We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Lund Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Historic Lund Hotel to your Saves list
Historic Lund Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1436 Highway 101, Lund, British Columbia V0N 2G0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lund
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Yes the photos do make it look nice . We had booked a superior room and were thoroughly disappointed by the standard of cleanliness - especially lots of human hair on the bathroom floor, dust layers on TV, DVD players . Also as per previous reviews the air con is very very noisy and wakes you up regularly every three or four minutes. Telling the receptionist at the front desk was not helpful at all - the reply I got was ' do you want me to clean your bathroom '!
Also we aere not allowed into several areas in the pub/restaurants due to a wedding - it seems that wedding guests get more priority over hotels guests who have paid for the custom.
Breakfast was rudimentary with no staff attending to refill the coffee pots , hot water kettle etc.
Overall - a bad experience which ruined our stay in Lund and forcing us to cut short our trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    25
    21
    14
    5
See reviews for
8
44
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The staff are nice and the hotel is clean, but perhaps the idea of the "Historic Lund Hotel" is more enticing than the actuality of it. It's rather pricey for what it is and there just isn't much around there. It might be better as a stop off while boating. Once you've been there, there is little incentive to return. We probably won't be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was our second trip to the Historical Lund Hotel and a much nicer experience (see my first review for our other trip) We returned here because we loved the peace and quiet and the stunning location. It's not a four star hotel by any means and please don't be fooled by how amazing it comes across on the official website. If you book a room with a balcony and a sea view, it is expensive but you enjoy what you get. The rooms are spacious and beautiful and the views spectacular. A few comments on here about cleanliness but we didn't have any problem with that - our room was spotless. We did, however, have a terrible problem with mossies but what can you do? It's nature and nothing the hotel can do about that! The menu is not much more than pub food - this is not a criticism but an observation. We ate there and we liked it. We also visited Nancy's Bakery this time around and can see why people highly recommend it; cinnamon buns and coffee for breakfast, mmm mmm!
Cannot comment on anything else other than the hotel as for us it was just a one night stop over before heading over to Vancouver Island. Also didn't get to use the hot tub for two reasons: firstly we couldn't find it and then decided it was too hot to get in a warm bubble bath anyway! If you're expecting a four or five star Ritz with a la carte dining, then this def. isn't for you. If you're looking for a fairly mediocre hotel in a stunning and quiet location (and are willing to pay for the sea view rooms) then this is for you.
I don't know if he is still there but Korey was on reception when we arrived and he was fabulous; a real credit to the Lund team.

Room Tip: To make your stay worthwhile, spend a bit of extra money and pick a full sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The photos on the website give the air of far more space ... Don't be deceived
We had a room with 2 beds (not even a double I'd say ) and no room to swing a cat yet it was known we have 6 in our family ... Nightmare
The air con is noisy and the fly problem is pretty bad - I've came away with lovely souvenir insect bites
We didn't dine in the hotel at all as we entered the reception area to be greeted by a swarm of flies which wasn't exactly appealing , therefore we went to Nancy's for our meals during our two night stay ( fabulous bakery)
The views in Lund are stunning and the water taxi service over to the island is fab
However the hotel is barely 2 star in my opinion and if you are expecting comfort I'd suggest you avoid

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I stayed in June 2013. It's not terrible but like previous reviewers have pointed out, the rooms are generally clean but a bit tatty. The wifi doesn't work outside of the lobby, There are TVs but no channels work. The front desk staff are super unhelpful.

There are better hotels in Powell River, stay here at Lund only if you have to. It's backpacker+.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Our recent stay at this hotel was on 29-30 April, the end of the low season. Room rate was $75.00 per night and we rate it at 2 1/2 star. It was reasonably clean but lacked attention to detail, eg. the small fridge freezer was almost completely iced over. However, all in all it is good value for the price. The view over the Lund Harbour is spectacular with an excellent view of "Forbidden Plateau", the glacier near Courtenay on Vancouver Island. The Hotel is just a view steps from Nancy's Bakery, a must place to visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lundhotel, Sale & Marketing Manager at Historic Lund Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Guest feedback is crucial to the Hotel to help provide the best experience possible. We are grateful for your comments and actions have been taken to remedy your concerns. We hope you visit the Historic Lund Hotel again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

It's nor the hotel, it's the location! You drive along the sunshine coast of british columbia, up to the very end, yes, the street ends! Two brothers from sweden, exactly Lund, settled in the bay first. They came to Canada around 1890 because they red in a newspaper in Sweden it never rains at the west coast. Soon they found out it does, vut they decided to stay, the place was jusr too beautiful. The Hotel is a relic of these old times, build in wood, looks beautiful and romantic, but IS NOT a modern 4* comfort hotel. The view is breath taking!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Historic Lund Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Lund Hotel

Address: 1436 Highway 101, Lund, British Columbia V0N 2G0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Lund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Lund Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oceanfront 1905 Historic Lund Hotel is located at the tip of BC's beautiful Sunshine Coast, at the Gateway to renowned Desolation Sound. The heart of the quaint village of Lund, the Historic Lund Hotel features 31 renovated guest rooms, as well as pub, restaurant and decks featuring un-obscured ocean views and outstanding dining. The hotel offers activities such as dinner & sightseeing cruises as well as kayak rentals & guided tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Historic Lund Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Hotel Lund

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Lund Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.