We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands down winner for Okanagan winery dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sonora Room

The Sonora Room
500 Burrowing Owl Place | Burrowing Owl Estate Winery, Oliver, British Columbia V0H 1T1, Canada
250.498.0620
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Sonora Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 35 Restaurants in Oliver
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Black Sage Road
Description: The South Okanagan has gained a well deserved reputation as a desirable destination for tourists seeking an agricultural and culinary experience. The Sonora Room at Burrowing Owl Estate Winery features prominently in this regard with its epicurean excellence, superb service, relaxed style and scenic splendour. The restaurant overlooks 146 acres of picturesque vineyard from the patio or inside the warm and inviting dining room. The philosophy of the talented culinary team is to embrace the opportunity to showcase many of the South Okanagan’s local producers. Dishes are created that utilize an array of local organic produce, seasonal fruits and artisan cheeses, and pair perfectly with Burrowing Owl's award winning wines. The exclusive wine list includes a selection of Burrowing Owl's current vintages, and library wines that are no longer publicly available for sale. Creative cuisine, impeccable service and a beautiful venue highlight the great agricultural diversity of the region.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Hands down winner for Okanagan winery dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

The food at the Sonora Room is inventive, fresh, local and delicious. And it pairs beautifully with Burrowing Owl's selection of wines. Pricey, yes, but an evening that feels really special perched in the vineyards as the sun sets.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    49
    12
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just Okay...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We ate from this restaurant twice on our trip. The first time we ordered lunch to pick up because we were staying in the guesthouse. Our ready was not ready for just over an hour, and while I understand that its busy for lunch, that amount of time for guests staying on the property is a bit ridiculous. But the food was excellent. My husband had the Beef Sandwich and I had the Quinoa potato dish.... Dinner the following night was just okay. our server was not particularly friendly (male), the view on the balcony was nice, food was just okay, my husband had the steak- he said it was good not great, i had the salmon which was over cooked and over seasoned to the point it was salty.
appetizers and bread were nice however.
We do eat at a lot of upperscale and fine dining restaurants, my expectations for the food was not met fully because I have heard people give them rave reviews, but we would be willing to try it again.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011 via mobile

The view from the deck was fantastic. The food, service and overall experience was excellent.
Would highly recommend this establishment.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Gourmet Feast in the Desert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

This meal was a highlight of our trip to the Southern Okanagan. The food was exquisitely prepared, finely flavored and elegantly presented. The charcuterie plate, mostly made in house, and the bacon-wrapped sturgeon were outstanding. The 2006 Cabernet Franc we had with the dinner was scrumptious. Service was warm, unobtrusive and attentive. We ate on the balcony overlooking the vineyards on a warm August evening. A relaxing end to a wonderful day in the BC wine country.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“All Around Incredible!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We booked dinner for four a couple of weeks in advance knowing this was a definite restaurant to visit. We arrived at the Burrowing Owl Estate Winery at 6:30 PM and were immediately escorted to our table on the patio. What a view!! We could not have hoped for a better table.

We started off with the Charcuterie Platter accompanied of course by fabulous wine bottled in house. For the minors in the group, the restaurant offers a couple of Apple Essence flavoured drinks to choose from (many of them can be purchased at local wineries). All four of us ordered different entrees, all of which were absolutely delicious! Each meal was accompanied by local fresh vegetables.

For dessert, we sampled the creme brulee as well as the chocolate pate. If you are hungry enough, do yourself a favour and try both because they are to die for! Again, both desserts were garnished with fresh local berries...Mmmmm.....

There were a few little bugs here and there, but not enough to be a problem and ruin this fabulous culinary experience at this fine establishment. The service was prompt and friendly and the prices definitely reflected the high standards of this fine dining restaurant.

We will return for sure!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sonora Room also viewed

Oliver, Okanagan Valley
Oliver, Okanagan Valley
 
Oliver, Okanagan Valley
Oliver, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to The Sonora Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sonora Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.