We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ISLA DE LA PLATA A BIRD SANCTUARY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isla de la Plata

Isla de la Plata
Machalilla National Park, Ecuador
Improve this listing
Type: Islands, Outdoors
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located only 17 miles off the coast of Ecuador, this island is encircled by many reefs that make it a popular destination for scuba divers and snorkelers.
Quito, Ecuador
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“ISLA DE LA PLATA A BIRD SANCTUARY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

One of the nest places for bird watching specially to observe the famous ones called BOBBIES.. some people relate this paradise with the galapagos islands but it is not the same because this Island is nota volcanic origin one.
to get there it is necessary to take a tour in mainland.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    46
    13
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Well Worth it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The ~90 mins boat ride to and back from the island was very rough, but the walking tour on the island was well worth it. We split the group into 2 - one walked the blue route and I joined the purple route. It's a lot of walking including climbing 175 steps, so wear comfortable shoes. We visited right after Christmas and saw many baby boobies, and the view over the cliff was amazing. The tour ended with snorking around the boat in the bay. The island is very clean and no garbage is allowed.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Poor Man’s Galapagos Puerto Lopez, Ecuador”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

In Puerto Lopez, a 4 hour bus ride from Guayaquil is a chance to see some of the world famous Galapagos Island animals for a fraction of the price. The posted price is $40 and the trip runs from 10 am to about 5:30 pm that includes a light lunch and coke (without the rum) and two tour guides. The boat held 16 tourist, 2 tour guides, and a two person boat crew. There are about 8 to 10 boats a day that take people to the island so you are in good shape to get a ride. This also helps keep a control on the number of persons on the island on any one day.
Keep in mind that you get what you pay for. Here we did see a lot of the Blue Footed Boobies (it was nesting season so new babies were just being hatched and birds were guarding their egg), some sea turtles, and got a chance to do some snorkeling only allowed in two spots around the island. Now, that part was not so good, but the swim was cool and refreshing. The boat supplies facemasks and snorkels but no fins. You do need a good pair of walking shoes, sunscreen, hat and water bottle.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antlers, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An Experience To Share With Family & Friends!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We traveled from Puerto Lopez to Isla de la Plata by boat. I think there were sixteen people on board plus a crew of four. The crew was wonderful, Johnny, the captain did a great job and made our ride very enjoyable and interesting. Sylvano, the tour guide who spoke English was very knowledgeable about everything on the Island and had a very outgoing personality. The crew furnished snacks going to the Island and returning to Puerto Lopez. We had a wonderful time on the Island, saw many blue footed boobies and their babies, the views from the cliffs were breathtakingly spectacular! Our family is very active and didn't have any problems with the length of the hike around the Island, however if you are physically limited or not used to walking steep steps, then you may want to stay at the main headquarters on the Island until the tour returns. After the tour of the Island, we had a fantastic time snorkeling on the reef near the Island and saw many beautiful and unique fish. We also saw several sea turtles that swam near our boat as we were getting ready to leave the Island. Our family enjoyed the entire trip but possibly the snorkeling was our favorite part.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

On our trip to Ecuador, we had the opportunity to visit Isla De La Plata. It was a nice day trip out of Puerto Lopez. The morning activity at the beach was the real draw for my wife and I. Just about every type of fish imaginable was being brought ashore, as the men on the beach made sure there was ice available to keep the day's catch fresh. People came from all around to bargain with fishermen, leaving with what they could carry. The trip to the island was nice, as all watched for the ever-elusive whales. The trails on the island were well marked, often with the bird guano which sometimes glints silver, giving the island it's name. Interaction with the Blue Footed Boobies are something that should not be missed.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isla de la Plata also viewed

Machalilla National Park, Manabi Province
Machalilla National Park, Manabi Province
 
Puerto Lopez, Manabi Province
 

Been to Isla de la Plata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isla de la Plata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.