We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in puerto lopez” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hosteria Mandala

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Lopez
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hosteria Mandala
Save
You added Hosteria Mandala to your Saves list
Manabi, Puerto Lopez, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Puerto Lopez B&B and Inns
Westerlo, Belgium
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best place in puerto lopez”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We've been here as last stop in our tour through Ecuador. Great place, nice cabines and a very good restaurant. Service was very good, even a little onthe Italian way. They have a private beach on which you can relax and read in your hammock and forget the hectic world. We did also a visit to the Isla de la plata which was very good, together with the whale watching.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    64
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
62
171
24
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Locate di Triulzi, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We booked for 3 nights in Hosteria Mandala but the owners and the staff were so charming that we stayed one night more. The restaurant is really good (only for guests) and the garden is amazing. It has been one of the few times in our gap year that we felt like at home. For that i want to give a big thanks to Aurelio and Maya, the always smiling owners... we'll remember you forever!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I had a little bit of a tricky time finding the place but once I got there the Hosteria is a nice and unique place. They have covered parking and check-in was quick even without a reservation. English was spoken at the front desk, if you need it. Quite a few large dogs laying on the porch but they are harmless and I didn't hear them barking at night (which is quite common in Ecuador). The bungalow was clean with a very unique wood sink. I didn't get a chance to eat at the restaurant but it looked nice. The beach is directly across from the Hosteria and has a few touristy things to view. Sunset was gorgeous. Overall it was a nice, unique place at a good price and I would recommend staying at Hosteria Mandala when in the Puerto Lopez area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Walking into Hosteria mandala is amazing, from being greeted by there 5 beautiful dogs, to the amazing wood work and then finally being lead to your room through the amazing garden. The owners and staff are very nice and helpful. Very cool place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

This isolated garden of Eden could be the perfect place if all bungalows were independent. We happened to have one of the older one with a family with 3 kids as neighbors (I should say bungalowmates as they appeared to be sharing the same room) too bad for the nice quite in a luxurious environment. The restaurant serves great meals for a good value. Overall very nice spot to enjoy the sandy beach and some quiet time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This was our second visit to Hosteria Mandala. Last time was 18 months ago. Once again the staff was outstanding. The best I have experienced in Ecuador. Friendly, attentive, knowledgeable and helpful scheduling day trips, excursions and travel transfers. There were some handicapped improvements since our last visit, an accessible cabana, restroom in the main lodge, and a ramp that goes from the front of the Hosteria right down to the water’s edge.

The resturant has an outstanding breakfast and a very good selection for evening dinner. The Hosteria Manadala is always a safe bet for a good meal.

Hosteria Mandala is now our favorite vacation destination. The family has already asked me to plan another trip next year during Easter vacation week. PS, the grandkids love the dogs!

On a fun note, I have also added 20 pictures of the flowers and plants right outside our cabana. Check them out to see just how beautiful and special this property is.

Room Tip: For those that like the beach and swimming. January to May is best for warm beach weather. July wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We wanted to treat ourselves to a night of luxury. This was the place. It gave my young daughter and a a necessary day of rest. There is so much to do at the hotel. They have many games for the family, toys for my daughter and fun activities. My daughter especially loved playing all the instruments on the second floor at the main building.

They have a wonderful book exchange in various languages.

We enjoyed being able to relax on the grounds while my husband went on an all day scuba diving tour.

The rooms were large and clean. It was definitely a treat!

It is more expensive then the usual places we stay but well worth the splurge. Go ahead and book it. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hosteria Mandala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Mandala

Address: Manabi, Puerto Lopez, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Puerto Lopez
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Lopez
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Hosteria Mandala Hotel Puerto Lopez

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hosteria Mandala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.