We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great lunch and friendly service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sonora Room

The Sonora Room
500 Burrowing Owl Place | Burrowing Owl Estate Winery, Oliver, British Columbia V0H 1T1, Canada
250.498.0620
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Sonora Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 35 Restaurants in Oliver
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Black Sage Road
Description: The South Okanagan has gained a well deserved reputation as a desirable destination for tourists seeking an agricultural and culinary experience. The Sonora Room at Burrowing Owl Estate Winery features prominently in this regard with its epicurean excellence, superb service, relaxed style and scenic splendour. The restaurant overlooks 146 acres of picturesque vineyard from the patio or inside the warm and inviting dining room. The philosophy of the talented culinary team is to embrace the opportunity to showcase many of the South Okanagan’s local producers. Dishes are created that utilize an array of local organic produce, seasonal fruits and artisan cheeses, and pair perfectly with Burrowing Owl's award winning wines. The exclusive wine list includes a selection of Burrowing Owl's current vintages, and library wines that are no longer publicly available for sale. Creative cuisine, impeccable service and a beautiful venue highlight the great agricultural diversity of the region.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
“great lunch and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Stopped in for lunch after a great wine tasting and was thrilled with our patio table, amazing view of the vineyards, friendly service. We had a feature meatball sandwich with soup and the menu duck confit. I can see why the duck confit is known as one of their specialty items, it was tender and full of flavour. A definite must do on the wine tour scene.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    49
    12
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A perfect 10”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We had the privilege of dining at the Sonora Room this past Saturday night to celebrate our 35th Wedding Anniversary. Our server Ron was amazing and very attentive right down to making wine recommendations. Brian had the steak which was cooked perfectly and I had the Sockeye Salmon which I would highly recommend. The whole dining experience was a perfect 10

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Burrowing Owl Restuarant - Oliver, B.C.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

When one has failed plans for Father's Day (lost order-no delivery happening and oh yeah....no sunshine - we do what should have been planned in the first place - make reservations to dine out.

This is exactly what we did and we were not disappointed.

Don ordered the Duck Rillette and it was truly delightful. I tasted it (twice) and thought it was great. It also had pickled onions and a chutney.

I ordered the roasted Carrot Soup and it was lovely. Smooth as silk but more than I could eat. Okay, I have to admit the warm baguette they served might have had something to do with it. I also ordered their Pinot Gris 2012 and it was fabulous.

The entree for Don was the Halibut. It came with grilled cauliflower that had been marinated and not cooked enough to make it "nice" to eat. Also it had purple potatoes and some greens. Don loved the fish but was not liking the cauliflower - said it had a real vineger after taste.

I, on the other hand, ordered the Salmon. It had baby potatoes, wild asparagus with a beautiful sauce. It was delicious.

I would be remiss if I left it at that. We did have to return the plates as the fish, on both plates, was raw in the middle and had not reached the 'medium' stage. The Chef sent out a Ahi tuna and bacon appetizer while they completely put up two fresh orders. It was truly delicious. The balsamic aioli was 'finger licking good'.

They win on both counts and highly so. They fixed it and they added a 'treat' if you will. They didn't have to and it was appreciated.

Our server, Ingela, was a super delight. Happy, professional and always trying to make sure the area she was responsible for, were well looked after. Now....theyhave a new Maitre'd who, for a while, seemed only to frown. When I was paying for the Father's Day treat for Don, I smiled at him and suggested he smile a little. Well, his face lit up like a candle and he said he was new and wanted everything to go smoothly.

I told him we were 'only people' and all was going well. He couldn't stop smiling and said " I love you" and again, as we were departing, he said it again . It made Don laugh. He told me not to say anything but sometimes a little boost called 'pass it on' works and works extremely well. I am sure the rest of the evening went extremely well for one and all.

Thanks Burrowing Owl you have really upped the game and we will return. It was delightful for us.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
healdsburg, CA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“very good food, good wine, great service, great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We had dinner at this restaurant this evening and enjoyed ourselves very much. We spent a bit less than we did last night at the Tin Horn winery restaurant, but had a vastly better meal, with much better wine, and equally good views of the valley. The chef here really knows his craft, and showed it in several very creative and delicious starters.

The first, a complimentary amuse bouche, was "tomato water" and that's exactly what it was, the most delicious small glass of water flavored with various heirloom tomatoes. I never had this before, and it was delicious. The warm bread was very good too, and went well both with the tomato water and the excellent butter.

The second item was a scrumptious salmon tartare, with truffle, very fresh and delightful. Those were my favorite items, and displayed what the kitchen can accomplish. The other starter, a bit of octopus, was in comparison less amazing, slightly dry and not so succulent.

The mains, chicken breast and lamb sirloin, were good, but not amazing. It seemed as if the mains are more assembly- line composed, rather than the careful hand crafted starters that really impressed. But they were good, and the chicken was perfectly cooked and succulent, but a bit overly herbed and the sauce was a little heavy handed.

The wines that we chose to accompany were a rose', a brut (not in - house), and a 2009 Burrowing Owl merlot. The merlot was smooth and rich and paired well with both mains.

The service was superb as were the views. We would return and do reccommend it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Great Views/Food make this a Winery Restaurant Destination...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We recently had a Sunday brunch here and weren't disappointed. The stunning views of the Osoyoos Valley and good hearty food made it an afternoon to remember. Entrees are in the sub $30 range but the servings are large/share size. We made the booking by Opentable which is very convenient. Enjoy!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sonora Room also viewed

Oliver, Okanagan Valley
Oliver, Okanagan Valley
 
Oliver, Okanagan Valley
Oliver, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to The Sonora Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sonora Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.