We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cabier Ocean Lodge

Save Saved
You added Cabier Ocean Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cabier Ocean Lodge
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Crochu Road 1 | Cabier Beach, Crochu, Grenada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Crochu B&B and Inns
Carriacou Island, Grenada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Although, we did not stay at the resort, we took a drive to visit and have lunch. While touring north from St. George on the East Coast take some time to enjoy a lovely lunch of a French tart and fresh green salad, and do not forget a glass of wine. The grounds are lovely, full of exotic flowers, cactus and fruit trees. Perched atop a bluff overlooking the sea, the trade winds keep you comfortable. The accommodations looked lovely. You will also meet some animal friends with Judy, a Grenadian Mon monkey at the top of my list. Also learn about native animals , lovely donkeys and parrots.
The best part of our visit was meeting Florence, who took care of our very need and was a delight to talk to....she is a true gem!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    22
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
55
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My wife and I returned recently from Grenada, we stayed at Two Bays Villas from June 2, 2013 to June 16, 2013. My brother was with us as well and he stayed at Cabier, I don't want to speak for him but he did say he enjoyed it very much. One of the biggest reasons we chose to stay here was of course the reviews of Two Bays and Cabier Ocean Lodge. I have to say the reviews are entirely accurate, we chose to have Bruno and Iris and all the wonderful staff at Cabier manage most of our meals. The location of Cabier and Two Bays is perfect, just far enough away from the busy towns, but still manageable to get in when we needed to shop. This was our second time in Grenada, last time we stayed in the Grand Anse area, this time we prefered the quiet, relaxed and completley beautiful Two Bays/Cabier.
I can't say enough about the amazing food we ate, tuna quiche, tiramisu, cream of cauliflower soup, mahi mahi, callaloo soup, flaming kabobs, ribs, too many to list.... Bruno is a very accomplished chef, with a very good knowlege of local foods and spices as well, Iris prepared a few of our delicious meals as well, and we were never ever disapointed. We were told Bruno might posssibly make the best Callaloo soup on the Island, I can't say for sure because I have not tried them all. Having said that, there is no need to... I hosnestly doubt one could make better Callaloo.
We were treated to a few excursions, our guide, Bruno, knows his way around the island. We hiked in to Seven Sisters Falls, and would go again in a heartbeat, it is a bit of a hike, but so worth it. The cool water is very welcome after the journey in. He also invited us to join him on a Hash, another first for us, there is nothing like hiking up a mountain, though the jungle in the tropical heat - truly amazing, and the meal and beers were a very nice treat afterward. Other stops included, the Belmont Estate, The Nutmeg processing plant in Gouyave, and a nice lunch at a beachside resturant. We took in the lobster cruise with Shadowfax, stellar! I have always wanted to pull into Hog Island anchorage on a catamaran. I also attended Fish Friday in Gouyave with my brother, I was able to try lambi for the firs time. The sense of comunity and friendship really is a pleasant surprise.
I think we were somewhat adventurous, we walked around the area a fair bit, and rode the mini busses from Crochu into St. Georges, as well as Grand Anse. We felt very safe, and smiles are everywhere, Grenville has a nice little grocery store there, we were able to find pretty much anything we needed. There are a few small pharmacies there as well which proved heplful.
To close, we chose Two Bays Villa because of the private pool, and we did not use the optional air conditioning, though some nights it would have been nice. The Villa was nice and there was enough kithcen items to make a few lunches. The view is amazing, and it does feel like home, not a hotel room. Nick Hamilton, the owner, was very helpful, through e-mail corespondence he provided us with lots of information and answered all our questions promptly. We chose the off season to go because we don't care for crowds, and we were rewarded with the whole pace to ourselves. Talk about feeling VIP, Bruno and Iris are wonderful, caring hosts who made our trip even more special. At the risk of exposing Cabier and Two Bays to crowds of people, we are certain that we could not have had a better trip. If you prefer a quiet, natural, beautiful vacation, I recomend you check it out.

Bryan and Donna
BC Canada

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The accommodation at the Two Bays Studio was excellent and of the standard we had hoped for. The pool made for a relaxing place to cool off, whilst the peace, tranquility and views all added to the chill out experience.

This alone would have been good enough, but the welcome we got from Iris, Bruno and the family made it all the better. Great food and excellent service meant we stayed at Cabier for diner more often than planned. What a great place to come and relax and we hope to return many times again.

