We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lochside location, comfortable rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Loch Lochy, Spean Bridge PH34 4DZ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Spean Bridge
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
“Lochside location, comfortable rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

We stayed one night here, the room was big and comfortable with views over the loch, nice bathroom with plenty of warm water. Helpful staff who happily kept freezing some blue ice i needed for a sprained ankle. Good food both dinner and breakfast. Outside deck overlooking the loch has great potential but weather was a bit too cold on our stay. Plenty of indoor lounge space for a rainy day

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin4, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2010
Thank you for the great review and we hope that the ankle injury did not spoil your trip to the Highlands

kind regards

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    173
    64
    17
    15
See reviews for
75
389
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

My husband & I stayed for 3 nights in May 2010 and selected this hotel because of its loch side location and general access to other sight seeing locations. We stayed in Room 6 (Green & Grouse) and although at first slightly disappointed to be facing the front of the hotel and not the loch we found the room to be very comfortable, clean and well furnished and we were very happy there. Breakfast was taken in the Osprey Restaurant with views over the Loch every morning - what a way to start the day - and the scrambled efgg with smoked salmon was to die for. We also had dinner each evening and the food was excellent and well presented. Our compliments to the chef. In the late afternoons after busy days walking we relaxed on the decking with a cold drink and enjoyed the view. The staff were very helpful and friendly (especially Meg) and worked very hard to make our stay just perfect. Next time we come to Scotland we will definately return to the Letterfinlay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin4, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2010
Thank you both for the fab review and it was a pleasure to meet you ! we look forward to your return visit

kind regards

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

Spent 2 nights in the Sea Eagle room in the Lodge (a separate house next to the main hotel). This hotel is in a lovely location right on the bank of Loch Lochy - small enough to have great personal service but big enough to have ample parking and a great restaurant. We had breakfast and dinner both nights and thoroughly enjoyed both - the staff worked so hard and it was worth it. Our room had a veranda right outside which was nice and although the room itself was quite small (particularly the bathroom) we slept very well both nights. Would happily return here.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin4, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2010
Thank you for the kind review and we look forward to having you back at Letterfinlay in the near future
regards Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

We had lunch at Letterfinlay Lodge in March 2008 and vowed that when we travelled back to Scotland we had to stay there. Our one night stay was wondeful but far too short. Jamie was friendly and since the hotel was not busy due to the snowy, winter conditions we had a choice of very comfortable rooms. Dinner and breakfast were fantastic and we would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DINGWALL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

Well looked after by manager Kevin and his friendly and efficient staff. Smart bedrooms,good quality food. Outside decking area with great views across Loch Lochy. This is a great place to come to chill out and relax. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin4, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2010
Thank you very much for the Fab review and come back anytime
kind regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

This hotel is set on the banks of the loch, hence given it a wonderful location.

We stayed in a room in the new lodge, the standard was very high, it was furnished nicely with the benefit of a balcony overlooking the loch. The only downside being that the walls are very thin and you can hear everything from the next room!

The food is of a good quality, plentiful and reasonable priced again having the benefit of the restaurant having a lovely setting.

Overall I would recommend this hotel as a good base for exploring the surrounding area

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin4, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2010
Thank you for your lovely review and we hope you had a great holiday in the Highlands kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britian
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

The room was basic but comfortable. Although this hotel was held up to be dog friendly only the room was accessible for dogs. The food was good but not exceptional. The scenery takes your breath away and there are lots a walks to try out.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin4, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2010
Thank you for your review ! however we feel that you have been very critical for the wrong reasons and your comments have been made on the back of you pet dog being asked to leave the bar/restaurant as pets are not allowed ! also his singing was terrible !!

Kind regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel

Address: Loch Lochy, Spean Bridge PH34 4DZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Spean Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel rests on the banks of Loch Lochy only 15 minutes from Fort William and boasts breathtaking views over the Great Glen. Watch the world sail by from our panoramic sundeck whilst enjoying the freshest produce and locally landed seafood carefully hand-cooked by our award-winning team of chefs. Retire in the evening to our cozy bedrooms, many of which have magnificent views over the loch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Letterfinlay Hotel Fort William
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel Spean Bridge, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.