We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plas Llanmihangel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cowbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Plas Llanmihangel
Save
You added Plas Llanmihangel to your Saves list
Cowbridge CF71 7LQ, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Cowbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Virginia, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2007

Charming, and romantic! David and Susan could not be better hosts. Everything was better than we hoped for! Next time, we'll stay longer.

  • Liked — the scenery and the history
  • Disliked — it was all great!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
18
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2006

I was returning to the British isles for the first time in many years (was born here) and wanted to stay in an historic property far from the madding crowd! I wasn't disappointed - this place is absolultely wonderful. The road there takes you back in time and then you round the corner to a place that will take your breath away. the delightful and lovingly quirky owners, Sue and David, were there to greet us - no pretenses here. They're down to earth people who have faithfully restored this magical place just to the point that to have done anything more would have moved it into a more modern era. If you're looking for a Hilton, this isn't the place for you. If you're fussy about not having one speck of dust, this isn't the place either! And if you want to be waited on hand and foot, stay home. David's architectural background lends itself well to his pride when describing the various special corners of the house. We were allowed to explore and I relished the opportunity to just sit in the gorgeous wood paneled reception room imagining the times gone by. Our evening meals were scrumptious and made even more enjoyable when joined by our hosts, especially Sue, who loves to talk politics over a good glass of wine. We loved them both and were sad to say goodbye. I plan to return with my kids next year - it's really an experience every history buff should have at least once in their lives! By the way, the price was astounding in its value too.

  • Liked — historic beauty and intrigue of the property
  • Disliked — hmmmmmmmm
  • Tips/Secrets — stay as long as you can
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2006

My husband and I stayed at this B&B for two nights in April while attending a wedding in Cardiff, and loved it. The house is fabulous - a really beautiful old building (dating back to the 12th or 13th century, as far as I recall) - the present owners have been restoring over the last 20 years or so, and have done a wonderful job. There's just so much character - thick walls, lots of nooks and crannies, gargoyles, panelled rooms, a baronial chamber for dining in... The furnishings are traditional, comfortable and homely. There are several acres of grounds to wander round in. The house is set in the most beautiful countryside, about 3 miles from the town of Cowbridge. It is easy to find, as the directions on the website are very good, but the roads are very narrow and twisty. There is a wonderful old church opposite the house, so you can't miss it. You would need to have your own transport staying here, as there doesn't seem to be public transport. The house is surrounded by greenery, and the setting is so peaceful, you'll have a wonderful night's sleep. The hosts were very welcoming, and we had a bedroom and private bathroom in a little tower. Breakfast was the standard cooked fare. I believe that dinner is available by arrangement, but we ate out in Cowbridge, where there are several restaurants (we highly recommend the 'Shampan' Indian restaurant, and also the 'Bush Inn' at the medieval village of St. Hilary, not far away). Cowbridge also has numerous appealing small shops, selling antiques and the like. Overall, we loved staying here, and would definitely stay again if we were in Wales - it doesn't have the facilities of a hotel (pool etc), but has so much more character. The only downside was the cost of taxis to Cardiff (a distance of about 10 miles) - we were charged £39 for a return trip, which seemed extortionate.

  • Liked — Character and tranquillity
  • Disliked — No dislikes
  • Tips/Secrets — Own transport required
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2006

The owners of this well-run B&B, David and Sue Beer, are very welcoming and helpful. The house itself is extraordinary: a lovingly restored, rambling, 16th century manor with 13th century parts. The walls are a couple of feet thick. Rooms are nicely furnished with old furniture. We had a whole area of the house to ourselves (which is apparently not unusual for couples when the B&B is not too busy) - a room and a bathroom down a passage. It was silent at night. The communal area comprises an oak-pannelled 'baronial' hall, where breakfast is served, and a beautiful sitting room. Sue and David provide an outstanding dinner on request. The surrounding area is idyllic - just two or three miles from Cowbridge (and not far from Cardiff), but hidden down a good but empty single-track road.

  • Liked — The house, the setting, the dinner
  • Disliked — Nothing bad
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2006

We didn't know what to expect when we booked Plas Llanmihangel but we couldnt have imagined how delightful this ancient house and the couple who are lovingly restoring it would be.

It is a very large and very old house - I think a former manor house, around 700 years old in parts. Our accommodation was spacious and comfortable. Dinner was superb, as was breakfast and we regretted we'd only been able to stay one night.

Our hosts, the Beers, were delightful and we hope to return for a longer stay one day.

Plas Llanmihangel is located a few miles out of Cowbridge in a tiny settlement consisting of this house, an ancient church and a large barn (which may have been converted into housing).

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plas Llanmihangel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Llanmihangel

Address: Cowbridge CF71 7LQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Cowbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Cowbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Plas Llanmihangel Hotel Cowbridge
Plas Llanmihangel Cowbridge, Vale Of Glamorgan, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plas Llanmihangel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.