We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place, breakfasts to die for, horses loved it too!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheepleys

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sheepleys to your Saves list
Sheepleys
Llandow, Cowbridge CF31 7PA, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Cowbridge B&B and Inns
Barry, South Wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing place, breakfasts to die for, horses loved it too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We spent a wonderful 2 nights at Sheepley's B&B. Great place to explore the countryside. I cannot fault the service we received from Wendy and Roger. The breakfasts were divine and the rooms are really clean and the beds are extremely comfortable. Wendy provided us with a detailed map and information on tide times for our trek over to Ogmore by Sea, which proved invaluable. The horses paddock was clean and secure, the grass was fresh and green. Colin the donkey is adorable. I would recommend this place to anyone without hesitation, we will certainly be returning in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
12
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barry, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

have just spent 3 wonderful days at Sheepleys! we took our horses on a little holiday there too and they loved the lush green grass as we did our accomodation. had a lovely welcome not only from wendy and roger but also from colin the donkey, he`s so cute! a perfect base for exploring the beaches, the countryside or even cardiff. the breakfasts are really high quality infact the best we`ve ever had. would high recommend to all but if you know of any horse owners that fancy taking their horses on holiday, then this is the place! can`t wait to visit again :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Very friendly welcome from the hosts. Beautiful comfortable room with all that is needed for a relaxing stay. Great breakfasts. Wonderful courtyard with a range of friendly pets: Dogs , sheep, Donkey, finches. A great place to base yourself for the region.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Sheepleys is a very nice and friendly B&B in a rural setting, near Cowbridge and a short drive from Cardiff. It is also not far from the attractive coastline and only about an hour's drive via the M4 to the beautiful Gower, just west of Swansea.

Our room was very nice and breakfast was very good.

Sheepleys is clearly signposted from the B4268 (which is the road by which you would approach coming from Cardiff or the westbound M4) but is not signposted from any other direction. The "Where we are" section of the Sheepleys web site contains directions from Cardiff and the M4 - though, puzzlingly, the fact that the B&B is off the B4268 is not mentioned in these directions.

If you are coming from anywhere else, finding Sheepleys is very difficult, as the only signage is from the B4268. The Sheepleys web site does not include a street name; the address is just given as "Llandow" (the village which it is near, rather than in). The Google map on the Sheepleys web site shows the B&B as being in Sutton Road, which it is not.

We came from the west and followed our sat nav's directions to Sheepley's post code which, like the Google map, took us to a commercial unit in Sutton Road, to the east of Llandow village. The notice outside the commercial unit included the unit's address, with the same post code. We drove up and down Sutton Road, but could not see Sheepleys, or any sign to it. There was no mobile phone signal (on 3 or Asda mobile - the two networks we use) so we could not phone for help. As the address given was Llandow, we followed a road sign to Llandow and drove round the village, but still could not find Sheepleys. We then drove back to Sutton Road and saw someone walking a dog, who told us it was round the corner, further away from the village.

When we arrived we were told that this is a known problem, due to the size of the post code zone. We feel that Sheepleys should replace the map on their web site with a map showing the correct location of the B&B and should add a warning to sat nav users that they will be taken to Sutton Road, with directions from there. They should also add road numbers to the directions from Cardiff and the M4 and add directions for guests arriving from the west. Meanwhile, we suggest that - to avoid getting lost - anyone arriving from any direction should approach via the B4268.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheepleys, Owner at Sheepleys, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback, and glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am so sorry that you found us hard to find, and have taken on board your comments as to how we can improve our website. Our website originally showed the exact location of Sheepleys on the Google map, but for some reason this seems to have reverted .

I am in the process of having a new website built and will now ensure that it not only states the road numbers & exact location, but will also put a note on there that we are situated 'near' Llandow Village, and that if using Sat Nav you will be directed to Sutton Road.

We always try to warn our guests that they should use our directions rather than Sat Nav and am sorry that this did not happen in your case. However, we are committed to improving our Customer Service and thank you for bringing this to our attention, as this will benefit future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Great room with thoughtful and friendly owners who provide a proper Welsh breakfast. Good for exploring the southern Welsh coast, a ten minute drive from the pretty town of Cowbridge. Walks accessible but only afrer a drive. Highly recommended, especially if you have or like animals.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We have just enjoyed a lovely sleep and great hospitality at Sheepleys. The room was fresh, airey and clean with everything we could think of needing, and I'm sure if we had required something else (such as an ironing board) then we had only to ask the two wonderfully helpful hosts. The guest lounge was comfy and stocked with all the information a visitor to the area could need, neatly divided into sections such as walks, local info and Cardiff area info.

I have only rated 4 stars (very good) for sleep quality as I'm used to a darker room at home and since the sun was shining (it has been a great weekend) I was woken by the light room early in the morning, though this meant I could lie in and listen to the dawn chorus and sheep waking up, bliss really.

The house was quiet on a side road and the family's animals made a homey atmosphere, though they are kept well away from the guest rooms. There was space to park off the road and a garden to sit in should you wish, a great sun trap.

Overall a lovely peaceful stay.

PS. Saving the best till last: the breakfasts were great. My first experience of lava cake served around a full fry up, but with so many fruit, breads and cereals as well there was everything you would wish for to set you up for the day. Just lovely!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Chosen as our son and young family live nearby. Arrived relatively late but greeted with extremely warm and friendly welcome. Sheep everywhere (but inside the house these are all non-animate) bringing huge smiles to faces. Really clean and fresh throughout, lovely decor. Nice touch of a guests TV room. Great night sleep to arise to the highlight of a perfectly sourced and cooked breakfast - nothing lacking. Will be baaaaaack :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheepleys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheepleys

Address: Llandow, Cowbridge CF31 7PA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Cowbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Cowbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the market towns of Cowbridge and Llantwit Major, Sheepleys is the ideal place to stay for weekend breaks, business trips, romantic getaways, visiting family and events in Cardiff. You will appreciate all the comforts expected in this former farmhouse with light and airy rooms which have been tastefully furnished and decorated. Relax in our cosy guest lounge and enjoy a delicious welsh breakfast in our elegant dining room. Twin/double rooms are £70 per night and single occupancy £50. Ample parking. Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sheepleys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheepleys Cowbridge, Vale Of Glamorgan, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheepleys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.