We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm ready to cast away my life and go feral in these woods, it's that good.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonora Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sonora Resort to your Saves list
Sonora Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Sonora Island, British Columbia V7B 1W4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sonora Island
San Francisco, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“I'm ready to cast away my life and go feral in these woods, it's that good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This resort exceeded every expectation I had from the accommodations, service, food and especially the beauty of its location. I highly recommend looking at some of their packages, so you can really get everything this resort offers.

We took a gorgeous ride to the island via seaplane and every single one of of us just shut up in total awe at take off. The day was overcast and it was truly an ethereal experience to watch the mists slowly rising from the tips of the trees. Our breath just caught in our throats as each silhouette of these green mountains faded in and out of view.

The resort is right on the water and huge, but not too sprawling, so it's easy to get from one place to another. Hiking the local trails was a blast and I couldn't believe how many black bears we would see on a regular basis! Tons of fun events to do for everyone, like an edible journey with a guide who is simply a hoot, eco boat tours and of course, salmon fishing! If getting on a boat is not your thing, they even had little ponds to fish out of. We practiced by catching some trout before heading to the wild for the salmon!

We had a massive group, nearly 90 people and everyone unanimously agreed, all of the tours and guides were great!

The service provided here is unparalleled. You will want for nothing. Except for their help in staging your death so you can stay there forever...sssshhh.

I can't even stress the painful beauty of this place. I thought it couldn't be more beautiful, but then we went out salmon fishing. I was amped to catch some fish, but I was equally happy to just sit and watch the mist rise and fall over the pristine waters while eagles soar overhead and baby salmon leap for the skies beside us. We saw some dolphins hanging about in the distance too!

Our guide, Jeff, was very friendly and thankfully, far more skilled than we were. I was afraid I wouldn't catch anything, being the only fishing I've ever done was scooping up a goldfish out of a tank. It was a great experience! Those four hours went by like nothing and I was very sad to get off that boat!

The major highlight of this resort is the food. It's just jaw dropping and even thinking of it now makes me salivate. Expect some extreme couture food here. Despite having such a large group (89 people!) eating altogether at once, the quality of the food never wavered. The presentation of the meals were a great surprise! The culinary staff are definitely very creative artists. There is nothing boring here, right down to their tea selections. It takes some legendary skill to execute such excellence en masse.

I am absolutely convinced that the staff are all really ninjas that fly through treetops at night and ride grizzly bears during the day. Emma must be the head ninja, because she literally made impossible things happen for us.

It just doesn't make sense how amazing the staff are. Everyone! From the bartenders, servers, chefs, cleaning crew, gardeners...it's like they all carry the secret to happiness in their pocket. And perhaps they do...in the form of candied salmon.

Seriously, don't miss it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonoraResortCanada0, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to write such a kind review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. And, we certainly loved having your group at our resort. Hope to see you again in the near future!

The Sonora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
83
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

When we arrived at this very special location we received a lovely warm welcome. We were so looking forward to being shown to our room and overlooking this idyllic setting.
What a shock! We looked out on trees and a stone pillar! You can't imagine my disappointment.
Here we were in the most beautiful resort, with only half a dozen guests staying, and this view.
Our agent, Steppes Travel (superb) recommended Sonara as a 'must visit' and booked eight months in advance.
We wanted to know what the thinking was behind allocating this room (Room 63) given we had booked so far in advance and the choice of rooms available?
"This room was assigned initially as it was unoccupied prior to your arrival and we have had many favourable comments from guests that have stayed their previously". Really!
We will let you decide!
That aside our stay was very special, excellent staff (with the exception of the person who allocated our room!!) and quite exceptional food.

Room Tip: Don't book Room 63
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonoraResortCanada0, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Sonora Resort. We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable experience, with the exception of the view from the room that you were initially assigned, and we understand that the room to which you were moved had the exceptional view that you were seeking. Additionally, we are pleased that your initial disappointment with the view from your room was addressed and corrected as soon as you alerted our staff and that all other aspects of your stay met with your approval. Thanks very much for choosing to stay at Sonora Resort!

