We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Braes Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spean Bridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Braes Guest House
Save
You added The Braes Guest House to your Saves list
Tirindrish | Tirindrish, Spean Bridge PH34 4EU, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book direct - save 10%
Ranked #6 of 21 Spean Bridge B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Wow what a place, Phillippe and Theresa were great and so friendly, nothing was to much trouble from the welcome cup of tea and cake when we arrived to the lifts into the village and picked up again after dinner. The drying room was a god send after a wet day on the hills. Thanks a million for great breakfasts and a great stay. the packed lunch was also well worth the money :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
41
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Philippe & Teresa keep an impeccable, friendly B&B with a glorious view across the glen to Ben Nevis. Room was functional, clean and comfortable. Breakfast perfect.

Plenty of good restaurants to choose from nearby for dinner.

Good value

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed at" The Braes Guest House" for three days and at the end of the third day were very sad to leave.It was a perfect Home stay!! Teresa & Philippe made us feel comfortable from the time we stepped in and were just like an extended family. Awesome breakfast, spacious room and more so a beautiful view of Ben Nevis from our window at all times, which made this stay even more special. It was a perfect holiday and The Braes made it even more special!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My friend and I were walking the Great Glen Way and were collected (soaking wet) from our arrival point by our host Phillippe. He made us very welcome and, having showed us the excellent drying facilities and time to change, made us a hot drink and biscuits which were greatly appreciated. Later he gave us a lift to my friend's relative's house in the village and also came back to collect us!
The room was very clean and comfortable and we enjoyed a good breakfast before being taken back to our start point for the next day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa d, Owner at The Braes Guest House, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope the rest of your walk went well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We only stayed for 3 nights but it instantly felt like we were staying with friends. Ample delicious breakfasts in comfortable guest lounge with stunning views. Can only repeat all the positive comments left by other reviewers and add particular thanks for filling our flasks too!!

Room Tip: Family room at the end has lovely view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Cannot find words other than what has been already said in favour. While the single room was small it had everything required for a single person . I hope that should I be in the area again I can stay at The Braes.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed at this wonderful guest house for only two nights, but could have been a lot more. The hosts (Phillippe and Teresa) are very friendly, welcoming and went out of their way to do things for you. They have a good knowledge of the area, places to eat and things to do in the Ben Nevis mountain area.

The bedroom room was small, but was very clean with a very comfortable bed. The room and the ensuite were modern and the shower was good and provided good quantity of hot water with good pressure. The rooms are quiet and allowed for a peaceful nights rest. There was good availability of free parking in front of the guest house. There was a strong signal for the wifi in the rooms, which was very convenient because there is no TV in the rooms.

The breakfast was very good and the host always ensured that we had everything that we needed. There was full breakfast as well as cereal, fruit and toast. The coffee was great and Teresa supplied me with as much as I wanted.

The whole house is spotless, and included a guest lounge. The guest lounge was enormous and well stocked with novels, reference books and games. As there are no TVs in the bedrooms, this is the area where a TV can be found. Plus it included a great view of the mountain ranges.

The location is ideal for those wanting to travel and visit the Highlands: Loch Ness and Inverness is highly accessible, as well as Mallaig on the west coast. Although a little far, we traveled to the tip of the Isle of Skye from here as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missymoo, Owner at The Braes Guest House, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Hi, Charles and thanks for your feedback. We're really glad to heard that you enjoyed your stay at The Braes.

We agree that Room 1 is a smaller room, but a lot of our guests request it for the great view of the mountains that it enjoys. We would recommend Room 4, our double/family room, if space is a priority, although it, too, has a view of the mountains to the side of the room.

Now that we have finished our refurbishment of the rooms, we are considering installing TVs in the rooms. However, we want to be sure that this would not effect the current, quiet atmosphere we offer at the moment.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Braes in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Braes Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Braes Guest House

Address: Tirindrish | Tirindrish, Spean Bridge PH34 4EU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Spean Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Views to live for, food to die for at The Braes! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Braes Guest House Spean Bridge, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Braes Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.