We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wild Forest Review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lakeside Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Lakeside Resort to your Saves list
The Lakeside Resort
3.5 of 5 Specialty Resort   |   6707 Lakeside Dr, Oliver, British Columbia, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Westlock, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Wild Forest Review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Sweet little resort. I've been here numerous times over the past few years. Dawn and her staff treat you to a wonderful experience. This gem boasts a quaint motel for the travellers not camping. There are lots for sites here to enjoy. Full hook-ups to single tent sites are available. The Lakeside resort is exactly what is says. A nice beach fronting on a 15 acre + lake. Privacy and convenience are the stars here. A group of my buddies and myself make the annual trek for some early season golf and comeradery. The value is excellent. There are two great golf courses to partake in. Desert Canyon (formerly Nk'Mip) and Fairview mountain are rated top ten in B.C. If you have a larger group, request room #1. It has all the bells and whistles. Full kitchen, fireplace,two bathrooms that can sleep at least ten. Room #9,a corner suite has a full kitchen and is a very short walk to the beach. Great outdoor family hot tub steams daily for your enjoyment. Check this place out ,you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally B, Owner at The Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thanks so much for the stellar review! We really appreciate it! Our Steak-on-the-Lake Golf Packages have been a tradition amongst golfers for over 20 years. It's so nice to be able to have dinner and just hang-out on the property. There's free firewood if you want to enjoy a campfire, bocce balls, horseshoes, volleyball as well as just kicking back in a lawn chair. As well as Nk'Mip and Fairview we also offer golf at Osoyoos, Twin Lakes, Penticton, and Summerland golf courses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cold Lake, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the Penthouse for the last week. Loved the views! Only thing was having such a big place but told that we were threatened with security for having a few guests over after 11pm. Kind of a bummer since I'm on holidays visiting friends I haven't seen in years. Overall it was deadly and I would stay again

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally B, Manager at The Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
I think your review must be for another establishment! We do not have a Penthouse Suite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bc canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed 2 night in the motel portion of the resort but would love to try a cabana or a rv site.Kids loved being so close to the beach and spent most of their stay in the nice shallow water.Close to town but feels far away from the busy downtown area.Plan on coming back again next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally B, Owner at The Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Looking forward to having you stay with us again. Kids love The Lakeside Resort!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

After traveling from Sydney Australia, we spent 2 days driving from Edmonton to Oliver. On arriving the service at the desk was welcoming - my cousin was returning for a second consecutive year. We were staying with family in a Cabana - 4 bunks and a double bed. Basic kitchen with no cooking facility but a fridge was supplied. Large BBQ table for the 5 of us to eat at every night. Only draw back was due to the heat during the day, no air circulated in the cabana. We had to buy a fan but this did not always help when trying to sleep. The location to town was good with about a 20 minute walk into town or if you had bikes there is a cycle path to follow. Lake was beautiful and refreshing given the 37 degree days we had. Lots of activities for kids - sand castle competition, penny sweets and a visit by the local fire brigade. Lots of local fruit stalls and plenty of vineyards to check out for something different. Great location and place to stay with a family as the kids aged 8 and 13 made lots of friends. The staff were friendly throughout our stay always saying hi or stopping for a chat. Facilities were very clean and well maintained. Showers were $1CAD for 7 minutes which was long enough to be honest. There were some issues with the hot water in the men's showers at times. All in all, we are looking forward to a future stay here when we are back in Canada.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally B, Owner at The Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to post such a great review. You discovered the secret to our place during the busy summer months of July and August.... keep the children happy (meeting friends, building sandcastles, enjoying treats) and parents can have a relaxing time as well! I apologize for the problems with hot water - we are taking steps to resolve that and will have it corrected by next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I had a quick trip to Oliver and decided to stay by the lake. What a beautiful spot!!! A cute room with a view of the lake, nice way to wake up in the morning. I will return for a longer stay for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally B, Owner at The Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay! Tuc-el-Nuit Lake is a beautiful little lake - quiet and motor-boat free!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We were fortunate enough to attend a wedding at The Lakeside Resort and the event couldn't have been more perfect. The resort staff went out of their way to make the event go off without a hitch, lodging was clean and comfortable, and setting was beautiful. I can honestly say I have never been to such a large wedding that all people involved unanimously agreed was the "best ever!".

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally B, Owner at The Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thanks Jessica! We're all so glad that you enjoyed your stay! The Lakeside Resort is committed to providing a wonderful vacation experience in the South Okanagan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stayed at this adorable resort during wine fest for a wedding last year, and had an amazing experience. We tented, and were just steps from the beach, and nice and near the washrooms (which were surprisingly nice). The wedding itself was the best I've ever been too - the ceremony was held on the clean beach, the reception set up in tents on the green expanse, and the party was concealed by all of the trees on the property. The best part was that no one had to drive home, or leave early - because we were all staying on site! Perfect idea!

I will for sure stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally B, Owner at The Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank-you and we're glad you enjoyed your stay! The Lakeside Resort is hoping to host more weddings and other family events in the future. Please check us out if you're planning an event!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lakeside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lakeside Resort

Address: 6707 Lakeside Dr, Oliver, British Columbia, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Oliver
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Oliver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lakeside Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lakeside Resort offers whatever type of holiday you're seeking! World-class wineries, golf courses and outdoor recreation amidst the splendour of Canada's only true desert. Soak up everything the Okanagan has to offer while enjoying our campsites, cabanas, or fully-equipped suites set on 150 m of private beach. Summer holidaying is ideal for families with the warm, clean, shallow lake and grounds with designated smoking areas, no power boats, or late-night noise. Spring and fall provide opportunities for golfers and wine connoisseurs alike. Take advantage of our famous 'Steak-on-the-Lake' golf packages. Explore the beautiful Okanagan terrain and sip your way through the Wine Capital of Canada with our Self-Guided Cycling Getaway. Ask us about hosting your next family reunion, wedding or weekend getaway at The Lakeside Resort. We are very accommodating. Free internet access puts a smile on everyone's face! Unwind at the resort:- safe swimming, sandy beach- canoe, rowboat, and kayak rentals- horseshoes and bocce ball- bicycle rentalsTour the local attractions: - Golf courses (ask about our famous 'Steak-on-the-Lake'golf package)- Hike and Bike Trail (ask about our Self-Guided Cycling getaway) - Wine tours - Horse stables- Orchard and farm tours ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Lakeside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lakeside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.