We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Pousada” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada Canto No Bosque

Save Saved
You added Pousada Canto No Bosque to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pousada Canto No Bosque
Loteamento Parque Do Ribeirao | Altina Alves,Caixa Postal 10, Lencois, State of Bahia 46960-000, Brazil   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 35 Lencois B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Pousada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

We had an absolutely great 3 day stay in Canto no Bosque. My wife didn't feel well and we had to change the original plan of booking a multiday hike so we got to stay longer in the Pousada. We enjoyed it anyway thanks to the super friendly staff, the good restaurant and the tranquility of the place. They also let us check in early on arrival and late on departure. The breakfast is really good too.
The Pousada is a a good 15 min walk uphill from the town, but the owners will drive you back and forth anytime you need, so this by no means a con.
Recommended to all!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PousadaCantonoBosque, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada Canto No Bosque, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Hello!

thank you so much for your recomendation and the cheers.

All the best for you

Emiliano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    33
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
76
20
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The owners are super nice and attentive. After booking we were in email contact that someone would pick us up from the bus station. When we spontaneously decided to take an earlier bus it only took an email to let them know and we were met right on time. Later on we got a lift back to the village (although it's only a 10min walk) and and a pick up service for after dinner!
The breakfast is wonderful, a lot of joice is available and you sit in a wonderful garden. Also the wifi is working very well in the breakfast area (not in our room though).
The pool looks inviting altough we didn't have time to try it!
Overall a very pleasant stay!!
Oh, and my friend got her laundry done. It was cheap, fast and the clothes were clean!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PousadaCantonoBosque, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada Canto No Bosque, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Hello Elisabeth!

thanks so much for your review in our page, that´s a pleasure for us to give this attention.

Emiliano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Ticino, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

- location:
the place is a 10-15min walk to the city center and like someone else said, it feels strange to walk it, though i doubt that ever anything happened to tourists there. and you can get a ride whenever you need one.
the upside of this location issue is that you are at the beginning of the forest. lie in one of their hammocks and you feel the tranquility and harmony of nature around you, hearing the sounds of the forest. i prefer that much over being in the city center. but that's very subjective, of course.
and there's also the 40min trail to the Ribeirao do Meio (google for images), a beautiful place with a natural water slide, small warm ponds and whatever else. but better try not to drink the water there :)
here also starts the hike to the Cachoeira do Sossego.

- owners:
the owners, christel and jaziel, are a very nice german-brazilian couple. probably a good combination, brazilian warmth/friendliness and german organization/discipline :)
emiliano rounds it up with good english skills and a very helpful character.
you ask for something, you get it. if you don't ask, they try to read your mind :P
they give rides, help you finding tours, provide lunch packs and more (i add my own adventurous story to the end of the review)

- rooms:
from a european point of view the rooms were not perfect, one might expect/hope for maybe a little bit more. but i have seen other pousadas and "hotel" rooms, with higher prices and (partially much) worse interior. not perfect does not mean bad, btw: i personally felt pretty good in both of the two rooms i stayed in. and those were the cheapest ones (100R$).
the rooms were clean - unlike the rooms of two 3 and 4 star hotels in salvador....
for a perfect comparison to a (good) hotel, the only things i missed was a hair dryer and a more stable wi-fi connection :)

- other services:
there's a small swimming pool and a couple of comfy hammocks around the pousada.
besides that the pousada has its own restaurant, where you get breakfast and where you can also order food almost all the day.

- food:
breakfast imo was very good. the fruit juices were the best i had during my stay in brazil, and the home made cakes very tasty. fresh fruits are served and in general the selection is sufficiently big for a small pousada.
lunch/dinner had a good price/value relation, but though it tasted good, breakfast has the upper hand here.

- small proof of friendliness
i tried to book via the pousada's webform, but my message assumably never arrived. since it was not high season i thought that could find any place for stay in lencois if they don't have a free room for me. problem: i chose the only time in the year where there is a big music festival in town. christel could offer me a room for all nights except for one, where the pousada was overfilled, relatives and friends were staying over and sleepong in the owners' apartment, while christel and jaziel slept in their office. at some point christel said that she could make me a weird-sounding offer if i don't find anything else (i guess she didn't feel comofrtable suggesting this...): sleeping in a bed in their laundry room. for that one night i looked around a little bit and saw few other places. and truly, except for one they could not even closely compete with canto no bosque - furthermore, some had even a hard time competing with the laundry room!
in the end i accepted this offer and i didn't regret it. i moved the bed with emiliano into the room, christel brought a mosquito net and more. the night was great - fresh air, no mosquitos, there was even a toilet and a shower next to the room :)

