We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Golden Mile Nugget !!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castoro de Oro

Castoro de Oro
4004 Highway 97, Oliver, British Columbia V0H 1T1, Canada
250-495-4991
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 32 Activities in Oliver
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Kaleden, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Golden Mile Nugget !!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

A must stop along the "Golden Mile" Vineyard area of Oliver, BC. Stella was very helpful and the wines are fantastic. Their Merlot is awesome !!!!! We will be back !!!!!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastorodeOro, Owner at Castoro de Oro, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Ola Boof55, Thanks for taking the time to review us here on trip advisor... we appreciate it very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    2
    0
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Osoyoos, Bc, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Castoro de Oro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Wow - amazing wine and amazing people at Castoro de Oro! Stella and Bruno (the owners) definitely go out of their way to make you feel welcome and the new wines are fantastic. Totally worth stopping for!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastorodeOro, Owner at Castoro de Oro, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Golden Beaver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Previously named "The Golden Beaver Winery" they have rebranded themselves as "Castoro de Oro" (Beaver of Gold in Italian). Killer Pinot Noir and tremendous Merlot. Not normally a drinker of Rose, they also have a rose with some chutzpah (Pinot Duetto - 60% Pinot Noir, 40% Pinot Blanc). Went there first years ago because the name was amusing.....returned because the wine was amusing.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastorodeOro, Owner at Castoro de Oro, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for the lovely write up, we are glad you think the wine is amazing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Loved this little place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We were driving past and liked the cool sign with the little critter in a top hat, and the beautiful patio area so we turned around to check it out. We were a bit amazed at the tiny little wine shop, when we walked in it was packed with people, a 'large group' of maybe 15 people, had just finished a tasting, the server greeted us and said she'd be right with us, as the other customers lined up to make their purchases. The atmosphere was great already, everybody was laughing and the server was still teasing the group, so we happily waited, watched and listened. The comments were so positive and they were buying all kinds of wine, the last lady out the door stopped to tell the server that it was her new fave winery!
So we thought here we go, this is going to be an expensive stop.
As soon as they had all gone the server turned to us and said she was sorry about the wait and proceeded to tell us all about the winery and introduced herself as co-owner. She was the most informative server we have ever had at a winery, she was funny and we were soon laughing and joking like we were personal friends. So enough said about the atmosphere and server - GREAT!
The wine - we tried 6 wines - Heart of Gold, Heartbreaker, Pinot Blanc Sweet, Pinot Noir, Merlot and a really unusual dessert wine Vidal Vin de Cure. (I took home a tasting note sheet with all my notes on it) All of the wines are made from grapes, but are unique in some wonderful way. Heart of Gold and Heartbreaker, both of these are outstanding white blends yet quite different from each other, we bought 3 of each, and we now wish we had bought more. The Pinot Blanc Sweet was too sweet for Mark and I, but we bought a bottle for Mark's Mom and she loved it. The Pinot Noir and Merlot were incredible - such beautiful aromas, intensly flavourful, dry and bold but silky smooth! We bought 6 of each and it's only been about a month since we were there but we are already regretting not getting more. We tried the dessert wine, which was actually very nice - compex and not sticky sweet - though we could see ourselves actually enjoying it, we simply don't drink dessert wines at home so we didn't purchase any. In total we puchased 19 bottles and drank quite a few of them over the last month and enjoyed them to the last drop. Castoro de Oro has two new BIG fans!! We'll be stopping in there every chance we get and in September when we get to the area again we are going to bring our lunch and enjoy that cute and cozy little patio area where they play such nice music! We think it's just terrific to have such a terrific small family winery in BC and we as Canadians should be supporting these types of places!
P.S. - don't believe the terrible review we just read it too and we looked into the other places she reviewed - the lady obviously loves fruit wines and dessert wines, gave Silver Sage a glowing review, while there is nothing wrong with Silver Sage it simply couldn't be more different a wine style from Castoro de Oro. So if you love real Wine from grapes check out Castoro de Oro!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastorodeOro, Owner at Castoro de Oro, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thanks for the love ;-) we hope you'll be back to taste our new wines.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“BEST KEPT SECRET”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Wow, got a recommend from another "Golden Mile" winery to visit this little gem - 'because it is open' - ? Despite the off hand reference/referral we went AND LOVED IT!
Drove in a bit worried at the faint recommend… the place didn’t look like a fancy winery, and when we got there a sign on the door said “we’ll be right here”
OKAY… but after that we were
WOWED BY THE WINES… so totally first class at literally HALF PRICE or less than most of the other wineries on the “Famed Golden Mile” The Pinot Noir was totally FRENCH and delicious, the Pinot Blanc was divine, and the Vidal was simply not to be compared to the icky Vidal from Ontario.
If you want to try some wines ACTUALLY Estate Grown from the Golden Mile you need to stop at this little place. They have a vineyard established in the early 80’s and they kept the vines intact and the wines are wonderfully old vine tasty.
We BOUGHT (lots) and we’ll be back and we recommend!
Karen & Doug

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastorodeOro, Owner at Castoro de Oro, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
We hope we won't be a secret any more! Thanks ever so much for the wonderful, detailed review. We appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castoro de Oro also viewed

 

Been to Castoro de Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castoro de Oro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.