We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Scotland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coinachan Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Coinachan Guest House to your Saves list
Coinachan Guest House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Gairlochy Road, Spean Bridge PH34 4EG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 21 Spean Bridge B&B and Inns
middx
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best in Scotland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

This is the best b&b we have stayed in in a long time Excellent warm welcome clean rooms .We was on a weekend trip with mum and daughter in tow had a good time lots to see and do a hidden gem

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

Arrived here after a long trek from Newcastle.

We were greated with a smile and the lady in charge was very pleasant.

Rooms were comfortable albeit a little small.

Breakfast was nice.

I was very grateful as my husband left a top in the room and the owner arranged to have it returned to us.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

Highly recommend this spot. Wonderful people and great food. A little removed from the WHW Obelisk in Fort William but well worth the effort. Also a great starting point for the Great Glen Way from Ft. William to Inverness. This place is special.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2007

My wife and I along with my parents stayed here during the August bank Holiday and will definitely return. We received a warm welcome from Joe on arrival, who after showing us to our room hurried away to make us some tea and coffee. Both rooms were immaculately presented, light, airy and with enough space to move around in. The drinks arrived and Joe spent a few minutes with us getting acquainted before leaving us to our own devises.

The rooms are off a small lounge/living room area that is very tastefully decorated and has a selection of CD's , DVD's , Sky TV and some eclectic reading materials, everything from Enid Blyton for the kids, local and national history, to the literary giant, a Scots Quair by Lewis Grassic Gibbon…there is also a selection of card/board games if you so wish. The whole area, as do the rooms oozes relaxation. Our room had windows on two sides. One side looking over the rear gardens and small pond to the distant mountains with the other window looking over the famous Commando Memorial, set against a backdrop of Ben Nevis and the Aonach Mor Range. It is a spectacular setting.

The on - suite bathroom was very modern and my wife and mother got very excited about the range of complimentary hand creams, toiletries and shampoo. I don't remember the brand but apparently they are very exclusive.

We soon met Dorothy and she was very helpful in advising us where to eat locally, her recommendation was spot on and we had a lovely meal in the small village of Royston, around 3 miles away. It was great to get back to the guest house and relax in the lounge area, rather than going directly to our rooms. The next morning breakfast was excellent, plenty of it great choice with additional toast, coffee and locally made jams and marmalades.
This is a wonderful guest house in a spectacular setting, if you couple that with Joe and Dorothy's enthusiasm, attention to detail and relaxed manner then it is actually one of the best guest houses in the country.

Tom Murray

  • Liked — Quality of Service, Attention to detail and setting
  • Disliked — Couldn't stay longer
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coinachan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coinachan Guest House

Address: Gairlochy Road, Spean Bridge PH34 4EG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Spean Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coinachan Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Coinachan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coinachan Guest House Spean Bridge, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coinachan Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.