We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Magical...out of this world!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Zuleta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hacienda Zuleta to your Saves list
Hacienda Zuleta
Angochagua, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Houston TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Simply Magical...out of this world!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

One of our best experiences in Ecuador...the Plaza family has done a magnificent job at maintaining the family's hacienda and the staff will tend to your every need....a true Zuleta tradition.
Thank you for making our stay at Zuleta a unforgettable experience. We felt right at home! We will certainly be back!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
65
15
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

We booked the Hacienda Zuleta on a bit of a whim after sailing in the Galapagos. We could not have chosen a better place to end our adventures in Ecuador. As soon as we set food within the stunning hacienda we were met with warm smiles, fresh juice and a roaring fire and this wasn't just on arrival. Every wonderful day, the fire was stoked, exotic juices were in the living room and the staff were smiley, friendly and happy. Rooms were comfortable and full of character. Each night the room was turned down, the fire lit and hot water bottles tucked lovingly under the sheets. Food was fabulous, the vegetables picked daily from the hacienda's organic garden, the cheeses brought from the onsite cheese factory and the oven baked trout straight from Zuleta's own trout farm. We didn't try the condor!! There is so much more I could write about, the fabulous walks with Fito the house dog, horse riding, milking the cows, bike rides.... i could go on. The warmth and hospitality of the Plaza family and staff was natural and genuine. We stayed for 3 fabulous days and genuinely didn't want to leave our home from home.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saint louis
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

We had a wonderful time at the Hotel Zuleta. We loved the drive through the countryside and the small towns to reach the isolated hacienda. The setting was fantastic and the views were beautiful. We had a terrific guided tour from Antonio and we were able to canter through the small town up to the peaks behind the hacienda. The service was very good and the food was excellent. We loved the feel of the main rooms-- charming and full of family photographs. Our rooms were nicely sized and my only complaint is the lack of charm in the rooms themselves. They were sterile and did not seem to fit with the rest of the hotel-- they appeared to be newly renovated and perhaps not all of the decorating was complete.
A definite must to see the beautiful area outside of Quito!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

Zuleta is truly a special place, all about family and feeling at home. Zuleta was the home of a former President of Ecuador and the hacienda is still owned and operated by his descendents. The rooms are named for family members and there are photos everywhere. It is this underlying family tradition that sets the tone - one does not merely stay at Zuleta; one experiences Zuleta. I can't say enough about the entire staff, but let me try. Beginning with Martha in reservations - we had to change plans several times and her patience was unending. Our transfers to/from Quito were punctual and Christian (the driver/guide) was knowledgeable and helpful. Laura and the aptly named Amable were always available to suggest and plan daily activities and meals or to simply sit down and chat about Zuleta, the local community, Ecuador or whatever other topic came up. Liliana and the other kitchen/dining room staff served delicious freshly prepared meals - always with a smile. If we had a special request - be it trout from the hacienda farm or cuy (guinea pig) - the dish would magically appear at the next meal. Fernando, the owner/manager, would enthusiastically explain the Zuleta philanthropic philosophy and describe the challenges of running a hotel business without sacrificing the feeling of family which makes the hacienda unique. Then there was Antonio, local guide and trainer of the exquisite Zuleta horses, the workers at the cheese factory and the milking sheds and on and on. And a special mention to Fito the dog - huge (part great dane) and friendly - who guided us on a hike; he seemed to know exactly where we were going and accompanied us for the entire three plus hours.
I could go on about the accomodations, the food, the activities, etc., but I think the other reviews have covered those areas accurately and I concur with the praise. What made Zuleta special for us was its people; they made us feel at home. We may no longer be at the hacienda, but the friendships will endure.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

We spent 5 nights of our honeymoon at Zuleta. We can't think of anything negative to say about it other than the bumpy ride on the cobblestone road leading to the Hacienda -- but even that added to the character of the trip. The food is specially prepared -- no menu, just a discussion over pre-dinner cocktails about what people are in the mood for. The accommodations are very clean, comfortable and cozy -- while perhaps not "plush" by Four Seasons standards, they were extremely nice, including the fireplace in the room and hot water bottles under the covers at night. The special touch is the contribution from the family members, with whom we would enjoy many meals and pre-dinner cocktails, as well as just seeing them and talking to them during the course of the day. Hearing their stories and learning more about the Hacienda made it all the more personal and special. On our last night, they prepared a special meal for us in our room -- a gesture that they made on their own. A very special place.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Rey, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

We concluded our travels in the Andes north of Quito with a wonderful four night stay at Hacienda Zuleta. There are several factors that made our Zuleta experience truly unique.
First is the spectacular pastoral setting in a beautiful valley surrounded by green mountains. We explored the area on hikes and on horseback. The Hacienda has nearly 80 horses in total for all levels of riding skill. The hiking routes are well marked and easy to follow. A favorite destination for us was the trout farm and condor project.
Staying at the Hacienda is not like a hotel, it is as though you were a guest in a friend's grand home. The bed rooms are simple but very comfortable with a nightly fire and hot water bottles in bed to keep things cosy. Family pictures abound in the beautifully furnished multiple living rooms providing a sense of history and warmth. Fresh flowers are everywhere. Honor bars are available for anytime refreshment and fireplaces provide warmth in the morning chill.
The third truly unique aspect of Zuleta is the staff and owner Fernando,who are always available in an unobtrusive and friendly way to help guests maximize their stay. We were taken on a tour of the Hacienda cheese factory, organic gardens, and chapel. Fernando, who dined with us one evening, gave us the history of the Hacienda and shared his passion for the future. Meal times and menus were flexible. The food and service were both excellent.
Hacienda Zuleta is great for families and kids, for groups, for couples, for solo travelers, for hikers, for horse people, or those just seeking total relaxation and a truly unique experience.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

THis hacienda is about a two hour drive out of Quito and the hacienda will arrange your transportation. We spent about two weeks in Ecuador, including a week in the Galapagos, and the two nights at the Hacienda were the high point of our trip. It's a country working hacienda with dairy cattle, a cheese factory, about 40 Zuleteno horses for riding. We're in our 70's and they arranged a buggy ride through the hills and ranchland for us The memory of horses hooves on cobblestones, seeing a newborn colt in the early misty morning, the color of the fields and mountains--unforgettable! The owners, decendents of two past Presidents of Ecuador, and their staff were exceedingly gracious, food was great, history was amazing. Rooms have fireplaces, views, luxurious! Owners support local industry of hand embroidery, an impressive condor restoration project. Other guests who went horseback riding saw not only condors but several of the endangered spectacled bears on their ride.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda Zuleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Zuleta

Address: Angochagua, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Imbabura Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Imbabura Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only two hours north of Quito, Hacienda Zuleta is a family owned, 2,000 hectare real estate with colonial buildings dating back to 1691. Situated within a tranquil and fertile valley between Cayambe and Ibarra, you will have the impression that you have traveled back in time. The expansive Hacienda Zuleta grounds include a working dairy farm, cheese factory, trout farm, horse stables and an beautiful organic vegetable garden where most of our food comes from. We also manage an Andean Condor Rescue Center and the Hacienda is surrounded by three beautiful Andean communities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hacienda Zuleta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Zuleta Hotel Imbabura Province
Hacienda Zuleta Ecuador/Imbabura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Zuleta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.