The Sonora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This is a resort that understands customer service, attention to detail, and how to create an incredible over all experience whether you are into salmon fishing (clearly a speciality), hiking, or just relaxing. The meals were exceptional. A creative menu led to some absolutely delicious dishes. While premium brands abound and are included, wine pairings for the tasting menu ($85) are not, but were they ever nicely matched with each course.

Staff have been exceptionally trained: they introduce themselves, smile, and can't do enough to keep you satisfied. What a pleasure! No attitude here!

There is also a wonderful view from the bedroom, a very comfortable bed and pillows to dream on. The included fully stocked frig in the room was extraordinary! .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonoraResortCanada0, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We hope to have you back as our guests again soon!
The Sonora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

As all magical stories start, once upon a time there was a Mother who wanted to take her soon College bound daughter on a special trip they would always remember. Sonora Island Resort did not disappoint. Even the booking process was top notch. Stan personally called and addressed all my questions, suggested tours and sent pictures of the rooms we could choose from which included the views. When our travel day arrived we were swept away on a large helicopter that seats 12 for a breathtaking hour flight. After arriving we were treated to our beverage of choice and a tasty cheese board. While enjoying our snack we were greeted by the resort manager who emphasized how important our stay was to them, the layout of the resort, our tour schedule and assisted with dinner reservations for the entire stay. We were then escorted to our room. The resort is all inclusive for food and drink and the room didn't disappoint. Our fridge had several non alcoholic, top shelf alcohol,beer, wine and snacks. We also had a Breville coffee maker and tea assortment. The beds were very comfortable with 4 high end down pillows per bed. The bathroom was large with 2 sinks, walk in shower with rainfall shower head and a large sunken tub for two. It also had a see through fireplace for the room and tub. All the luxuries of home and then some. We had a large patio outside our room with seating and the most incredible view of the water and mountains. The staff here believes in customer service. I've stayed in several top of the line hotels and none of them come close to the personal outstanding service we received here. Everyone introduces themselves, remembers your name and all your preferences they've noticed during your stay. The food at all 3 meals were exceptional. I felt like I was in NYC dining at a $200 pp restaurant every night. The Northwestern cuisine was delicious and the presentation beautiful. They even have a different tasting menu every night to compliment their a la carte menu. Their house wines are good but they also have an extensive wine list to choose from for purchase. Our first full day we met our guide at the docks to go salmon fishing. We were fitted with float jackets and encouraged to pack a cooler of our choice from their snack room. The room was full of candy, chips, fruit and a double professional refrigerator full of beer, soda and wine coolers. Then Steve went over the basics and away we went for another breath taking ride down the ocean. We caught several salmon but several were too small to keep. We had one fish and Steve offered to let us stay out a little longer. Magically we caught one more keeper and back to the resort we went. We watched Steve weigh and clean them. They offer to vacuum pack and freeze them so that you can take them back on the plane. Steve cut off one of the fish heads and put it on a post on the dock. We then got to see a majestic bald eagle swoop down from the trees and grasp the head right in front of us! On our second day we went on the Phillips River tour. Our guide Aaron took us on a boat and land tour looking for animals and providing interesting history about the area. We unfortunately didn't see any Orca's or bears. But saw baby eagles in their nest, porpoise, mule deer and seals. Because the resort didn't think we had seen enough wildlife they called the room and offered another tour in the morning free of charge. They have a wellness center for spa and workout time and several hiking trails. This magical resort has it all! You can be adventurous and relax. The staff is top notch and anticipates your every need or want. Tomorrow we have a cooking lesson with the Chef. Hopefully he can teach me how to cook seafood half as well as he does. I will be back here in the future and would recommend it to families or couples because magically they truly do have it all. I know this experience will never be forgotten and we only look forward to making new ones.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonoraResortCanada0, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We wish your daughter the best of luck at college and look forward to having you back as our guests in the future.
The Sonora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

From the time you step of the helicopter , water taxi or plane , prepare to be pampered . Any room will deliver you great views , any activity you choose will have you in awe of your surroundings , food is speactacular and you will need to increase your work out activity after you leave just to shed a few pounds . But, the one thing Sonora resort does much better than any is deliver a great customer experience from every staff member who works there. They go out of their way to give you whatever it is you need.

