We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Fifers from Freuchie” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Loch Lochy | Fort William, Spean Bridge PH34 4DZ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Spean Bridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Freuchie, United Kingdom
1 review
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“The Fifers from Freuchie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Just back from a 2 night break at this little gem a short distance from Spean Bridge which allowed us to enjoy all the local attractions without having to travel too far from the hotel. Our room overlooked the Loch & the views were stunning especially in the evening. The room was compact but really clean, warm & comfortable so no complaints. The hair drier was even decent, a necessity for someone with long hair.Lindsay & staff were friendly but professional & made us feel welcome. Food was really good,well presented & served with the minimum of fuss. Bottle of wine was on par with hotel prices.Will be back .

Room Tip: Room 10 slept really well with the sound of the water sending us to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for your very positive review and we look forward to you returning for another short break .We still have rooms available for our New Year celebration :) .kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    185
    66
    17
    15
See reviews for
80
419
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed here for three days on a short break for my partner's 50th birthday. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, which was made extra special by the obvious care and hard work of the staff, both front of house and in the kitchen. The food and service were second to none (even the porridge was delicious!). The speed with which the kitchen and waiting staff got great food out was astounding! One night we were late back through no fault of our own (minor epic on Ben Nevis) and were very kindly offered something to eat and a drink despite the late hour.

The room (three) was very spacious and immaculately kept, loads of hot water for the bath and a decent shower. It didn't have the views others have mentioned, but it was mostly dark when we were in it anyway so we didn't miss much.
A couple of hints for the owners;
Bar prices- a bottle of Magners cider at £4.95 was ridiculously overpriced and resulted in the embarrasment of your poor lass having to tell me the price and me nearly falling off my bar stool when I heard it. Needless to say I only drank one.... Drink pricing was the only complaint I heard among other guests as well.
Double glaze room three and cut out the traffic noise.

This would definately have been a five star rating but for the bar prices- and the hard working staff can't do much about that!

Room Tip: Room three is very spacious and has a bath. However it does not have the loch views others have ment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
We are very pleased to hear that you had such a great experience at Letterfinlay and i will pass on your kind comments to the team ! as for the statement regarding the price of Magners i think you should google the average price of a magners and you will see how reasonable our price is !! kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erskine
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel is a wee hidden gem. It is on the main road outside Spean Bridge and is handy for all attractions in the area. We stayed here for a three night break for our anniversary. Lindsay and her staff were all very nice. Our room was a standard double it was comfortable and decorated nicely and very clean. The views from the hotel were magnificent and we even caught site of a curious stag. The food was lovely, well presented, well cooked and very appetising. Service in the restaurant was quick and the food piping hot. We will certainly return should we be in the area again and cannot recommend it highly enough. Many thanks to Lindsay and her staff for making our stay a pleasant one.

Room Tip: Ask for a loch view you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
A big thank you from Lindsay and all the staff for the very kind review and it was our pleasure to have you . kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, our room was over looking the stunning loch and mountains and very helpful staff, for the first night we had dinner and drinks at the hotel went to pay our bill and where shocked at the cost never mind for the dinner 2 drinks cost over £8 so the next night we eat out and saved some money. Very poor plumbing within room 8 very noise and I Mean very noise where woken up a few times through the night. Hotel was a bit tired but clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Please can you tell me the name of the 5 star hotel where TWO glasses of wine will cost £7.80 ? I would like to take book a few nights there !! Letterfinlay offers excellent DBB packages and for the standard of food the value is amazing . We are sorry you chose to dine out on the second night and i heard that the special kebab was very nice . kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. We paid for an up grade and were allocated Room 19 which was very beautiful, well equipped with exceptional views of the Loch. The hotel was an ideal base for exploring the beautiful countryside and was a pleasure to retire to at the end of a busy day. Staff were very pleasant, helpful and most importantly had a bit of humour. The log fire and relaxing lounges were more than adequate and made a very relaxing environment. Food at the hotel was lovely and their small attentions to details have to be commended. Very relaxed dining room and the whole vibe of the hotel is very laid back. Staff dealt well with some negative comments about the price of Letterfinlay's house wine which were made in a rude and in a quite ignorant way with an audience - poor show. If you get the chance to stay at this little gem you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you at the Letterfinlay and thank you for your great comments ! it was unfortunate you had to observe the rude comments that our excellent staff have to put up with sometimes ! However they are well trained and know how to handle such rude guests ! Please come back at any time . Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Every couple wants their wedding to be perfect and ours was just that at the Letterfinlay Hotel. Nestled on the banks of Loch Lochy, this venue is surrounded by beautiful scenery and breathtaking views. Boasting charm and character, it was the perfect place for our wedding ceremony, photographs and reception on the 31st of August 2013.

Everything we needed was available including exclusive use of the dining room and sun deck for the afternoon, a superb meal that was well prepared and beautifully presented and comfortable accommodation for us and our guests. A lounge area was also available at the conclusion of our wedding where we were able to enjoy coffee, tea and wedding cake away from the other hotel guests. We were very well looked after from the time we arrived to our departure, nothing was too much trouble including hot toddies for the bride!

All weddings involve a great deal of preparation and our small one was no exception, so it was a delight to work with such professional and courteous staff who were able to ensure that every detail was taken care of. As we were such a small group, it was a particularly lovely touch that we were able to be seated together for meals during our entire stay which allowed us to spend some quality time with our families as they had travelled a long way to be with us. We had also been told by the hotel staff about two Stags that had been coming down the hill across the road to feed so it was like icing on the cake when they did appear much to the delight of all those wanting photographs.

We had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend The Letterfinlay Hotel as a wedding venue. Our thanks must go to the Owners and Staff for helping to make our special day perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
It was a pleasure to host your fantastic wedding at Letterfinlay Lodge . We enjoyed meeting and mingling with your wonderful family and friends and look forward to having you all back in the not to distant future . Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, Scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

It's hard to book the perfect weather in Scotland at any time of the year but almost unheard of in October. So to have 3 days of gorgeous sunshine and a stunning location to stay in definitely made this weekend one of the best for us.

The hotel has an amazing setting on the banks of Loch Lochy surrounded by some of our country's stunning mountains. We were very surprised to be given a suite to ourselves which was very clean and modern set just behind the hotel itself.

We ate in the hotel both nights of our stay and the food was perfect every time and the staff service was superb. Absolutely have to agree......small hotel but big heart!

We really cannot recommend this gem highly enough and we look forward to getting the chance to go back.

Thanks for an amazing weekend!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for the great review and we are so glad the weather was so fabulous during your stay ! it is truly a magnificent location and we are glad that guests can enjoy the stunning views whilst enjoying the fine food and friendly staff . kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel

Address: Loch Lochy | Fort William, Spean Bridge PH34 4DZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Spean Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel rests on the banks of Loch Lochy only 15 minutes from Fort William and boasts breathtaking views over the Great Glen. Watch the world sail by from our panoramic sundeck whilst enjoying the freshest produce and locally landed seafood carefully hand-cooked by our award-winning team of chefs. Retire in the evening to our cozy bedrooms, many of which have magnificent views over the loch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Letterfinlay Hotel Fort William
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel Spean Bridge, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.