We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riding Mountain National Park

Riding Mountain National Park
135 Wasagaming Drive, Wasagaming, Manitoba R0J 2H0, Canada
204-848-7275
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We spent a week here in August at the Wasagaming Campground which is very big rig friendly. No problems navigating our 38ft 5th wheel around the park or getting into our spot. HUGE, pull thru gravel sites in the electrical and full hook up sections, some more level than others. Good amount of trees/shrubs between sites for privacy. The sites in the water and electric section weren't as private and most sites there seemed better designed to accommodate smaller RVs, tent trailers and tents. There's also a good # of sites with no services that would meet a variety of needs.

The main beach on Clear Lake is in the town of Wasagaming (very pretty) and it's an easy walk or bike ride from the campground as are all the other services offered there. If you don't mind crowds and enjoy people watching, you'll love it here. If you prefer a quieter spot, there are other beaches and swimming spots in picnic areas you can drive to at various locations around the lake. We found a spot on the north side of Clear Lake that was perfect for paddle boarding and, as a local told us, is supposedly less susceptible to swimmer's itch (info on it can be found on the park's website).

Looked like there was some interesting hiking to do here but after spending 2 weeks in Banff, the scenery just didn't compare. Instead we just relaxed, enjoyed the water and the nice summer weather. We also drove to the north end of the park (about 45-60 min each way) and although we were hoping to see a moose, we lucked out and saw a black bear!

This was our first visit here and we'll definitely be back!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    15
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
USA
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
136 attraction reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“A Great National Park in Western Manitoba”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Pros: Some very nice hikes. The marsh hike is very scenic and enjoyable. There are plenty of facilities to service needs, and some cute gift shops.

Cons: Map was difficult to interpret. Many of the roads were unpaved, making it hard for us to see things in our older vehicle.

Note: When we visited, it was cold and rainy. Regardless of the weather, I suggest wearing long pants.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Relaxing and back to nature.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I recently spent a week up in the park, mostly in the resort town of Wasagaming. This is the most popular tourist spot - the beach is nice, lots of little gift shops, boutiques, and ice cream shops.

Worth a trip is Frith Beach. It's smaller but way fewer people and the water is really, really clear. Grab a map from the park office, it's a quick 10 minute drive out of town.

Lots of geocaching opportunities, we had a few adventures while out caching this time around!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Enjoy One of Canada's National Parks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We spent 3 nights camping in Riding Mountain National Park's campground in July 2012 and discovered a beautiful park that is loved and well cared for by its caretakers. Camping there is pure pleasure. The grounds are kept very natural and there is loads of room with lots of campsites. We camped in a tent and found the area to be everything we could have wanted. The hot showers are free and ARE hot. The bathrooms are kept very clean and are adequate. There are rules in place to keep the rowdy in line and rules in place to keep the wildlife safe. The rules work in this beautiful wilderness. The lake is a short walk away and is lovely on a hot day. The park staff are diligent but friendly and helpful. For those who do not want to camp there is accomodation of every type. There is a golfcourse with immaculate greens and a club house that serves great food. We went to the clubhouse restaurant on the golf course for a great special family celebration and they accomodated us fabulously. Everyone loved the food and the room itself had a warm ambience and a special Canadiana style that lent itself to making a great occasion. A J, the cook, was wonderful and tried very hard to make us all happy. And we had a great time!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manitoba
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“What a beautiful place....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I am from Winnipeg and a little guilty of not fully taking advantage of all the wonderful things this province has to offer. Riding Mountain National Park is a beautiful place just 3 hous from the city. Wonderful little resort town, a great place for famiies to spend time and explore the great outdoors. The Park has many trails, for all levels of difficulty and opportunties to see various wildlife. Park interpretors are available and helpful to assist in planning a day trip or short excursion to explore another area of the park. They offer Jr. Naturalist programming for children of all ages for a nominal fee. The town itself is small and quaint, many little shops, and various restaurants. The movie theatre in town has twice nightly shows, always a hit my kids. If you are looking for a week away from the city, or if you are 'single-momming' it for a week with the kids while dad stays in the city to work, go for it! Tons of things to keep the kids occupied and busy, cycle around town, tennis courts, boat cruising, beach days, ice cream... So nice to look around and see families spending together, grandparents with grandchilden, parents & kids...

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riding Mountain National Park also viewed

 

Been to Riding Mountain National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riding Mountain National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.