We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a welcome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tinhorn Creek Vineyards

Tinhorn Creek Vineyards
537 Tinhorn Creek Road, Oliver, British Columbia V0H 1T0, Canada
250 498 3743
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 27 activities in Oliver
Type: Wineries
Activities: Wine tasting, Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Founded in 1993 by Kenn & Sandra and open year-round, Tinhorn Creek offers one of the valley’s best wine experiences. No matter what your level of wine knowledge, our friendly winery team enthusiastically welcomes you and makes the culture of wine a fun experience.• Tasting Room, Gift Shop, Miradoro Restaurant, Self-Guided Tour, Demonstration Vineyard, Amphitheatre - Concerts & Events, Golden Mile Hike, Picnic Area & Patio, Wine Club At Tinhorn Creek, we source fruit exclusively from our own vineyards: 150 acres of prime land on two very distinct benches - the Black Sage Bench and the Golden Mile Bench. The unique characteristics of each bench create the terroir driven wines that are classic illustrations of the place they are grown.Open year round March - Dec: 10am – 6pm | Jan - Feb: 10am – 5pm.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“What a welcome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

What a great welcome you will receive as you walk into this lovely building. You are able to taste four different wines..and they give you quite a portion! As the designated driver, I was delighted to be given a keychain in lieu of the wine. You are welcome to bring your own picnic basket and eat on their patio.you can also purchase a baguette and some deli items. They will lend you a knife and cutting board. A self guided tour is on offer and a new restaurant has been opened. We did not try it, but the view alone is stunning. The gift shop has an enticing range of items and there is a private room which can be booked for a group.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    22
    1
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Fabulous wine, fabulous food and fabulous views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

What else could you want? What the family has done in 20 years establishing Tinhorn Creek is amazing. The wines were delish and after wandering the grounds for a bit we went to Midoro Restaurant for some lunch...we ordered the pizza which was simply divine! Not a heavy crust and not overloaded with toppings but loaded with flavour. We sat out on the patio, sipping a glass of their Cabernet Franc (like liquid velvet) and enjoyed the view of the valley and vineyards before us. A MUST see!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best of some great wineries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I had a great day visiting 4 wineries around Oliver and my favourite was Tinhorn Creek. At the door there was a friendly girl offering a taste of a rose wine, a nice touch, and in the tasting room the servers were helpful, friendly, knowledgable and with a great sense of humour. The wines were excellent and the setting was beautiful.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

One of the stops visiting wineries, we were surprised with the warmth and friendliness of this winery.

Located on a hillside over looking the valley, the beautifully maintained winery, complete with small amphitheater was wonderfully relaxing yet informative. Encouraged to explore with wine glass in hand, it made this tour romantic as well.

Although we didn't have time to take in lunch at the restaurant, we look forward to making the time the next time we are through.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lunch at the Tinhorn Creek Winery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Upon our arrival to the Winery we were greeted with a complementary taster of wine: today it was a 2012 Gewürztraminer which was very delicious. There was a self guided tour with an array of interesting photos and accomplishment liking the walls.
Lunch was served on a breezy patio overlooking the vineyard and in the distance, Osoyoos. Breathtaking.
We took the lunch special of home-made arugula, pesto, broccoli and a pig jowl ragu pizza, which was delicious. Having never tasted pig jowl, I was a little skeptical, but enjoyed the tiny salty morsels that were sprinkled over the thin crusted freshly baked pizza. It was paired of with a beautiful Pinot Noir.
They also have a selection of outdoor concerts in their outdoor amphitheater. Check out the website to see more.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tinhorn Creek Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Tinhorn Creek Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tinhorn Creek Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tinhorn Creek Vineyards to your Saves list