We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proper pub grub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sycamore Tree Inn

Sycamore Tree Inn
Coed Masarnen | Colwinston, Cowbridge, Wales
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 38 Restaurants in Cowbridge
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Epsom, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Proper pub grub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Popped in to the sycamore tree on a Friday evening with my parents, they told me it was good and it didn't let me down. Good honest pub food, good prices, friendly welcoming staff. Food was fresh and quick to be served, good portions and tasty. I will be back soon

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    10
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice Country Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This unfortunately seems to be a dying breed in this country. A proper country pub in a nice village location which serves excellent, home made, good value food in good portions in a nice relaxed atmosphere. We visited here on a Friday night, and although initially quiet, it soon filled up and, having had our meals, it was unsurprising. All the food which we saw come out looked superb. This pub is fairly local for us so we will definitely visit again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pentonville
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Just off the A48, the food is always good, the local steak particularly. Portions are big so plan to be there a while. Puddings are also lovely, a very lovely sticky toffee and some massive ice creams which I always have to help the kids finish off. Prices are very reasonable for quality of food served. Would be £5 per head higher at least in town.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Goo food, service & value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Really enjoyed our Saturday evening visit & was surprised that there were not more people dining, tho' the bar was well supported. Fairly typical pub menu, but quality & service were first class.Brain's real ales are always a popular choice.Will return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Been to the Sycamore a few times and generally the food and welcome has been excellent. The menu is a little limited but good value. The first visit I had a peppercorn sauce that was delicious and rarely tasted better. The second time it was a little disappointing but maybe because I was spoilt the first time. Anyway, well worth a try.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sycamore Tree Inn also viewed

Cowbridge, Vale of Glamorgan
Cowbridge, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Cowbridge, Vale of Glamorgan
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to Sycamore Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sycamore Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.