We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended 100%!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Estancia don Joaquin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Estancia don Joaquin to your Saves list
Estancia don Joaquin
4.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Ruta 12 km 696, Esquina 3196, Argentina   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Recommended 100%!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed in the Estancia for a week in February, and it absolutely over-passed our expectations.
For what I have seen around, is the best place to stay in Corrientes. Wildlife is intact and everywhere. Food is delicious, healthy and good quality. The house is beautiful, comfortable and very clean! Host family, Angie and Diego were helpful, warm and fun all the time!
The best for me where the horse rides in the open fields and across the river.
Very safe environment for children. Our 1 year old daughter enjoyed interacting with horses, birds and massive frogs! The swimming pool was the perfect place to relax after after lunch.
I absolutely recommend it.
Duarte R.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeles S, Propietario at Estancia don Joaquin, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear family,
Thamk you very much for your review.We are so happy we have overpassed your expectations and that your lovely daughter had a great time too.We hope you keep on riding!Warmest regards.
Solanet Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
40
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We had read the good reviews before booking this estancia experience but were still overwhelmed by the warmth of our welcome and the attention to detail during our stay. Angie , Diego and the whole family made it feel like we were part of the family. The food was excellent and the accommodation couldn't be faulted. We are not experienced riders having only hacked in England but the well cared for horses were very responsive and this enabled us to learn very quickly along with the expert guidance from Angie and the gauchos . We enjoyed our stay so much we stayed on for an extra day despite having booked an expensive boutique hotel in B.A.
Very glad we did too.
We very rarely bother with writing reviews but we want others to enjoy this wonderful estancia as much as we did.

Room Tip: Don't worry they're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeles S, Propietario at Estancia don Joaquin, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Steve,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and sharing with others your experience at the estancia.We loved to hear we had fulfill your expectations and that you felt part of the family.
We hope to have you visiting us in the near future.
Warmest regards.
Angie Solanet and all Estancia Don Joaquin staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We are from Africa and have ridden horses in many countries but I don't think we have ever had such wonderful hospitality and such a warm welcome anywhere. The riding was excellent as was the birdlife. Angie and Diego really made us feel at home and took us fishing and to see capybara. The estancia is beautiful and comfortable with a lovely pool and large airy rooms.
We could not have had a better Argentinian safari!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeles S, Propietario at Estancia don Joaquin, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Deborah,
Thank you very much for your lovely review and the fantastic pictures you have have downloaded.I hope you are still riding and flyfishing in your new destination.
All the best from Argentina
Warm regards
Angie&Diego and all Estancia Don Joaquin staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenos aires
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is my second review about Don Joaquin but almost 5th time I keep on visiting year over year. We spent new year´s eve 2011-2012-2013 and spend the whole family an excellent quality time. The estancia looks beautifull in all seasons, and you never get tired of all the activities you can practice. Amazing horse riding for hours, fishing in the beautifull river Corrientes, Safaris where you can watch yacares, capivaras and lots of beautifull birds. The food is great and enjoying the pool in the afternoon watching the countryside is really pleasent. At night you can have a good sleep in stylish and comfortable rooms. During all our visits I have discovered and really recomend you to try and stay for al least four days and give yourself the chance to slow down and experience the real country lifestyle. The Solanet Family, owners of the estancia, are amazing and excellent hosts, best ambassadors of gaucho and agentinian culture. In the Ibera Region this is the best place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeles S, Propietario at Estancia don Joaquin, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Dolores,Alfredo,Manuel and Simon,
Thank you for your amazing review. For us is a great pleasure to have you with us all the year and to share as "family members"Happy New during the last 5 years.I have many memories in my soul ,but the strongest is to see how the kids are growing so fast and how their riding have improved so much.It s a honour and a priviledge for us to be our guests at our home.We are looking forward to see you in the near future.
Warm regards
Angie,Diego,Josefina,Ramon and Diego Solanet and all Estancia Don Joaquin staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent 5 nights here. The opportunity to do this was so unique and we will do it again in Argentina. The first few days of our trip was sunny and pure pleasure. We saw so much more than we expected lots of wildlife, spring calves and foals. Went with gauchos to lassoo and vaccinate newborns. Highlight was herding horses to rotate the ones the guests use. Working with the gauchos was our highlight.

The next few days rained which was great for the estancia as they need it, but sadly it meant it was actually a bit boring. A day would be fine but 3 days left nothing else to do so we left a day early. (There is a casino in town but my wife wouldn't let me go!) Fishing isn't permitted in November. You can still ride with ponchos but little cantoring and nothing looks good in the rain!

Food, gauchos and hosts are lovely really friendly and always checking you are ok. If you want to become better at riding it helps to know a bit of Spanish as the gauchos don't speak much English. Explain to Angie beforehand what you want from the holiday so she can tailor it for you which she is happy to do.

Only complaint about the gauchos is that within minutes of arriving I walked nearby and picked up a 2 litre empty plastic bottle to put in the rubbish...felt pretty stupid as I realised it was the gauchos throwing away the plastic and glass medicine bottles! Call it cultural difference if you like but long term they are shooting themselves in the foot.

Thank you to you all at Don J for such a unique holiday!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeles S, Owner at Estancia don Joaquin, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Ugo,
Thank you very much for your review.We are glad that you spent a unique holiday at the estancia and that you have shared with the gauchos nice ridings and beatifull wildlife.Is a shame last two days were rainny.
Warm regards
Angie Solanet and all the Estancia staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barranquilla, Colombia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I visited Don Joaquin with my boyfriend after searching all over the internet for a true estancia experience with a family style and they didn't dissapoint me!

