We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dishes and juices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of the whale cafe

the whale cafe
main beach front street, Puerto Lopez, Ecuador
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 23 restaurants in Puerto Lopez
Cuisines: International
Restaurant details
London
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great dishes and juices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

A really great restaurant at the southern end of the malecon, great views of the bay with dishes to match. The menu was fantastic and the juices were absolutely superb. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    10
    9
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utila, Honduras
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
300 helpful votes 300 helpful votes
“highly recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

the whale cafe is highly recommended, it's second only to bellitaliano for dinning in puerto lopez. great fresh salads (rare in these parts), wholesome breakfasts and sandwiches, nice noodle dishes and without doubt the best pizza for many miles. the portions are really big but wisely most entrees are offered as a whole or half serving. the owners are very pleasant and the service is efficient. this was my second extended stay in puerto lopez and the whale has maintained the high standards i experienced on my previous visit.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drumheller, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stellar Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We enjoyed every meal that we ate here. It is overlooking the morning fish market, so we always had a great view. Good location, great food Highly recommend.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
766 reviews 766 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 179 cities Reviews in 179 cities
491 helpful votes 491 helpful votes
“wakey wakey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

A bit on the high side for price, but worth the extra for this hard to find real american breakfast experiance,also great book exchange like for like free programe scheme.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Lived in Puerto Lopez for two months and the Whale Cafe was where I went for local news and good food I KNEW wasn't going to make me sick! Owners are very nice and the breakfasts are ESPECIALLY good - try the banana pancakes. Easily one of the top places to go in the area. And they have pizza.

  • Visited August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the whale cafe also viewed

Puerto Lopez, Manabi Province
Puerto Lopez, Manabi Province
 
Puerto Lopez, Manabi Province
Puerto Lopez, Manabi Province
 

Been to the whale cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage the whale cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.