We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely historical home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Thorndyke Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Bank
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Thorndyke Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The Thorndyke Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
33 Water Street, Grand Bank, Newfoundland and Labrador A0E 1W0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Grand Bank B&B and Inns
Peterborough, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely historical home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

This house has significant historical value and the room we had was lovely and comfortable. The only disapointment was that we could not get much information on the local sights and had to go downtown for our breakfast which was covered.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    14
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
27
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I did the requisite "due diligence" on accommodation in and near Grand Bank. Consequently, I elected to stay two nights in the lovely "Dorothy Melita" room at the Thorndyke. My choice could not have been better. This historical residence harks back to the great sea captains' houses at the turn of the century. It is warm, cozy and beautifully maintained. As a plus, the cuisine is some of the finest you will find in Newfoundland.

The real charm of the Thorndyke, however, is the gracious hospitality of the hosts, Colleen and Glynn. They are simply wonderful in extending a warm welcome to weary travellers. You simply cannot go wrong choosing the Thorndyke. It is superb in every way.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

comfortable and friendly service.
rooms are ok, bathrooms dated. More than made up for in the service and hospitality. dinner is only 5 star in the Burin peninsula - don't miss it. they only serve non guests on the weekend. Try to be there in time for the sunset, spectacular views.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

On very short notice, Colleen and her staff (family) accommodated our group of 14 traveling senior French students enroute to St. Pierre! Merci!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Fourteen of us, heading to St. Pierre, were stranded in Grand Bank because the ferry was cancelled due to bad weather. They say, when you are given lemons - make lemonade! And that we did. Colleen, Glynn and Josh accommodated us for dinner at the spur of the moment. The prime rib was tender and delicious and the desserts, devine. We throughly enjoyed our dinner but more importantly, our hosts were engaging and lovely - and that made us very welcome. Thank you Colleen, Glynn and Josh - continued success! I recommend Thorndyke B&B for people wishing to experience history and culture.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
570 reviews 570 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 191 cities Reviews in 191 cities
330 helpful votes 330 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Built in 1917, this is a quirky old house, with a few draughts here and there, especially in the en suite bathrooms. However, the welcome is warm, and the breakfast tasty. The owners were a bit vague on the ferries to St. Pierre, so do your own research beforehand. The Newfie ferry is tiny, and dives up and down on a windy crossing like a bucking bronco. Yes, some passengers were sick. Try and get the huge, stable French government ferry.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

I stayed here three nights in August 2011. Colleen, Glynn & Josh couldn't be nicer folks. The Thorndyke is a beautiful, restored fishing captain house built in the early 20th Century. Very comfortable. Your hosts do whatever it takes to make it a first class experience - whether it's getting up and making breakfast sandwiches for the early ferry to St. Pierre, or drinks on the Widow Walk watching fireworks during the Grand Bank Summer Festival. They'll even screech you in if necessary!

Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Thorndyke Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thorndyke Bed and Breakfast

Address: 33 Water Street, Grand Bank, Newfoundland and Labrador A0E 1W0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Grand Bank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Bank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Thorndyke b&b
The Thorndyke Hotel Grand Bank
The Thorndyke Bed And Breakfast Grand Bank, Newfoundland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Thorndyke Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.