We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missed opportunity” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Loch Lochy | Fort William, Spean Bridge PH34 4DZ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Spean Bridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Geneva
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Missed opportunity”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Pro's: Great view; good food, excellent general staff
Con's: Did not get room booked and paid for in advance but had to settle for second best

The explanation given to us for the reservation snafu was not believable and the meager compensation offered not acceptable.

A recommended property, general staff and food but beware dodgy management.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear guest thank you for your great comments on our Location ,food and fab staff ! i will look into the room booking situation that you have described even though your explanation is quite confusing . When you return for your next visit please contact the hotel direct and we will make sure you get a nice upgrade .

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    185
    66
    17
    15
See reviews for
80
419
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

While the hotel is out of town it is a great spot to enjoy the solitude of the Scottish Highlands. The hotel overlooks the Loch and while there is only limted boat traffic the scenry of the hills opposite and looking over the water is beautiful. We stayed three nights and found the menu in the restaurant to provide adequate choice for the three nights stay. The breakfast was fine, cooked to order. The staff were very helpful and courteous.
We travelled from the hotel to Oban one day and to Mallaig the next. It is a good base for his region of the highlands.
I note that some have commented that the rooms were small, this was not the case for our stay as the room was very large with desk and lounge chairs. The bath room was large as well. Therefore there is a choice and it would be adviseable to enquire on booking. Our room was on the road side but we were not disturbed by passing traffic. There are rooms that face the Loch so again seek to book these rooms.

Room Tip: ASk for a larger room facing the Loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay as well as the stunning views across loch lochy

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gan shomron
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in two rooms as we are family with six persons.
The rooms are nice but not too spacious.
The breakfast is pretty elementary.
The scenery from the balcony is great.
The service and the staff are very nice and helpful.
The lack of wifi was frustrating.
Above all, the price of 340£ per two rooms (one family room for four persons and one double room) is over priced.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear guests we are very surprised that you thought £55 per person B&B was over priced for a peak time in August !! Even more shocked at you awarding our stunning lochside & mountain view location 2 stars ! But perhaps where you come from the view is better than ours so you can be qualified to comment so harshly. We also do not advertise wi-fi because due to the location and mountains it cannot be supplied to us but we have complained to the Scottish government about it so when Mr Salmond is finished staring in the new shrek the indepent movie we will be top of his list . it is also a pity that you did not like our Fine Scottish breakfasts and perhaps if you had actually eaten in our restaurant during your two day stay you would have relay enjoyed it . Our housekeeping staff were not happy with the boil in the bag rice sachets being prepared in the room kettles and we were forced to provide new appliances to each room .

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at Letterfinaly Lodge Hotel overnight on our travels to the Highlands - its a lovely little hotel with a fantastic view. Our room was fine and comfortable, but sadly the lighting in the bedrooms are so poor - the management need to look at this because it is so hard to read anything.- we ate dinner in the restaurant and my family enjoyed it - the desserts were lovely. Breakfast was plentiful and it was served to our table. View is fantastic and to watch the sun setting is unbelieveable.

Room Tip: Take a torch with you as the rooms are very dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your very nice review and we are glad you liked our food so much ! we will take on board your comments about the lighting in the rooms ! low energy is not all its made out to be :) please come back and visit us again at any time

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Would recommend to anyone who likes scenery and/or a relaxing time. Friendly staff and in a superb location.
Had a great meal, and a fantastic room with great views.
This was my second time, and I'll be back this December!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Great review from a great guest ! we look forward to your next visit in December

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We decided to stay here based on the excellent reviews, but we were left somewhat disappointed. The plus points were the location and the incredible view over the loch, the rooms were clean and very tidy and staff pleasant. There were many points on the downside but I don't want to go on and on. A short example: really small rooms/bed. Disorganised waiters. The manager seemed harassed most of the time. Way too over the top pricing on food (mini example £7.95 for 4 rings of calamari on salad, they definitely not fresh). I would recommend people staying here but it just wasn't what we expected.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear guest thank you for the great comments about our Hotel however i must say the calamari was not £7.95 ! and never has been !! it is £6.95 and most defiantly fresh as is all our seafood . Our waiting staff work very hard during the busy season and im sorry if you mistook hard work as disorganization . perhaps when you return next time we can offer you a more satisfactory dinning room experience

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Apart from the enthusiastic welcome on arrival, friendly staff in the bar, wonderful location and good food, the absence of Midges along the shores of Loch Lochy during our evening walk just capped off a perfect over-night stay for 2. Loved it!

Room Tip: We had room at the end of the hallway (SW corner) which had wonderful view over the loch. Fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager L, Manager at Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for the fab review and i must agree having no midges at the Letterfinlay is a real bonus !
please return anytime

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel

Address: Loch Lochy | Fort William, Spean Bridge PH34 4DZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Spean Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel rests on the banks of Loch Lochy only 15 minutes from Fort William and boasts breathtaking views over the Great Glen. Watch the world sail by from our panoramic sundeck whilst enjoying the freshest produce and locally landed seafood carefully hand-cooked by our award-winning team of chefs. Retire in the evening to our cozy bedrooms, many of which have magnificent views over the loch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Letterfinlay Hotel Fort William
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel Spean Bridge, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.