We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb ! A must for your Bucket list” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonora Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sonora Resort to your Saves list
Sonora Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Sonora Island, British Columbia V7B 1W4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sonora Island
Saskatoon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Superb ! A must for your Bucket list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

From the time you step off your mode of transportation to the exceptional facility, you are treated like a KING or QUEEN .
Activities are top notch : ECO Tours , Spa is magical , Fishing - fantastic guides , Great Gym and great trails to run on , Fly Fishing , pool should you be so inclined to name a few .
Just hiking around the property is like an out of body experience .
Dining experiences are beyond words !
Save your pennies , but it is truly worth the expenditure .

Supernatural British Columbia just does not describe it !

Room Tip: Every room will give a view that will take your breath away
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonoraResortCanada, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank-you so much for your kind words about Sonora Resort. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience! Hope to see you again at the resort!
The Sonora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
80
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
OZ
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Yes......Sonora is very expensive and difficult to justify..........until you get here and are immersed into the most magical Eco experience. Coming here was a Big Deal for us, we don't normally spend this kind of money but it was definitely worth every cent. I cannot recommend Sonora highly enough for a once in a life time experience that allows you to see nature at her best. I felt like I was staying at the home of great family friends. The staff were simply amazing, the food sublime and the opportunity to see wild life every single day simply amazing. This is 5 star in every sense except for the need to dress up - just heaven getting off a kayak and the walking straight into dinner with a view to die for without the need to even brush your hair. Believe every trip advisor review - it's actually this good!

Room Tip: Every room is outstanding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonoraResortCanada, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank-you so much for sharing your experience at Sonora Resort and for the glowing review! We hope to have you back as our guest again soon.
The Sonora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

It's not often in travels around the world that you come across somewhere as special as the Senora Resort.

Don't know where to start without repeating the superlatives that other reviewers have used to describe the resort but here goes.

In no particular order:
- the customer service and staff are excellent. Sean, the GM and his team are to be commended on this
- the accommodations were superb. No expense has been spared on the property
- the food was sublime. Whilst I love my travels in North America the food is usually fairly average; this is not the case at Senora in fact it's so good and the chef and his team should be commended on the standard and quality of the food.
-the spa was fabulous! Its in a lovely setting and the spa staff were so welcoming.
- The Eco tours with Aaron were fabulous- my husband and I are not into fishing so we went on the Eco tours which was great. Aaron is so knowledgable and enthusiastic on the tours. On one of the days we were surrounded by a pod of around around 100 Pacific white sided dolphins who surrounded our boat and jumped around out of the water- a truly amazing experience!
- the setting is fantastic. There's always something happening whether it's watching bald eagles swoop down and feed on fish or watch whales pass by the resort - amazing!

I could go on but I think you get the message that Senora Resort is a truly magical place. Yes it is expensive but you are paying for a unique experience which everyone should try and savour at least once.

My husband and I have an unwritten rule in our travels- never go back to the same place twice- however we're going to break that rule for the Senora Resort!

Truly memorable and cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonoraResortCanada, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank-you so much for the kind words about Sonora Resort. We hope to see you again. Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

This place isn't cheap but it is amazing and I can confirm that it lives up to the other reviews on here. Whether it be the wildlife, fishing, luxury or location you go for you will not be disappointed. The food is very good and plentiful. The service is just great very attentive but not in your face too much for North America. We will be going back. If you get the opportunity to visit you must go.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonoraResortCanada, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank-you so much for the kind words about Sonora Resort. We hope to see you again soon! Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, BC, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have done some travelling but never have we enjoyed a get-away as much as our time at Sonora. Such a unique experience. Saw Orca whales passing right by us on the boat ride in, sea lions in the harbour, bald eagles everywhere and grizzly bears on a tour we took. What an experience! The resort is second to none. Buildings have been built around tall trees keeping the wilderness feeling. Grounds are so well kept. Rooms were spotless and housekeeping team was in twice a day. Great views from all the rooms we saw. Food was outstanding and service was as well. We found all staff members were quick to help or just offer a friendly greeting. Would love to visit again soon and highly recommend Sonora Resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonoraResortCanada, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank-you very much for taking the time to share your Sonora experience. We are so delighted that you chose to share your special 30th anniversary with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

You travel an hour up the jaw-dropping coastline of British Columbia by helicopter to land at Sonora Resort. Now prepare yourself for it all to be taken up a notch! Sonora is something special. The air- it's sharper, crisper, cleaner. The scenery is high drama: steep mountains, roiling, boiling waters with some of the most amazing tides in the world. (At one point we were going downhill as we travelled through a narrow passageway during high tide--go figure!) Out on the boat you see frisky Dall porpoises, huge sea lions sunning themselves, grizzly bears (from a safe vantage point) and it's always nice to catch a 23 pound Chinook.

If you are travelling to Vancouver and want an intense, magical, way to experience what British Columbia is all about book an extra 3 days and go to Sonora Resort. It absolutely lives up to its reputation as the highest level of luxury and the experience is truly one of a kind.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonoraResortCanada, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank-you for sharing your Sonora experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope you return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our long awaited trip to Sonora did not disappoint. From the moment the helicopter landed at the Resort it was a matter of superlatives - outstanding food, friendly and efficient service and very comfortable accommodation.

Wildlife viewing opportunities are totally on the whim of the wildlife - but my oh my. Transient Orcas, pods of Pacific white-sided dolphin, seals, sea lion, eagles and of course the mighty Grizzly bear fishing for salmon in the Orford River. The walk amongst the giant cedars in old growth forest, despite the pouring rain was simply wonderful.

Aaron, our guide on three excursions was the best - passionate and knowledgeable he added so much to the experience. Restaurant staff catered and even anticipated our every request. I have never been to a restaurant where I have ordered the same thing for lunch three days in a row - Tagiolini Scoglio (spot prawns, scallops, mussels, clams, garlic, olive oil, chili and cherry tomatoes on linguine) - absolutely mouth watering (especially with a nice glass of pinot grigio).

Sonora is a magical place with its stunning views of the ebbing and flowing tide. No matter where you have been in the world or what you have seen you will not be disappointed. Once you experience it, you will never forget it,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonoraResortCanada, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank-you for taking the time to write this fabulous review. We will be sure to pass along your appreciation to Aaron - he is indeed an amazing passionate guide and we are happy to have him on our team! We hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonora Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonora Resort

Address: Sonora Island, British Columbia V7B 1W4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sonora Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sonora Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonora Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Sonora Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonora Hotel Sonora Island
Sonora Island Hotel
Sonora Island Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonora Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.