We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent find in the middle of nowhere! We want to build our own dome now!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Dome Quixote

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Denver
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Dome Quixote
Save
You added Villa Dome Quixote to your Saves list
602 6th Avenue, Highway 31A, New Denver, British Columbia V0G 1S0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Excellent find in the middle of nowhere! We want to build our own dome now!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

What a great place. We were traveling through the Kootenays to deal with my husband's father's estate. We were tired, emotional, and in need of some sort of balance or sanity. We happened upon New Denver because I wanted to visit the Japanese-Canadian Internment Museum and were lucky that they were open for a school group that day. When we saw the domes we had to stay. Our room was lovely. The person who booked us in was fine but basically the domes are stand alone units with kitchens so we didn't get any service. Our room was amazing. It was so fresh and open and yet also cozy. It just felt right. I thought that all that talk about round rooms being healthy was mumbo jumbo but I did feel good. The place had a lovely contemporary design to it. The bathroom was luxuryious. The main building was very cool to explore and the outdoor hot tub was just what we needed. The plush towels were devine. The town is small and rustic but the people were lovely. We bought groceries, a bottle of wine and rented a film to watch on my laptop (no TV) and had a lovely stay. Best part of it was that our dog was welcomed in too. We had spent the same cash staying at crapy motels in BC and were delighted with Dome Quixote. I would stay here again. In fact my husband and I have spent the past 6 months investigating various building models and hope to build our own dome one day!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

Attended a wedding in Silverton and were hosted here. Although the peculiar looking "beehive" style buildings were a bit inhibitory, the place is in perfect shape inside with wood flooring throughout, common kitchen area spotlessly clean. Fresh ground coffee available (self-brew) 24/7. Fridge available in kitchen. Bedrooms scandinavian style, cool "downies". No TV. No cell phone access. Wireless internet throughout. No proper chairs in the bedroom, which I assume is meant for sleeping after days hiking or skiing the mountains. Lovely "common room" upstairs with reading materials, work desks. Perfect outdoor hot tub. Very peaceful setting. Romantic old buildings in neighbourhood. Slocan Lake half a mile walk away.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

My wife and I took a vacation to this area and stayed at Dome Quixote. It was a very relaxing staying here. Clean, bright, comfortable. Large common area, hot tub, sauna, common kitchen. Everything we wanted and more. The service and all the staff we interacted with was excellent. We definitely will be going back. My only complaint is not directed at Dome Quixote but at New Denver itself. There seems a shortage of eating establishments in the town. that didn't bother us too much as we made our own breakfasts and were traveling to other areas and eating elsewhere.

  • Liked — The architecture.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2008

Very comfortable accomodation in unusual "dome" cottages in an interesting small, ex-mining, community and a beautiful setting. Well equipped self catering in the cottage and good common facilities in the complex.
New Denver is a sleepy town that time seems to have passed by in many ways, but that makes for a relaxing and pleasant environment. Very pleasant locals (but - apart from the local liquor store - most of them close up and go home before nightfall!). The town is home to a very interesting museum on one of the darker aspects of Canada (and the US's) past - the Nikkei internment memorial centre.

  • Liked — Private and peaceful accomodaton
  • Disliked — Lack of places to eat in town in the evening
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2006

My wife and I spent 2 nights at Villa Dome Quixote in New Denver BC during our honeymoon and loved it! The lodge is very unique - it consists of several round dome buildings that are constructed from timber ends (forestry industry waste). The construction method has won several environmental awards.

Dome Quixote offers lodge rooms with either private or shared baths, or newly built standalone cottages which is where we stayed. Our "dome" had a queen size log bed, kitchenette, kitchen table and chairs, couch and coffee table (modern design with lots of Ikea) as well as a good size bathroom. There are neat paper lights on the wall which give a great atmosphere. There's also a nice outdoor patio with table and chairs.

The service at Dome Quixote was excellent. Joan was really friendly and even picked some flowers from their garden and put them in our room for our arrival when she heard it was our honeymoon. The lodge has a spa with outdoor hot tub and sauna which we enjoyed. They also offer yoga in a unique domed studio which we had intended to try out, but we slept in and missed it. The lodge is on the main road which we initially were concerned about, but it ended up being no problem since there is virtually no traffic.

Slocan Lake is a few minutes walk past the restaurants and shops of New Denver. Joan gave us great directions for walking trails and beaches in the area. The lake was a perfect temperature for swimming.

The rates were very reasonable and you get a discount if you stay for multiple nights. Dome Quixote was a highlight of our honeymoon. Highly recommended!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Dome Quixote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Dome Quixote

Address: 602 6th Avenue, Highway 31A, New Denver, British Columbia V0G 1S0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > New Denver
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in New Denver
Number of rooms: 10

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Dome Quixote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.