We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Hotel, disappointing breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Canto das Aguas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Canto das Aguas to your Saves list
Hotel Canto das Aguas
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Senhor dos Passos, 01, Lencois, State of Bahia 46960, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lencois
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Very good Hotel, disappointing breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

The location, the rooms, the distance from the city center, even the price/quality are all very good. For a strange reason breakfast is very disappointing. Although it is full of home made cakes, crepes ... everything is tasteless.

What a pitty ...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    53
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
36
100
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

A really magical location beside the river and a hotel with style, elegance and charm. Great food, lovely service. Hard to leave.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel. It is much more expensive than other hotels/pousadas in the area and our expectations were high.
The hotel is beautiful, located on a perfect spot on the river side. It has a nice pool and garden. The rooms were nicely decorated and we had a small balcony with a hammock overlooking the river.
Our main problem was with the hotel service:
It started with the fact that before arriving we asked the hotel for directions how to get there. They replied that they will send someone to the bus station to pick us up. No one came. The hotel is really close to the bus station but we didn’t know that.
There were many rules written giving us the feeling that we are at some youth guesthouse instead of a high class hotel. For example, at breakfast there was a board that specified some rules such as if a guest will be caught taking out food from the room then he will be charged by the items he took! Ok, people shouldn’t take out food from the dinning room but this shouldn’t be written on a board with a punishment result. The same was regarding drying your laundry on the balcony, bringing food to your room, bringing guests to hotel etc’.
Most of the staff didn’t know English and it didn't look like they were too keen to help, for example regarding taking tours in the area or finding a place to eat.
There is one computer station but every time we wanted to use it we had to ask for the receptionist to unlock the station which had a time limit. However, the hotel has a Wi-Fi connectivity which we used.
Breakfast buffet had big variety and was very good. We ate one time at the hotels’ restaurant and it was really good. However, there are plenty of places to eat in town - we enjoyed eating at “Fazendinha & Tal”.
To conclude – the hotel has some way to go regarding its service quality. Another thing to consider, as also pointed out by our tour guide, is that most of the day you are out on a tour, coming back late in the evening so you don’t have the time to enjoy the hotel. I think that if we’ll be back then we’ll choose a different place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

The location, rooms, pool, massage tents, aromatherapy scented reception, and beautiful buildings and gardens make this an amazing hotel a great base for exploring the national park.
The place is almost perfect, but our experiences in the restaurant bordered on comical, waiting times for service and food (waited about 30-45 minutes each time we dined just to get a menu). The dishes were massively hit or miss, either perfect modern cuisine or terrible mish-mashes of flavours and ingredients.
We would go back and stay there, the hotel overall was great, but we would just take the short walk into town to eat and avoid the faulty towers type restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

If your a planning to visit Chapada Diamantina, but is concerned about staying in one of the several low budget pousadas that are there, pick this hotel. Of course it will be more expensive, but you get all the confort you need after a day of trekking or biking. You can relax in the pool and in the steam room.

The hotel's restaurant is also very good. The breakfast is great and included in the price, but it's a good idea to have at least one dinner there as well.

The hotel is located by the side of Lencois River and just accross the bridge of the city center. Check the pictures at the hotel website, which has an english version.

  • Liked — The hotel location and surrounding area
  • Disliked — The steam room is not the best one I've tried
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2008

Canto das Aguas means "Music of the water", and this hotel is situated on a most beautiful river where the waters cascade down the granite waterway. I just want everyone to know what a wonderful hotel this is. The setting is beautiful, the staff friendly and helpful. Many of the staff are in the process of learning English, and are only too willing to try to speak it. The food is gourmet all the way. The focus of this hotel is treading lightly on the planet, while providing the best of everything. The original structure is from the late 1800 and was gutted and rebuilt reusing many of the original materials. The hot water is solar powered, recycling and composting is the way of things. And with all this "greeness" they have achieved a 5* hotel. The town of Lencois is a step back into history. It is colourful and interesting. I would encourage anyone to make the journey to this area. The Chapada Diamantini where Lencois is situated is a beautiful area

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2008

Unfortunately we only stayed briefly at Cantos das Aguas before leaving for a trek in the Chapada Diamantina National Park, if we return to Lencois we will definitely stay here again but next time for longer!

We arrived early in Lencois off the overnight bus from Salvador, the hotel let us check in early – a blessing after the long journey. Cantos das Aguas is situated right by the river, the sound of which is apparently sometimes so loud that staff in the open sided lobby have trouble hearing the phone ring! This was obviously not an issue when we booked as the process was seamless with good communication via email before our arrival.

We were given a choice of rooms and opted for one with a balcony overlooking the river. The room was clean, good size and tastefully decorated with mini bar, safe, TV & air-con.

The helpful staff at reception arranged for us to have massages later that afternoon in the massage tents located in the hotel gardens. With sound of the river – it was possibly one of the best locations I’ve ever had a massage, a real treat. Ask for Dieter, he gives an excellent Shiatsu, perfect for aching muscles after a trek! The hotel also organised our superb guide Carlos for the 3 day trek in the Chapada Diamantina.

Breakfast is a typical Brazilian buffet of fresh fruit, meats and pastries served in the open sided dining room with a view over the river. We also ate in the restaurant one evening, fantastic tempura to start with followed by one of the best shrimp Moqueca we ate during our stay in Bahia.

Outside of the main restaurant there is also a poolside bar that serves light snacks and yummy cocktails – the Caipra-fruita with fresh pineapple is very good.

We were able to leave our luggage at the hotel for the 3 days we were on our trek. On our return we had several hours before the overnight bus back to Salvador, the hotel allowed us the use of a room so we could take a much needed shower at a reduced rate.

This is a fantastic hotel with modern amenities and a few little luxuries in a superb location with very helpful staff.

  • Liked — The location, the massage, the service
  • Disliked — We didn't have enough time here!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Canto das Aguas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canto das Aguas

Address: Av. Senhor dos Passos, 01, Lencois, State of Bahia 46960, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Lencois
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lencois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Canto das Aguas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Canto das Aguas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canto Das Aguas Lencois
Hotel Canto Das Aguas Lencois, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Canto das Aguas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.