- summary
i think the pousada earns its reputation for a reason. i can clearly recommend it if you want to stay in lencois.
two notes:
a) bring your own hair dryer
b) let them give you a ride (which they gladly do) to and from the bus station/airport, dragging your luggage through the red-dirt-road uphill is not the best experience..... :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PousadaCantonoBosque, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada Canto No Bosque, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Sebastian

I never saw a comment so rich in details and so organized like yours! Thank you so much for the feedback and for the cheers. And we really liked about the mind reading, that's a try to understand what you really are looking for.
At the next time you will see the bangalow, that ones are equiped with the hair dryer and they have better structure.
The internet here is not so good, really, we need a better net company in our small city.
Thanks for the recommendation too and regards from us

Emiliano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

A very nice place, out of town and right by the route to a little spring with natural water slide; watch out for your bathing-suite (~40min walk). The owners were very nice and picked us up from the bus station when we arrived very late at night.
On our first night we got the standard room and it wasn’t nice at all!!, we even thought to move to another pousada but then we changed to a bungalow (more expensive of course…) and it was very nice. The breakfast was very good.
The only problem is that it is 15min walk to the town, there is no road so you go in brown sand (don’t go in opened shoes!!) and if you go at night it’s dark and unpleasant….the owners do drive you to town and back if you ask them and really nice about it but we felt bad to ask them too much so we did this route many times.
Overall very nice place to stay and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PousadaCantonoBosque, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada Canto No Bosque, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Hello!

Thanks for your comment in our page, it's important for us.

Lamentably the atual mayor didn't work on this dirt road for the last four years and with no rain for 3 months it stayed more dry than the normal situation. But we are working on this with the new local mayor to improve in a short time and we are waiting, meanwhile, for a rain. We understand it and the distance from the centre so that's why you have the transfer included. You should not feel bad to ask for the transfer! We are prepared for this service and it's offered(for guests without a car) in our website, other internet sites that we have a page and when you arrive here. It's a pleasure for us, be sure.

Thanks for the recommendation and we will be happy to see you again here.

Emiliano Segatto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The owners are very sweet and attentive. The place is paceful and beautiful, the staff very friendly and the breakfast is superb. Also the restaurand offers great food at reasonable prices.
Thanks a lot for making our stay a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PousadaCantonoBosque, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada Canto No Bosque, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you so much for your words about us!

We really enjoy to help as much than we can and we appreciate your opinion about us. Our staff will know about your comment.

Regards

Emiliano Segatto, Pousada Canto no Bosque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I truly recommand this adress: you live in a little house with forest and plants around, very pleasant, especially when you come from a huge town.
The owners are very nice people and really care about their clients. Welcoming is perfect!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PousadaCantonoBosque, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada Canto No Bosque, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Anne Sophie

Thanks for your description about us. You two are really welcome!

regards

Emiliano Segatto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We were so impressed by the level of service at this lovely pousada. The staff were beyond helpful. The pousada itself is set in the middle of a forest, which is exactly what we wanted. We especially liked staying in a bungalow with our own private hammock out front. The pousada is not right in the town but it's a nice 10-15 minute walk to the center of Lencois. We did it during the day and at night and felt totally comfortable. The staff also offers rides into town if you prefer that. And on top of all that we had a world class caipirinha in their outdoor cafe -- perhaps the best one I had in all of Brazil.

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend a bungalow or a room looking out over the pool/forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PousadaCantonoBosque, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada Canto No Bosque, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Hello Basia!

Thanks for your comments about us, we aprecciate that you enjoyed our area and services. And to have the best caipirinha in Brasil that's a honor!

best regards for you and Juan

Emiliano Segatto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pousada Canto No Bosque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Canto No Bosque

Address: Loteamento Parque Do Ribeirao | Altina Alves,Caixa Postal 10, Lencois, State of Bahia 46960-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Lencois
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Lencois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Projected at a strategic point in the city of Lençóis at the beginning of the trails to two of the most frequented destinations of the city, which are: The Riberão do Meio (famous for its natural waterslide) and the Sossego waterfall with its exuberance. Pousada and Restaurant Canto no Bosque offers within its service: private parking for guests and clients, swimming-pool and kiddie-pool, restaurant with menu of regional and interregional food, room service and Wi-Fi for FREE and furthermore we buy your bus ticket for you and with 5% of discount for confirmed reservations. We will welcome you at the Lençóis bus station and also FREE transfer in and out of the city to the pousada during your stay. All of this so that you and your family can be in a beautiful and preserved garden in a completely peaceful environment listening to the sound of the gallant birds and contemplating on the beauty of the Fauna and Flora of this region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Pousada Canto No Bosque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Canto No Bosque Lencois, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada Canto No Bosque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.