Fishing has been good over the last few weeks . I would highly recommend Scott Anderson as a guide . He knows the waters and knows where to take you and haul in fish to your boat .
If your not a salmon fisherman, then hone your angling skills at the catch and release torut pond .
The Eco tour will show you how printine the area really is, and may even allow you to spot some bears or eagles.
If you want to try kayaking , that too can be arranged .
If you want to run out doors , the team will show where you can do this . If you prefer to just hit the treadmill , this is also available in the SPA area. Speaking of SPA, if you want to have the most relaxing time of your trip, have a message, or in my case a sleep . I was out cold in 30 seconds. What a great relaxing experience.

Every time I have to leave it is a sad time, because you just want to drink in more of this fantastic resort .

Room Tip: Any room is a good room , but if you prefer close to the water you have many options .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonoraResortCanada0, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time, once again, to share your Sonora experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in 2015.
Until then, happy travels!
The Sonora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Excellent overall experience. Great staff, food and fishing. Helicopter flight in took in amazing vistas. Staff were very accommodating with regards special food requests and went the extra mile. Ensure you are on a Sonora boat for the guiding - they use charters as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca R, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to share your Sonora experience. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back.
Happy travels!
The Sonora Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My husband and I travelled to the Sonora Island Resort from 9/19 to 9/22 and I am going to have a very difficult time putting into words, how wonderful our trip was! We flew in from Toronto to Vancouver, and then up by Helicopter to Sonora Island. The weather was perfect and the views were spectacular, and the ride was less than an hour. Our arrival set the standard for how the weekend would be, and I have to say that it was breathtaking!! Being greeted by Sean (GM), and being led into the main lobby and given an introduction to the resort and having wine and cheese accompany the information session, was the first glimpse of how truly magical this place would be. After learning about what our weekend possibilities would be, we wandered out to the deck to watch and listen to the sea lions playing in the ocean and feel the warmth of the sun in the most picturesque of places. It's indescribable. While being fortunate enough to experience the resort, we were exceptionally pleased with the layout of the Presidential Suite and the details in every corner of our room. It truly set things up to be magical and almost slowed down life for 4 days. While at the resort, we took part in a fishing tour, which could have had better weather, but even though it was foggy, our guide was amazing and the experience is one that I would do over and over again. The Saturday found us back in a helicopter to do a glacial tour, and I cannot express how ABSOLUTELY COOL this was!!!! The scenery was literally like you were on your way to heaven and indescribable (again) with how the scenery was like no other. We travelled to an altitude of 55,000 feet and saw an incredible infinity pool, and flew in and around caves that I will probably never experience again in this lifetime. My pictures and videos are amazing but simply not justice to the reality of experiencing it first hand. If you go, it is an absolute MUST DO! We were going to land on the glacier and have a champagne lunch but it was too uncertain with the fog, so we travelled down and had a lunch in an equally pristine location, so nothing was lost during the tour. My next detail would be the food - there is not enough time or space to even begin to describe the calibre and finesse of the meals presented to us and the servers who waited on us. Every single item on the menu was to die for, and each day was a struggle to try something new as the last meal you had was like no meal you ever had before! My absolute favourite was the 64 degree egg. I fell in love with Terry Pichor's exquisite talents in the kitchen and craved his menus for weeks after our departure!!!! Every detail was handled like it was the most important and you felt like you were royalty with the presentation of every item whether it was breakfast, lunch or dinner!!!
The Island Currents Spa was so peaceful and the staff were amazing - AGAIN!!! I loved the mineral pools, the tranquility of being able to relax poolside after you complete the cycle and soak in the beauty of the ocean, the trees and the birds flying overhead. Magical, peaceful and literally felt like you were one with this place.
I honestly feel like my review does not give justice to the spell this resort puts you under and I would encourage anyone to try and visit this place once in their lifetime. If you are lucky enough to plan a wedding or honeymoon here, then even better!!!!

Room Tip: I cannot imagine a bad location at this resort, but a room further away from the main building would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonoraResortCanada, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to share your experience at Sonora Resort! We always appreciate the feedback and look forward to having you back as our guests in the future.
Until then, happy travels!
The Sonora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonora Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonora Resort

Address: Sonora Island, British Columbia V7B 1W4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sonora Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sonora Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonora Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Sonora Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonora Hotel Sonora Island
Sonora Island Hotel
Sonora Island Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonora Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.