you Jacqui for your comments. I will be in contact with you today to discuss your stay.
I apologise for the treatment you received and will look into the matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We very rarely stay at van parks (most of them don't take dogs) but a friend of ours recommended this place. The campsites are great and the facilities are good, the location is beautiful...however...
Rude Hostess....
My partner went to get some change for the showers at 4.55pm. The response? "We close at 5pm, I've counted the till and we don't give out change - go to the shops" Well, it wasn't yet 5pm, if you don't give change then don't charge for washing machines and showers !!, and swapping a $2 coin for some 20c pieces won't change your till count. How rude.
Apparently, we're advised by our friend, this lady is known for her bad attitude.
Site allocation....
I'm not exactly sure but it seems they book out the campsites sequentially in a row, so whilst there's big empty spaces further up the end we were given a site right next to a row of campers and the next site alongside was also allocated. So we're all grouped up together whilst there are beautiful empty spots further up (as it happened we were stuck between an endlessly yapping dog and a screaming child, though this is not the fault of the managers)
Additionally we noted that they 'double up' (half the size) the unpowered campsites during peak periods. I don't know how that works at all, you couldn't get to your campsite nor would it even be big enough for a decent size tent. I definitely wouldn't go and camp in peak periods, it must be mayhem.
Dogs on the beach...
Some really odd moments with locals ignoring the dog leash rules whilst all the park stayers are desperately hanging onto their leashed dogs - even whilst fishing, which was most hilarious ! Stupid. Why don't they petition the council for some off leash times (e.g. early morning / late evening)
Other than these small trifles this is really a beautiful location, reasonable rates, pool and facilities all top notch. Stay away from the horrible lady at the office and you'll be fine. We might even go back sometime...during off peak..

Room Tip: The site map shows sites which aren't 'doubled up' at each end of the camping row. Get o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen C, Manager at Kioloa Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Kioloa Beach.
May I reply to a couple of your comments...
Site allocation at quieter periods are purely selected by the staff member on at the time. Some have sites they prefer and sometimes do not look at the map and allocate guests with a distance between them. When you saw your site and noted other guests near you we would have been more than happy to change your site if you had come back to reception and asked for a quieter location.
All our sites are within the required guidelines of minimum size of a site of 8m x 8m. We do not
alter or shorten our sites according to the time of the year. As you would have seen from the site map you were given on arrival that all sites are clearly marked and cannot be altered at any time.
However, my main concern is the comments made in reference to the staff member not wishing to give out shower coins. All staff know that guests require coins for the showers and have been
advised in their training that coins are to be given out when requested.
So that I may address this matter I would appreciate it if you could advise me of the date & day this occurred so I can speak with the staff member.
I would appreciate it if you could email me at my private email address the above information...
beachfrontresort@westnet.com.au.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoalhaven, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My wfe and I spend a great deal of time at the park and would like to comment on the period January through to Febuary this year for ourselves as permanents and our friends who are campers.
The staff under extreme pressure from the capacity crowd carried out their duties in a very friendly and professional manner. An added bonus for us was the condition of the pool that my wife used for reabilitation after an earier operation. Each morning it was pristine both in the water and surrounings as well. the park suffered from lack of rain causing a huge amount of trees to shed their follage adding additional work for the ground crew.
The park is located in an amazing location and appreciated by 99 % of the visitors.
unfortuately the 1% that selfishly think it is all about them that continue to speed through the park,dont clean up after their animals and party through to the early hours and then expect to sleep in until 11am the next morning. they arrive with a bad attitude and usually share it with the campers and staff and can not wait to jump on their computers and winge and moan about the way they where treated.
Keep up the good work staff and hopefully the 1% will find somewhere else to terrorise in the future

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kioloa Beach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kioloa Beach Holiday Park

Address: 635 Murramarang Road, Kioloa, New South Wales 2539, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kioloa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Kioloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kioloa Beach Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.