We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't get a seat” 1 of 5 stars
Review of White House Bakery & Restaurant

White House Bakery & Restaurant
104 Buffalo Dr, Wasagaming, Manitoba R0J 2H0, Canada
(204) 848-7700
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Wasagaming
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Couldn't get a seat”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Would love to rate this restaurant - the smells coming out from it were fabulous ! However - at 11 a.m. on a Saturday morning there was not a seat to be had and we were a group of four adults and two children. It sounds like line-ups and long waits are not unusual. Perhaps they need to separate the take-out business from the restaurant business.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    22
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Busy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We ate a late breakfast at the White House Bakery. The service was fairly slow as the servers were busy but the food was delicious. The take-out line for the cinnamon buns was quite long but people seemed quite happy to wait.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Service, Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My Friends and I visited the Whitehouse for our annual cinnamon buns! As usual there was a line up but we are always willing to wait. Cinnamon buns as expected were fantastic, and our breakfasts were great. We received everything in a timely fashion, and the servers were always trying their hardest with a smile to get us anything our table needed. As was appreciated as we were a bit dehydrated. Will be back next year! Can't wait!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“They need more cooks in the kitchen!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

It was busy. The food and service were terrible. Got an omellette. The cheese had not melted and the vegetables were raw. Spent $50 (tip incld) for 3 on a breakfast !!!
The only reason I will go back is for a cinnamon bun or coffee.....if I feel like waiting in line

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
342 reviews 342 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
“An okay breakfast stop, but nothing spectacular”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is one of the most popular spots in the Riding Mountain National Park, based in large measure on the fame of their cinnamon buns. The line-ups every morning are a testament to the degree to which this is a local institution. We found the buns over-rated -- tasty but not spectacular. The breakfast were pretty standard -- abundant food, but nothing particularly unique. So, if you are looking for a breakfast or a quick lunch, the White House Bakery and Restaurant will serve well. But do not get your hopes up to high -- the food is just "okay" - and the crowds and delays undermine the experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White House Bakery & Restaurant also viewed

Wasagaming, Manitoba
Onanole, Manitoba
 
Wasagaming, Manitoba
 

Been to White House Bakery & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White House Bakery & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.