We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“somewhat basic but good value, clean and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant y Hotel Calakmul

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Xpujil Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Restaurant y Hotel Calakmul
Save
You added Restaurant y Hotel Calakmul to your Saves list
Highway 186, Xpujil Town, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Xpujil Town
Edinburg, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“somewhat basic but good value, clean and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

In preparing for our stay in Xpujil, I had read several earlier reviews of various hotels. I'm glad we ended up here. Although the room was small and a bit dark, it was quite clean (including the bathroom), and well-cooled by the air-conditioner. We did not have a problem with road noise, which others have mentioned. There were a few trucks, but the hotel is set back and somewhat screened from the road, and the AC provided white noise (latter would not be on in cooler weather). I would have given it 3 stars, but at a price of 500 pesos ($41-42 dollars) per night, plus the convenient and good restaurant, I felt it provided quite good value. There was an on-site parking attendant, which was nice, and the staff were helpful (the waiter one day seemed a bit distracted, and we had to work to get his attention). We spent most of our time at the ruins, and found this hotel to be very convenient and comfortable. It doesn't have a resort feeling, but then we didn't want that...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    16
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
26
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Oregon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We found the accommodations to be decent. The beds were a bit too stiff and the rooms were a bit stuffy. The food at the restaurant was fantastic and the staff was all very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

...the bathrooms at the local Mayan ruins are cleaner than the bathrooms in your hotel. Really, this was our experience at Restaurant y Hotel Calakmul. This hotel has so much potential, and it used to get great reviews but maybe the management is suffering from being too popular.

The rooms would be great if only they were cleaner. Our room had two double beds, a small closet and a TV (which we never used). But it needed a good scrubbing. It was one of those places where you are grateful for the clean sheets but you don't want to touch too many surfaces. There were thick layers of dust and smears of grime everywhere, and some previous guests had stuck their airline luggage tags to the closet, and no one had ever pulled them off.

The hotel's method of cleaning the toilet seemed to be to dump a bunch of cleanser on the seat and into the bowl and then just leave it. The first time this happened, we thought they must have been in a rush to get the room clean. But the next day the toilet was left exactly the same way: as a wet and nasty seat with bowl full of some kind of cleaner. The "bathmat" in front of the shower looked like a rag that had been used to clean the floor. The shower had plenty of hot water, but the shower head was so dodgy that the water sprayed all over the place.

We had mixed experiences at the restaurant. One morning breakfast was good and came promptly. The next, we got our breakfast in fits and starts, and after twenty minutes, never got any instant (!) coffee. We went to the truck stop across the street and had steaming cups of instant coffee after waiting only for the water to boil.

I hope the guidebooks that rated this place so highly revisit it soon and revise their recommendations. I don't know if there are any good alternatives to this place in Xpujil: it's OK for a couple of nights but take your shower shoes.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We stayed here for one night when we went to Calakmul. It is thirty minutes driving time to the turnoff to Calakmul. The rooms were ok, clean nothing special. The windows are screens with wooden hinged slats that do close and lock, but are not sound proof. Since it is right on the highway, the trucks driving through in the middle of the night can be quite loud along with the chickens that start crowing at 10:00PM at night and continue through the night. We paid $35 for the room so we have no complaints. The restaurant was very reasonable and very tasty. We would stay here again if traveling along the highway.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

This hotel has everything you need to serve as your "basecamp" for exploring Calakmul and the other area ruins. It appears to be the best deal in town. It's clean, quiet, has air conditioning and has a decent restaurant. If you don't have a car it makes more sense to stay in town where you are near numerous taxi drivers who are anxious to deal with you for transportation to the ruins.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

We got a little cabin wich is cute but was not really bug-proof and clean... But the bathroom is clean and have hot water. Mastress is good... but there's a dog barking non-stop. It's just outside town so it's better with a car... and anyway it's better going there with a car. They don't really try to help you with activities or try to speak english... they also lost our reservation but no problem, this is not full at all even in high season. Restaurant have good price, and way better service then the one in the hotel in town. Overall it's good for the price.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

My wife and I stayed here in January 2010. We think it is the best place in town, and it is in easy striking distance of many all the sites. The staff is very conscientious and patient. The rooms though smaller in size are clean, and the beds are good. It is a great family run hotel with loads of atmosphere.
The hotel did NOT use toxic smelling cleaning agents or any artificial air “fresheners”, which can cause headaches, stinging eyes and much more dreadful, long term conditions. For that we were very, very grateful
It also gets really booked up making it important to book ahead. A little Spanish is also very helpful. We do not remember seeing any banks or ATMs. So be sure to come with cash. It is very easy to arrange transportation to the sites on your own or through the hotel. I would just insist on a slow ride through Calakmul in order to see animals. It is well worth the effort to go there. Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Restaurant y Hotel Calakmul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Restaurant y Hotel Calakmul

Address: Highway 186, Xpujil Town, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Campeche > Xpujil Town
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Xpujil Town
Number of rooms: 34

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant y Hotel Calakmul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.