We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience staying in an artist's home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Estalagem Alcino

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lencois
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Estalagem Alcino
Save
You added Estalagem Alcino to your Saves list
139 Rua Tomba Surrao, Lencois, State of Bahia, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lencois
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A wonderful experience staying in an artist's home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

We couldn't have been luckier to have found Alcino's place in Lencois. All of the pousadas/hotels we stayed at in Bahia were excellent, but Alcino's was exceptionally memorable. Aside to the glorious and adventurous Brazilian breakfasts (that all guests rightly rave about), Alcino himself, the house, gardens and atmosphere makes this place a bonafide hidden gem. When we booked this from the UK i was slightly nervous that it would be a bit dark and dusty, but it was quite the opposite. Alcino makes pottery and tiles and the b&b is scattered with weird and wonderful sculptures. The b&b rooms are all on the ground floor and are traditionally decorated with crisp clean sheets and air cond. The water pressure in the shower is not great (as reported in an earlier review) but this didn't worry us. Alcino is a great character and was interesting to chat to; he organised our bus from Salvador to Lencois and was at the house to welcome us when we arrived, he also personally serves the breakfast in the mornings, but other than that he keeps out of guests way. Other guests ranged from Brazilians to Belgians. If you are heading to Lencois this is THE place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
17
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2009

This pousada was booked as part of or honeymoon that Dehouche arranged for us.

Although it was different to the hotels we had stayed in beforehand - it was so suited to the spirit on Lencois. So relaxed and friendly. Great location also to explore Lencois and the mountains. We also had Rony for a guide around the Chapada - he was brilliant.

And the breakfast! There was so much variety and different everyday. You literally could eat as much as you want and then some!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2009

We arrived at 5am on the night bus from Salvador and didn't expect we'd be able to check in straight away. The pousada is very close to the bus stop and centre of town so 5 minutes after the bus got into Lencois, we were in a comfortable bed catching up on some sleep. A pleasant surprise.

The breakfast was sensational - a big upgrade on the standard fare you get in most of Brazil. As we only had a couple of days in Lencois, we wanted to sort a guide straight away, which Alcino did for us and by 9.30am we were setting off to explore Chapada Diamantina with Rony - probably our best guide of the whole trip.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, NJ
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

We were excited when our travel agent at Dehouche surprised us with this gem. This place was found in all our Brazil travel books and we were excited for our trip to Lencois. Our room was spacious and clean with a private bathroom and shower. Other rooms in the house had shared bathrooms and were very nice as well.

The communal breakfast was above and beyond, dish after dish of wonderful treats appeared on the table each morning. Try everything in moderation or you might not be able to get up from the table.

The service was exceptional. The girls provided excellent juices or coffee upon your return from a long days adventure. Plus there are hammocks all around the grounds where you can curl up and relax.

This place is a must for your visit to Lencois.

  • Liked — Comfort of home away from home.
  • Disliked — The water pressure.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Estalagem Alcino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estalagem Alcino

Address: 139 Rua Tomba Surrao, Lencois, State of Bahia, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Lencois
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lencois
Number of rooms: 340
Also Known As:
Estalagem Alcino Lencois, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estalagem Alcino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.