Angie and her family are amazing and will make everything they can to make you feel at home. Food is awesome, the rooms are beyond comfortable and the horseback riding is memorable with breathtaking scenery! It's lovely to share with such wonderful horses (I fell in love with Coquito, the oldest one) and great gauchos (Tito, Jose and Fabián) who will take care of you. Our nights were filled with stories, music and cultural exchange.

After 4 days at Don Joaquin it was time to return home, but I felt I was saying goodby to great friends and even family. I can't wait to visit them again.

If you ever have the chance to go there, PLEASE DO! Thanks Angie, Diego, Ramon and Jose for the best vacations ever.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeles S, Owner at Estancia don Joaquin, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Google Translation
Querido Johanna,
Estamos muy felices que hayas pasado unos dias increibles en la estancia.Para toda nuestra familia fue un gusto enorme compartir contigo estos inolvidables cuatro dias.Te esperamos pronto.Un saludo cordial desde Corrientes.Flia Solanet y el equipo de Estancia Don Joaquin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashurst, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Wow! This is just the most amazing place for a holiday with the most attentive and sociable hosts, most spectacular scenery and the most responsive horses I have ever ridden and am ever likely to ride again. If you are pondering about whether you should make your booking or not, just do it, you will not regret that decision.

I travelled with a friend who needed to get away after a difficult time. I have been very happily married for 20 years and to go away without my husband was a pretty radical decision but this holiday did not take his fancy and he knew I would benefit from time away from my very high pressure job and the chance to spend a chunk of time with my dear friend and how right he was. I really did have the time of my life and gradually relaxed, chatted and laughed more and more as the days passed by. I am still feeling the benefit (and still smiling at my memories) 3 weeks after returning despite being back into my frenetic life and as a result of various discussions with the hosts Angie and Diego and other guests who were shocked at my working life or "suicide job" (as Jonass described it) have reset my alarm clock and so far have not arrived at work before 07.00 which is huge progress for me.

I have travelled throughout Australasia and never had an experience such as that which I experienced at Estancia don Joaquin. Angie and Diego are the most attentive hosts imaginable and just want to please, so do tell them if you want to change your horse, take a trip to down, or fancy a picnic ride, I even saw them booking other visitors flights, buses and hotels for the next leg of their holidays. They even noticed that I was a bit subdued at one point (missing my husband and not able to phone or text as no signal), and they immediately gave me their phone and said "phone him", and just hearing his voice put a smile back on my face and happily off riding again. They really should get an award for their warmth and hospitality.

The rooms are lovely and the beds SO comfy, I slept incredibly well. The food is fantastic and unlimited, as is the wine, beer, coke and water. The boat ride gave me an adrenalin rush I was not expecting and the fish we bought off some fishermen we passed tasted like nothing I have eaten before with a delicious salad. The rides out each day (twice a day) were exhilarating with so much beauty all around and other wildlife to spot. We could set the speed of rides and walk or canter freely dependent on what we fancied and what our sore bums and legs could cope with. And yes, you are likely to be a bit sore but its worth the pain and by day 3 it passes!

We booked for 5 days riding and 3 days spa, to rub any pain away at the end. The facials, pedicures and massages were excellent (Diego collected the therapists and brought them to the Estancia for our treatments). But even on our spa days we rode twice a day, we couldn't get enough of it. Rounding up 800 cattle with their calves and driving them 5 miles back to the Coral, making sure that none broke away was a highlight for me as was the picnic ride on our final day. We were out for 6 hours and stopped to eat under a tree. Fabien and Tito (our ever attentive Gauchos) served us lunch before they and in time the four "tourists" were lulled to sleep to the sound of birds singing and cattle lowing.

My friend had her birthday while we were there. We returned from our morning ride to lunch, another amazing BBQ of serious quality sirloin steak, salad, tomatoes and mozerella, then pudding - and out came a massive birthday cake with flowers and a candle. There followed another special moment when happy birthday was sung in Spanish, English, and German followed by solo by Ugo the lone Italian. We thought that was it and that we could get on and cut the cake, when another guest German this time, burst into song again "For she's a jolly good fellow!" Special times with special people.

The only downside is the 36 hours travelling time it takes to get there! But one day, I am sure I'll be back and hopefully with my husband next time. This place is special. Go and feel it for yourself.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeles S, Owner at Estancia don Joaquin, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Nick,
Thank you very much for your lovely review.We feel really happy that you have had such a great experience at Estancia Don Joaquin.We will never forget the great moments we spend together laughing,sharing cultures,horse riding and our interesting talks.We hope you come to visit us next time with your husband.We send you a big thank you from Angie and Diego and all Estancia Don Joaquin Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Estancia don Joaquin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia don Joaquin

Address: Ruta 12 km 696, Esquina 3196, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Corrientes > Esquina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Esquina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Estancia don Joaquin 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estancia Don Joaquin is a traditional and genuine family cattle working ranch in Argentina.We offer to our guests different horse ridings,rural farm activities,wildlife safaris and flyfishing and spa programmes.All our programmes are all included and customized packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Estancia don Joaquin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estancia Don Joaquin Argentina/Esquina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estancia don Joaquin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.