We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so wished we could have stayed longer!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Dome Quixote

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Denver
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Dome Quixote
Save
You added Villa Dome Quixote to your Saves list
602 6th Avenue, Highway 31A, New Denver, British Columbia V0G 1S0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Winnipeg
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“so wished we could have stayed longer!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

we booked 2 nights here only because they were full the nights before and after. once we'd checked in and stayed our 2 days we were very much lamenting that we couldn't have called sooner in the year and gotten more nights in this WONDERFUL cottage and town! the cottage is spacious and clean and sweet. the little patio outside it was so enjoyable as well. we had no cell service and only internet in the main building so life slowed way down. so good. the hot tub looked wonderful but we were there on hot days so did not use it - next time! you can make your own meals in the tiny kitchen and use BBQs but we ate in town instead. there are a few neat restaurants, a lake to kayak on and swim in, fun shops to browse, and a bike trail nearby that can't be beat for interesting (galena mountain biking trail). although the price of the cottage was abit higher than our budget for 2 weeks in hotels, we gladly paid the bill and hope we can come back sometime. we LOVED our time in New Denver!

Room Tip: if you can stay in a cottage and not in the main "lodge", you get your own patio, etc. it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

PROS: Super service, beautiful scenery, simple necessities, common areas are nice, sauna, hot tub, no tvs clocks or phones.

CONS: We knew to expect the minimalism but felt it was just kind of cheap. The beds are like futons, the furnishings are like a dorm room, the bathroom vanity looks homemade and did not even have room for a toiletries bag, the shower was tiny. We were in a room in the main dome and it was like staying in a bedroom.

If we ever stayed here again we would try and stay in a private dome, and probably bring our own pillows.

Room Tip: Stay in a private dome if you are looking for privacy. Stay in the main dome if you want to socializ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

I have just spent my first night here and was so impressed. A European experience in the beautiful West Kootenays! So much value for the money - I have booked again for the Thanksgiving weekend. I talked to the owner last night, and was so pleased to see the focus on customer comforts and satisfaction. It is an experience I hope to have many times in the future!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here for four nights in July 2013, saw the images and reviews and decided to leave Nelson for New Denver.
This place is AMAZING! Nice, clean, "everything" you need is there. The design of the domes is fun/funky and VERY functional, the furnishings (part from the log beds) areall IKEA (not a bad thing) and the people you meet here are just friendly. The grounds are nicely manicured and "peaceful". It is private, yet close to everything.

There is no A/C here - one concern for us traveling with dogs when we heard about temps in the upper 90ies - but it all worked out great. Open up over night and air it out, close up during the day and the domes will provide you with a very comfortable environment. The dogs LOVED the cool concrete floor in the domes after coming back from a hike.

Place has a very nice hot tub and BBQ behind the main lodge, there is (for those staying in rooms) a small communal (very clean) kitchen with access to fridge, coffee maker, micro, etc.The upstairs of the main lodge is a large open and airy library/reading room. Great area to meet fellow travelers, enjoy looking at maps, reading about the construction of the domes , or just "hanging out".

Unless you come with a large RV, there is ample parking, and once you have parked, you really do not need to touch the car again as long as you hang in New Denver. Everything is within walking distance.

I am borderline questioning to publish this review, as if the "Dome" (and New Denver) gets too much business, the amazing tranquility of this place is gone...

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong anywhere here. Be nice to Joan and her staff, and they will tru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Very funky and unique property. Owner is very accommodating and happy to share her knowledge of the area - places to eat etc. Our 2 story unit was more than we needed in terms of space (just my husband and I) nicely appointed with anything you need - if it isn't in the unit, they will lend it to you from the lodge. Must see the Japanese Internment museum while there- very well done. All in all , we will be back when we return to cycle more of the Galena Trail.

Room Tip: I think any of these domes are equal- I didn't stay in the lodge so can't speak to that
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at Villa Dome Quixote for two nights in July, 2013, and we can say without reservation that the excellent reviews recorded by others are entirely warranted. The two storey unit that we occupied was perfectly clean and tidy, furnished with all that we needed, and close to "downtown" New Denver. There is a beauty and peacefulness to the gardens on this property which we enjoyed by sitting and reading on the patio next to our cottage. We plan to go back to New Denver next year, and the Villa Dome Quixote will be our first choice of accommodation in this lovely village.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here twice in the last 5 years. The villa is an absolute gem. Unique architecture combined with a peaceful atmosphere exemplifies that one must slow down in the Kootenays.

The room was simple but clean and well appointed. No tv in the whole hotel which means you are guaranteed less screen time. There is wifi however. There are no real amenities in the room ( no fridge or microwave) but there is a common kitchen area with fridge and oven giving it almost a hostel like feel. There are detached cottages but I did not see inside one of them to comment.

There is a sauna and an outdoor hot tub.

The only challenge I can see is the booking procedure. Given the sleepy town of 500 residents, this is a small outfit with no 24 hr staffing. When booking I played phone tag leaving messages and also delays with email communication. It would be nice if they had an online availibility calendar, or a secure way to book online.
Other than that I am sure we will be back here as it is a beautiful place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Dome Quixote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Dome Quixote

Address: 602 6th Avenue, Highway 31A, New Denver, British Columbia V0G 1S0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > New Denver
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in New Denver
Number of rooms: 10

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Dome Quixote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.