We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay in a lovely location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bear Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Bear Hotel to your Saves list
The Bear Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   63 High Street, Cowbridge CF71 7AF, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowbridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic stay in a lovely location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

Stayed in the hotel for 3 nights to attend a wedding, we stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment attached to the hotel.

Cowbridge is a lovely town and very pretty. The staff at the hotel were brilliant and very helpful they really helped to make stressful travelling with our toddler much easier. The
staff on reception dealt with queries very quickly and efficiently. The food in the hotel generally and also at the wedding reception was brilliant.

We had a great time at the Bear and would definitely recommend it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    87
    31
    15
    10
See reviews for
46
72
6
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
west sussex
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

We wanted a place for a couple of nights to attend a family wedding. Requested a quiet room and was recommended from the reception that because of the hotels location fronting onto the high street that the apartment would be the best option, an up grade (chargeable). This was located a couple of buildings further up the high street,not in the hotel itself.
The hotel is unremarkable in a local style at the front and 60's concrete at the rear and it is not clear on arrival where to park,it being impossible in the High Street. Staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is in a vaulted dingy room with cobwebs liberally spread along the ceiling.It looked tired and in need of a deep clean and a fresh coat of paint. There was a wet dog smell greeting the restaurant area which persisted during our brief visit.
The apartment initially looked ok after we had walked a rear lane of rubbish filled skips. The rear of the building looked as if the builders had only recently moved out. The car park was overgrown and the few shrubs that might have brightened a rather austere entrance lay shriveled and dead in their sad pots.
Upon closer inspection the apparently freshly decorated building was not. impressive. The kitchen area was shabby,the worktop had shrunk away from the tiling,mugs were chipped and not clean. There were mouse droppings behind the kicking board which were only removed after a second call to reception. Furniture was tired,chandeliers dusty .Shower room poorly finished. The apartment was I assumed form the webs ite the best room,it was badly overpriced,it was noisy but i was warned....Staff lovely, they deserve better. Honestly, pretentious and a bit of a dump.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

Recently went to a wedding function here, beautiful location fantastic food great service overall one of the best wedding venues I've ever seen

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

This hotel is in a prime location and could be fantastic. The renovations to the bar area have improved it but they just can't seem to get the food right. We had lunch and it all seemed to be out of the freezer. It was not that cheap and the chips could only be described as floury orange and frozen. With the wealth of local food out there in the area they could really capitalise on it. Instead they seem to have gone down the catering route...

We keep giving it a go in the hope that the food improves but in 10 years I have not had 1 truly good meal there.

Can't comment on the rooms as I did not stay the night.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

we had a pleasure in staying in the bear hotel this month. a lovely little hotel with a fantastic location in the middle of Cowbridge high street where there is fantastic shops and restaurants in abundance. would recommend anyone in the area to have a afternoon there at least.
fantastic staff, food was great and my husband appreciated the supply of ales. we will definitely be back to the bear and Cowbridge!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

My husband and friends organised a surprised 30th birthday meal at the Cellars restaurant in the hotel. My husband and I also stayed at the hotel. From the moment we arrived I thought the service and attitude of the staff was excellent.

I live in Cardiff and so have been to cowbridge on many ocassions. The area is a thriving Market town with lovely boutique style shops so the location of the hotel is great.

Our room (No. 9) was great, clean nicely decorated and nicely located at the end of a corridor. The only minor comment I would make which I also left a comment with the hotel was that the pillows weren't great- but this is minor.

Our meal in the Cellars restaurant was lovely. Food was tasty, very good
portion size and piping hot. The service provided by the waiters and waitresses was excellent, especially the head waiter who ensured everyone was happy at all times and liaised with my husband throughout the night to ensure all surprises went to plan!

I would definitely recommend this hotel to those who want to arrange a special ocassion. Thanks to all the staff at the Bear who help made my birthday celebrations special.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2010

I recently called at the bar and was served by an indifferent girl and also the waitress that brought the tea. Barmaid served drink and did not say anything or waitress. About time general manager instructed staff in attitude and perhaps herself.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bear Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear Hotel

Address: 63 High Street, Cowbridge CF71 7AF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Cowbridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cowbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bear Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Bear Hotel is situated on the High Street of the beautiful market town of Cowbridge with origins that date back to the 12th century. The hotel is steeped in history and boasts individually decorated en-suite bedrooms, roaring log fires, a unique stone vaulted Cellars Restaurant, a Real Ale Bar and non-smoking Lounge Bars serving gastro style meals. The function suites are amongst the finest in the area. Weddings are a specialty with the emphasis on personal, friendly service. It also serves as an excellent conference venue with free parking and high speed WiFi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Bear Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Hotel Cowbridge
The Bear Hotel Cowbridge, Vale Of Glamorgan, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bear Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.