We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food lets this place down.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Fox

The Red Fox
Penllyn, Cowbridge CF71 7RQ, Wales
01446 772352
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 38 Restaurants in Cowbridge
Price range: $0 - $18
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: cf71 7rq near bridgend
canada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Food lets this place down.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Nice welcoming pub,but food really lets it down,too much on plate[smallest plates]thai chicken curry,and full of chicken ,and scragg ends ,rice cool .Fish looked bit dry,and mushy peas in a glass tumbler,instead of a nice llttle pot.When we asked for a floater coffee,it was brought to us by hand [not carried on a saucer]and splilling out,by a waitess who did'nt look very clean herself,and did'nt say sorry for spilling it.plus the coffee was luke warm.So in all a waste of money.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    29
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“ALWAYS GREAT FOOD, BEER & ATMOSPHERE !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

We are frequent visitors to the Red Fox and have never been let down. Always a warm welcome even when very busy. Good selection of food with generous helpings. (I particularly like the curries, lots of lean meat). The beers are kept very well and there is always a good choice on tap and expert knowledge about the beer & food from the bar staff. The atmosphere is very relaxed and the service very efficient .
We will go back as often as we can!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

A fantastic little village pub to enjoy a good meal. All the staff are always very jolly and pleasant to talk to despite bring busy. The food in The Red Fox is ALWAYS delightful and I don't think I have had a bad meal in all the time I have been going there. Try the spicy meatballs if they are on the specials board. Not to be missed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llantwit Major, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“basic pub grub”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Beautiful setting ,great staff ,you walk into the restaurant its amazing the setting the ambience and then the food arrives and bang the illusion is shattered .The food really lets thIs place down.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A WELCOME AWAITS!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We went to this pub Sunday for the first time. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. We were shown immediately to our table. Lunch was delicious with a good choice we had the traditional Sunday lunch but there were alternatives if you wanted a different choice. It was served with assortment of vegetables and the best red cabbage I have had. I was given the recipe so will definitely try!!! If you want nice food and lovely atmosphere this the Red Fox will be for you.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Fox also viewed

Cowbridge, Vale of Glamorgan
Cowbridge, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Cowbridge, Vale of Glamorgan
Cowbridge, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to The Red Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Fox, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.