We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape the rat-race” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merry Beach Caravan Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kioloa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Merry Beach Caravan Resort
Save
You added Merry Beach Caravan Resort to your Saves list
46 Merry Beach Road, Kioloa, New South Wales 2539, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Escape the rat-race”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

You come to Merry Beach for the amazing beach front location, the wildlife and the opportunity to drop back a few gears and relax.

This isn't the place for anyone looking to be entertained, for nightlife, or a large variety of eating out places. As has been mentioned before, there isn't play equipment for the kids or phone / internet reception (although you may get lucky climbing the hill a little down the south end!)

However, there are numerous places to bike ride, fabulous walks, plenty of camp sites right on the beach or cabins with beach views. The kangaroos that visit every evening and laze around the site throughout the day make for a magic holiday for kids and adults alike.

We stay in the cabins. I must admit they are getting a little tired and could probably do with a make over, but they are clean, large and a great value for money compared with cabins in just about every other park I can see in this area. We spend our days swimming, riding bikes, walking, RELAXING, a visit to Mogo Zoo one day, then we finish by relaxing on our balcony having a nice cold drink and cooking up a BBQ. Simple, no fuss holiday break in a beautiful part of the world!

Tip - if you visit outside school holiday times you almost get the place to yourself!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    11
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
23
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Having stayed at Merry Beach Caravan Resort again over the long weekend (4th time in total) I felt it was only fitting to finally review this amazing place on Trip Advisor. Located on the absolute beachfront of Merry Beach and surrounded by 11,970ha of Murramarang National Park Merry Beach Caravan Resort truly offers the overall peace, relaxation and calmness that any trip away from the City should offer. Whether camping in a tent, a caravan, a swag or something in between or luxing it out in a beautifully appointed cabin, this place is for everybody. Winter or Summer there is nothing like waking up to the sounds of the waves hitting the rocks and a beautiful sunrise. Taking in the day as it comes whether that be jumping in the water, playing on the sand, reading a book, getting right back to nature and collecting your own firewood or taking a stroll along the walkways. If you do get an energy burst and choose to jump in the car there are some amazing spots and beaches throughout Kioloa and Bawley Point. 30kms North and you hit Ulladulla and 20km South and you are at Batemans Bay, both which house all your major supermarkets, banks and a local cinema as well as many tourist attractions. If relaxation is your thing then Merry Beach can offer that and more. Why pay expensive entry costs to zoos or wildlife parks when you can pat a kangaroo, feed a bunny and ducks and whale watch (during season) all whilst sitting in front of your tenat/camper. Excellent off peak rates, amazingly helpful and friendly staff, the opportunity to meet some great new friends in front of a fire and overall just a great place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My entire family went to stay in two beach front chalets... a large one and a small one. We had a verandah with ocean views and a BBQ on it, great for making egg and bacon breaky. The rooms all had a/c each and the interior of these stunning chalets was comfortable and stylish. It had everything, even two bathrooms (one a huge double shower) and a laundry. There is no phone or internet because the owners actually want you to RELAX. and you have no option but to do so. There is abundant wildlife.. giant lizards, birds that eat from your hand and kangaroos on the beach. It is stunning. The service is great too, the people are friendly and did I mention the incredible pool? It is like something out of a movie. Our family needed a place to come to as we were all coming to terms with a relative having cancer and it was just the right place to soothe us and remind us that there are some beautiful places to enjoy. Just look it up and be blown away by the beauty of the place.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newer chalets and you will get the best. Dont take one too near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Beautiful beach, we had great weather. Everyone one here seems very friendly and its very quiet in May. No phone or internet reception so you have to go to Bawley Point if that is a necessity, but why would it be when you are on holiday here!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We were wanting some quality family time where we could simply just enjoy spending time with our two young children (4 & 1). We didn't want to stay at an 'amusement park' (kids can play on swings & jump on trampolines at home) just a beautiful natural setting with nice beach. Merry Beach was exactly that. We arrived in the evening, staff who greeted us were courteous & friendly. Our standard cabin met our expectations and the kitchen was clean & well equipped. There was a tv which was sufficient for the amount of time it was used. We didn't use the pool (not with that beautiful beach on the doorstep) however it looked well maintained & clean. Our children loved riding their bikes around the park and seeing all of the different wildlife. It was a nice little walk to the general store & take away too. The beach is just beautiful and where we spent majority of our time. Merry Beach was exactly what we needed and we will return again one day. Thanks Merry Beach, we had an awesome time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We travel from Melbourne every year to stay here. Location, beach, people make this a great family holiday destination. Sites are big as are the cabins. Pool is quality, amenities cleaned twice daily and the staff are friendly. Roos roam thru the park which adds to the national park feel of the place. Pretty Beach just over the hill. This is a must visit when up this way, stunning beach! Highly recommend this park to any traveller.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Week after Christmas we stayed here on a powered site and had the best tuime - a beautiful beach with great facilities compeltely only for those who stay on merry beach it was well worth the stay and the local area bakery, seafood shop and fruit and veg that came aroudn made it so conveinent and not too over priced. Kids everywhere had a ball and would defientely go here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Merry Beach Caravan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merry Beach Caravan Resort

Address: 46 Merry Beach Road, Kioloa, New South Wales 2539, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kioloa
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Kioloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on stunning absolute beachfront, Merry Beach rests in the coastal heart of the 11,970ha Murramarang National Park. Relaxing with an abundance of wildlife and pristine scenery is your idea of a holiday look no further than Merry Beach. Merry Beach offers well-appointed cabins with ocean views, with a budget for everyone. Campers, choose en-suite, powered or unpowered sites directly on the beach, or with beach views, our camping sites cater for open fires. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merry Beach Caravan Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.