Room Tip: Ask Iris, or Bruno to book you a hire car too. It's much easier and probably cheaper too. They w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

B&B, restaurant and Eco petting zoo - what more could you want? Oh, and it's on the beach, food is very reasonable, and the staff friendly and helpful. We ate there several times and the meals are French/ creole and very high standard. We stayed at the Two Bays apartments which we would also recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alderney
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed for 11 days after two weeks in Carriacou which we found very relaxing. The drive there was a bit unnerving, as it was late, and Grenada does not do signposts. When we arrived and had settled our bags into our room, we headed for the bar and rum punchs. The meal that night was kebabs, served in a vertical skewer with delicious sauces and vegetables to match.
The meals remained at that standard throughout our stay. Breakfasts were available but as our room had basic cooking facilities, we prepared simple breakfasts and lunches for ourselves. This was helped by the wonderful fruit and freshly prepared bread available from roadside stalls and shops.
The room was large and airy with a fan and AC, and a spacious balcony overlooking the beach.There was plenty of cupboard and drawer space, as well as a large double bed with mosquito net, and another sigle bed, useful for laying out suitcases for packing.
We had lovely dawns, but as the bay is on West side, the sun goes down over the mountain behind the usual big clouds up there. The only hangup was that we only had sun on the balcony in the eqarly morning and late afternoon, but as there were loungers out on the beach and on the garden on the headland, there was plenty of sunbathing opportunities.
The room was serviced every morning, and there was a a hot shower in the bathroom.
The bays look beautiful, and apart from the floating weed on the edge, provides wonderful swimming, and occasional basic body surfing. There was a regulr breeze from the sea which helped to keep us cool.
The service was excellent, with Iris and Bruno making us very welcome. I loved the huge beaming smile of Cindy, who was always chatty, and made some excellent cocktails.
One slight hangup was that we were there over the Easter weekend, which meant that on Easter Sunday and Monday there was a big local party on the beach involving non-stop rap and local music, loud enough that it was most difficult to escape the thundering beat. But none of this was the fault of the Lodge.
If you like a peaceful getaway with good food and good ssafe swimming, then it is the place for you. hire a jeep, as the access road is 'interesting' and when you get bored with doing nothing, there are places areound to visit.

Room Tip: Difficult to say as we didn't see inside all the rooms, but they all have big balconies. Take a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks Kent
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

The five stars do need some qualification. If your expectations include TV, entertainment, polished modern surfaces, slick presentation, easy access to sophisticated nightlife, you would not award 5 stars to your stay here.  However, if you are delighted by natural beauty, seclusion, excellent food, warm helpful and generous hosts and staff, and some exposure to the real Grenada, then you could not ask for a better place to stay.  We stayed in Bayside studio and appreciated the small pool which we shared with 2 neighbours. On our first day, Bruno took us and another couple up into the rainforest to swim in the waterfalls, showing us all the local spices and flora with the enthusiasm of both a professional cook and a genuine lover of the island. We then visited one of his friends, a Grenadian with a smallholding up in the hills.  It was one of the most memorable days of any holiday we have had.  We spent 4 days here and just relaxed, swam (the beach is excellent), snorkelled, and explored a bit on foot and by car. (The East coast is very undeveloped but very beautiful, and the Atlantic breakers do not reach much of the shoreline because of the reefs in the big bays).  Warmly recommended to those like ourselves who are very happy with accommodation that is clean and spacious but maybe a little frayed around the edges. 

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Yes, my room was very basic and rustic, and the bathroom sure saw better days, but the bed was comfortable, the view from the private balcony breathtaking, and the staff from gardener to management as sweet, helpful and fun as can be. Cabier Ocean Lodge has only a few rooms, so you get known to the staff and other guests quickly. The beaches are more or less private - on the left of the peninsular mainly for swimming, on the right for snorkling -, and although they are not the biggest with the whitest sand, they are secluded and great to swim. The inhabitants of the local village, Crochu, who come to swim in the evening or over the weekend, are friendly, polite and pleasant to talk to. - The hotel manager also offers tours over the island for a very reasonable price, which is a great opportunity explore the island. He knows everybody and is well liked and respected, which gives you inside of the islanders' lifes you wouldn't get with big sightseeing groups. It is a bit challenging to drive yourself: The streets are narrow and often very steep, and, of course, they drive on the left! - The hotel manager is also a wicked chef! Dinners are very private, prepared exclusively for the announced number of guests. There is no menue, but one 3 course dinner (and he didn't repeat himself once in a fourtnight!) every night, prepared with locally available foods. And it is delicious!
If you want to get away from it all - noise, traffic, stress, internet, and telephone - this is the place to go to! I do have to point out, though, that I was, indeed, the only guest without cell phone and laptop. Most guests bring these electronics, no one complained about bad cell phone reception, however, the internet, sometimes, had its own working hours :-).

Room Tip: Opt for the highter quality rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cabier Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabier Ocean Lodge

Address: Crochu Road 1 | Cabier Beach, Crochu, Grenada
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint Andrew Parish > Crochu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Crochu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabier Ocean Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our exclusive hideaway is peaceful and quiet, situated on a stunning rocky outcrop between two secluded bays. Our intimate Lodge offers 10 bedrooms including a Vila, Studios, Apartments. Grenada's average daily temperature of 31° C (87°F) combined with a sea breeze is very suitable for spending a relaxed Caribbean holiday. No special vaccinations necessary. Our sandy beach is kept clean and bathing is safe for children with good swimming and offshore reef protecting it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Cabier Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabier Ocean Hotel Crochu
Cabier Ocean Lodge Grenada/Crochu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabier Ocean Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.