We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal secluded getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ardechive by Loch Arkaig

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spean Bridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ardechive by Loch Arkaig
Save
You added Ardechive by Loch Arkaig to your Saves list
Ardechive, Achnacarry, Spean Bridge PH34 4EL, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 21 Spean Bridge B&B and Inns
Accrington, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ideal secluded getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The cottage is beautiful & certainly big enough for a family of 4 plus a dog. Scotland's B roads seem to be windy roads with passing points (which I hadn't realised). This cottage is about 30 mins along such a road. Given that the road is a dead end - about another 13 miles on from the cottage, I was surprised how busy it was. There were a number of log felling lorries that use the road, but that didn't impact on our holiday. There is a supermarket in Fort William and a Spar in Spean Bridge and I believe Asda now do "home" deliveries to the house/cottage. We were actually met by the Housekeeper, who showed us around the property & left us bikes for the children to use, which was an added bonus! The water is discoloured (peat), they do have a filter on the tap in the kitchen, but we opted for bottled water. Views of the loch can be seen from the kitchen and living room window and it is stunning in all weather conditions. There is no moble phone signal however there is wifi and freeview. Even though we visited in August and the weather was decent enough, I couldn't pass up the opportunity of lighting the log burner every other night. Plenty of DVD's, books & magazines left there for you to read, should you get
the urge. Really enjoyable and relaxing week for all

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newliferhoose
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

A truly wonderful weeks holiday with the kids (5, 11 and 12). The cottage was really well equipped and of a very high standard, it really does have everything you could possibly need. It even has a wood burner for chilly nights and a drying room if you get a muddy and wet. A wonderful location to go for long country walks and see the Witches pool waterfall. The view from the cottage were simply stunning and I can not recommend this place enough. All of our family loved it. A week was no where near long enough, a really get away from it all place but close enough to shops to stock up on some goodies. Simply brilliant.

Room Tip: If you have a family come with a meal ready prepared if you are travelling a long way as we did from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of July. Location was ideal, close enough to shops for supplies but remote enough to be very quiet and relaxing. Kennels supplied with sky tv, snooker table and dishwasher. Weather was incredible and spent days walking and cycling in the nearby hills and then relaxing in the beautiful surroundings beside the loch.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend break arriving after a hectic week. Immediately we relaxed in the luxurious accommodation, with the most amazing views over the loch. We absolutely loved everything about this place and would love to go back for longer next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

What a wonderful find, excellent position in an awe inspiring area of Scotland. I would advise anybody looking for a piece of tranquility and peace, just book it, do not hesitate. The cottage is well maintained with everything you could possibly require including good heating and the bonus of a wood burner in the lounge.
Our two Westies loved it, they could be walked safely anywhere in the surrounding area.
What more could you ask for, snow on the mountains, deer in the front garden and stunning views, I would recommend this property two anyone and would take this opportunity to thank the proprietors for all their help in a smooth booking, quality of the property and their attention to detail that made our stay so exceptional.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I am already yearning to return, just one week later. The cottage is secluded, no light pollution, silent, still and everyone's dream of peaceful. We were blessed with great weather ranging from clear skies and sunshine to a hoar frost and eventually snow. The cottage is superbly equipped making it easy to settle in. Everything you would expect in your own home is here, ample kitchen appliances, freesat TV, lovely toiletries, comfortable beds and even a bird feeder to entice the local feathered visitors. You can make use of the binoculars and RSPB book to identify the many birds that will thankfully visit. We were astounded by the number of red deer stags which came to the field between the house and the loch, at times upwards of 20. We drove to the end of the loch and saw even more.

Fort William is just 16 miles away. Spean Bridge offers fine dining at Russells, about 10 miles down the road. We travelled up to Loch Ness and Glen Coe, but I have to say, the best part of the day was returning to the cottage in the evenings and lighting the wood burning stove.

Can't wait to go back. highly recommended for families and couples. There were just the two of us and it still felt cosy, even though we only used one of the three bedrooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed for two weeks October/November when the trees were at their best autumn colours. Wonderful scenery with snow on the hills and the Loch only about 100 yards from the door. Fantastic drive down the single track road to the cottage with breath taking scenery. 16 miles from Fort William via the back road, 20 miles on the main via Spean Bridge. I've been visiting this area for over 40 years and am very familiar with it but without doubt this was the best accommodation and location ever. Satellite TV, Wi-Fi (although slow) and everything you could need in the cottage. Although being quite experienced with computers, I couldn't get an IPhone nor IPad to connect. Good job we took a laptop which worked perfectly. Bear this in mind as the nearest mobile signal we could get was about 5 miles down the road. There is a landline though, for emergencies. Wildlife abounds, Eagle, Wild Boar and Pine Marten were the rarer ones we came across. The owners are extremely contactable and helpful if you have any problems. If you want an unspoilt location in the Highlands but still within reach of civilisation then look no further, Ardechive cottage is perfect!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ardechive by Loch Arkaig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardechive by Loch Arkaig

Address: Ardechive, Achnacarry, Spean Bridge PH34 4EL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Spean Bridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Spean Bridge
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of Loch Arkaig, Ardechive is a striking highland location. Three properties are available for rental. The Cottage (sleeps 6) and House (sleeps 8) and The Kennels (sleep 5). All have been extensively refurbished to provide luxurious, self-catering accommodation. The historic town of Fort William is a 40 minute drive away, and Spean Bridge is even nearer for all the basic day-to-day necessities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ardechive By Loch Arkaig Spean Bridge, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ardechive by Loch Arkaig, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.