We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cellars Restaurant at Bear Hotel

Cellars Restaurant at Bear Hotel
63 High Street, Cowbridge, Wales
01446-774814
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 35 restaurants in Cowbridge
Price range: $23 - $46
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reading, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Great food with good service in a relaxed setting. Very nice.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Town_Country_Hotels, Owner at Cellars Restaurant at Bear Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Thanks you for your lovely review and hope you visit us again when you're next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    18
    8
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Good quality easy dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

The bear Hotel provides an interesting menu with many of the traditional favourites associated with bar eating. The restaurant/lounge also provides a relaxing environment despite often being busy.
The staff are very polite and efficient; including the bar staff. Reasonably priced menu and tasty food.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Town_Country_Hotels, Owner at Cellars Restaurant at Bear Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to write your review, it's always a pleasure to receive such lovely feedback.
Hope you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

The Bear is not what its all made out to be, food was average and over priced.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Town_Country_Hotels, Owner at Cellars Restaurant at Bear Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Apologies first for the delay in responding, and for the disappointing visit you experienced in August.

It is only through receiving customer comments that are we able to continually review and improve standards at the hotel and we thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We hope you give us the opportunity to show that this visit is not the standard normally evident at the Bear Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North wales
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Relaxed, friendly eating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Five adults and a wriggly toddler ate at The Bear Hotel on a very bust Saturday lunchtime and although we had to wait quite a long time for our food everything else was just great. The restaurant is spread over several rooms and was absolutely packed. There was also a wedding upstairs and the bar was very busy too - Wales v England on tv so I suppose we can forgive the waiting time.
The menu is quite extensive and there is a child's menu. Our 'child' did not like any of the meals but a bowl of baked beans was brought instead. He likes to wander about and this caused no problems for staff who seemed quite used to children. The stuffed bear in reception was a great attraction too.
I had a chickpea and pumpkin curry accompanied by a lovely plaf. My husband had bear sausage, which turned out to be a cumberland sausage and not bear after all. My son in law had a steak which was not the best he had ever eaten but he enjoyed it all the same. My daughters had sandwiches whch were fine.
I would definitely recommend the Bear and look forward to returning.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Town_Country_Hotels, Owner at Cellars Restaurant at Bear Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Thank you for your lovely review and I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal, even with a wriggly toddler!

Your comments have been passed on and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good..once they got going”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

The service was so slow at the start ...20 mins to get drinks... this is a pub, no? and we almost left to sample some of the nearby alternatives. But the food was pretty decent -nicely cooked lamb for example and the service picked up once the staff realised that we did actually want to eat there!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Town_Country_Hotels, Owner at Cellars Restaurant at Bear Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Thanks for taking time to write your review and apologies for the delay you experienced with service.

This is not the normal standard usually evident at the Bear and I’ll be passing your comments onto the team.

I’m delighted you enjoyed your meals once you received them and do hope this experience will not deter you from visiting again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cellars Restaurant at Bear Hotel also viewed

Cowbridge, Vale of Glamorgan
Cowbridge, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Cowbridge, Vale of Glamorgan
Cowbridge, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to Cellars Restaurant at Bear Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cellars Restaurant at Bear Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.