We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent wine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Sage Winery

Silver Sage Winery
32032 - 87th Avenue, Oliver, British Columbia, Canada
(250) 498-0310
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 31 Activities in Oliver
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We decided to try a couple wineries one day and Silver Sage was our first stop. We received a list with approx 12 different wines to taste, all at the price of a donation. Our server (and owner) Anna Manola was a delight with a witty sense of humor. The wines were awesome, with the dessert wines leaving a delight on our tongues. My favorites were The Pearle (a blackberry and current flavored dessert wine) and The Flame (which has a sweet beginning with a hot knock you off your socks kind of blow). The Flame even comes with a chili pepper in the bottle. Go for a taste......you'll be surprised how sweet their wines are.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    26
    12
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oliver, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Something different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The valley between Oliver and Osoyoos is littered with wineries, if you are doing wine tours, they all start tasting the same, but Sliver Sage offers something a little different. Ask to taste the pepper wine...if you dare!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My favourite winery of the trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

This last trip out to the Okanagan we got to vist 6 vineyards. Hands down Silver Sage won us over as the favorite of this jaunt.
Not only were the wines delightful (dispite the fact that I have never been an admirer of desert wines, I'm now converted, thanks to some of the offerings of Silver Sage) but the experience of Silver Sage was one of good humor and the most welcoming of the trip.
Yes, I'm sure the same witty tales are recited a hundred times a day by Anna of Silver Sage, but her warmth and lightheartedness paired with a great enthusiasm for the winery, certainly made our day.
We went back 3 times over the period of our short visit. The offerings so delightful, it became a case of not "what should we buy?" but "what should we not buy for fear of appearing gluttonous?!".
Some wineries seemed a little "tourist tired" and weren't so welcoming or enthusiastic, not the case with Silver Sage.
Quite frankly, there are so many award winning wines in this region, it's not hard to find a great wine that appeals to your palate. But I find touring the wineries to be about more than just stocking up the cellar on fine wine, for me it's about the entire experience of visiting the vineyards, meeting the staff, hearing the stories and feeling their passion for what they do and ultimately tasting the fruits of their labor.
Silver Sage certainly didn't disappoint, we'll be back next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olds, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Love the dessert wines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Very interesting and fun place. Loved the server, funny stories and knew her wines. Do not enjoy desert wines but these were great. Will be returning to buy more of these. Busy place but not much waiting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic wine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

The wine here is very different from everywhere else, but I truly enjoyed the unique flavours. On top of that, the woman who does the tastings is hilarious and definitely makes the stop worthwhile.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Sage Winery also viewed

 
Oliver, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Silver Sage Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Sage Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.